We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value you'll find in Mumbai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moti International

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Moti International
10 Best Marg | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 209 Mumbai (Bombay) B&B and Inns
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best value you'll find in Mumbai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

So look, the rooms here arent the best you'll find. It did remind me slightly of a prison cell, white washed walls and not particularly big.

But it was comfortable and it was very clean.

The main reason to stay here is the location, which for the price is simply astonishing. You're right in the middle of all the action of Mumbai, a 90 second walk from the Taj Mahal hotel and the Gateway to India.

And the owner is an absolutely delightful bloke who couldn't do enough to help and advise. Especially for someone arriving into India at the start of my trip, he was brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    16
    11
    18
See reviews for
6
32
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is very old and in desperate need of some TLC. My room has its own "private bathroom, which no one else will access". The bathroom was constantly grubby, and being used by many people throughout the day. The room was a bit damp, with a nasty strip light and dusty cupboards. Is it worth the £30 per night? No.

But, as everyone says. Mumbay is expensive, and this place is in a great location, within 2 minutes of Colaba Causeway, The Taj hotel, Gateway of India etc.

I did have the owner of the hotel knocking on my door after one hour there and handing me a bill to pay for all three nights up front, which I refused to do, considering the price.

The hotel was grubby and run-down, and massively overpriced. However, it is very safe, with a nice enough owner, and in an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We asked to see a couple of rooms on arrival. Part of the hotel is in a very very old looking building which seems to be falling apart a bit. We decided to stay in a larger room, in the main bit of the hotel which seemed better. It was quite pricey, but every hotel in Mumbai seems to be oddly over priced. The room seemed rather make-shift (not designed as a bedroom and it showed). It wasn't terribly clean or comfortable, but the location made up for it. Just minutes from the cinema, indoor & out door market, art gallery, and lots more. The manager / owner was lovely, and the hotel had a very nice, safe, atmosphere.

Room Tip: Have a look at a few rooms before confirming, to make sure you get a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights and were happy about it. The location is great, and the room was clean and comfortable. Granted, Raj, the owner is a businessman. His hotel is not cheap, but it's not expensive either for what you get. The good part was that he was nice to us and gave information and tips about trips when we asked. The less nice part was the price of the beer (basically twice what it should be) and the fact that, when we asked for how long it would take to go to the airport with a cab, he tried to fool us in saying that he could book one for us for a certain price (except that the price was 30% more than the actual price we ended up paying). But other than that, we were delighted with the stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you are going to Mumbai and you want to stay in Colaba, don t hesitate and go to Hotel Moti, you ll find one of the most kind host that I met in India, you can choose AC or NC room, you can have fresh beers or drinks anytime, transportation can be arrange. I had a very good stay. I strongly recommend. Don t mind the prices, there is no cheap hotel in Mumbai unfortunetly

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had a hard time finding anything in Colaba that met our standards for less than $60/3000 rupees for a double with a/c, so I doubt you will find much better for this price or less. The family that runs the hotel was extremely friendly and hospitable- not at all like some of the reviews claim. The fuze flipped on our a/c a few times and they always immediately corrected the issue. He also recommended some very good restaurants and gave us walking directions to see the sights.

On our last day he allowed us to use a shower before our late night train for 200 rupees each, which I thought was nice. The location is good, and on a quiet tree-lined street right off the main drag with restaurants and shops. We were perfectly happy here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Moti INTL on 3rd april 2012 the hotel is at a good location In Mumbai just few meters away from the TAJ Mahal hotel. Raj the manager(as well as the owner) was very helpful and friendly.The room in which we stayed had 3 beds and all modern facilities.The hotel had good room service and great hospitality

Room Tip: Go for room No-1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Moti International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moti International

Address: 10 Best Marg | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moti International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Moti International to your Saves list