We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to laugh.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The UniContinental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The UniContinental to your Saves list
The UniContinental
3rd Road, Next to Khar Railway Station, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We had to laugh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Ok so I must say that we had got there on the day it hit monsoon season. Therefore the electrics were on and off (you expect this from India anyway but it was worse because of all the heavy rain). There was a guy in a cupboard trying to fix the issue and there were sparks coming from everywhere.
The rooms are VERY basic and we must had got one of the not so 'executive' rooms but we were backpackers. We didn't care. We didn't care that the rain was coming through our windows or that there was a worm thing in our toilet. We laughed. At the end of the day for how much we paid for this hotel, we were not expecting luxury and to be fair it probably is on par with most other places we stayed whilst in India.
The restaurants that were connected to the hotel would look like it was closed but as soon as the manager saw you he would switch the lights on and they would open up the restaurant. They were lovely and could not do more to help you.
It was a good enough hotel for what we needed and it gave us some laughs and stories to tell. We didn't expect much more for how much we paid for it and considering it's location it was alright to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ma'am,
Thank you for your review. We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you due to the electrical issues or the hygiene related to the washroom. We have noted the same and have accordingly acted on these issues. Once again, thank you for hilighting your issues insofar as helping us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Best Hotel, Best Services, Very Neat & Clean and Very Good Service for Room Service i stay there for 1 Night its Very Good, That was my Last Day of Trip in Mumbai if i have more days i stay only in this Hotel.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ma'am,
Thank you so much for your review. We deeply appreciate the same in response to your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had there just for fun. So staying at the hotel was very less. It was a fair stay because we could sleep peacefully with no much noise around. Hospitality was fine, nothing much to tell, nor good nor bad.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you by our staff's lack of courtesy or the food. We have noted the same and have accordingly acted on these issues. Once again, thank you for hilighting your issues insofar as helping us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

@ the hotel the staff lacks curtsy, some of them are indeed helpful, but the lady at reception needs to be more polite & receptive to customers needs... every time i've stayed hear the staff has asked me for money up front & in a very rude manner, especially whenever i'm looking to extend my stay for any extra days, their is lack of tissue paper every time i've stayed hear.. & food is horrible to say the least. But the redeeming factor is location & the new furniture built at the hotel. Hence would rate it as average hotel in the vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We have noted the same and have accordingly acted on these issues. Once again, thank you for hilighting your issues insofar as helping us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I arrived late one night and had already booked with Expedia. The check in was quick but the wifi wasn't working which was a big problem as I ended to inform family I had arrived safe. Luckily it was working the next afternoon. I stayed in the 10 man dorm but the staff would just walk in willy nilly every morning time. No running hot water either but I didn't find this a problem as it was so hot!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ma'am,
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We have noted the same and have accordingly acted on these issues. Once again, thank you for hilighting your issues insofar as helping us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Also known as Hotel Samrat. I stayed in the dorm which was fine but felt I was overcharged. The mattresses were extremely thin. The reception staff were not the friendliest. The food at the restaurant/bar on the first floor was great and reasonably priced and the waiters were friendly, even though their English wasn't the best. It is relatively close to the airport and right next to the Khar train station to go into the better parts of Mumbai.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalrajGhai, Owner at The UniContinental, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you in the dorm room or with the staff. We have noted the same and have accordingly acted on these issues. Once again, thank you for hilighting your issues insofar as helping us to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was overall a good experience. The hotel is just next to the bandra railway station and 20 minutes from bandra kurla complex/MMRDA grounds. Staff was very cooperative. Room was very neat and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The UniContinental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The UniContinental

Address: 3rd Road, Next to Khar Railway Station, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'U' are our world! The Unicontinental, Mumbai epitomizes the best in the space of boutique budget hotels. It extraordinarily blends traditional comforts with modern opulence. Low on Cost! High on Value! It is situated in the heart of the city in Khar, approx. 3 kms from the Domestic Airport, BKC and Juhu beach, and only 6 kms from Sahar International Airport.Its central location provides an easy link to the city's most frequented malls, shopping areas, entertainment complexes, pubs, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The UniContinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The UniContinental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.