We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Harbour View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Harbour View to your Saves list
Hotel Harbour View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerawalla Chambers, 3rd Floor, 25 PJ Ramchandani Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Does the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Decent location, pretty quiet, nice a clean, helpful staff. Good value by comparison to some of the other options in Delhi. Right by the Taj Mahal Palace (worth a visit for a cracking breakfast) and India Gate.

Room Tip: Go for one with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Harbour View many times over the years. It is in a great location on the water down from the famous Taj Hotel, in a wonderful part of Mumbai. It is not cheap, but much cheaper than the Taj (which is easy to visit for meals, etc). We have gotten to know the staff and find them very friendly, helpful and enjoyable. They treat us like family. Last time we were there in Jan 2013 it needed painting inside and out which they said they were planning. It is a little funky but we like it and always stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location overlooking the sea and the Gateway of India. The standard room we stayed in was pokey and the unconfortable twin beds with thin mattressess were oushed up against the wall, making it difficult to get out of bed without disturbing the other.The superior rooms were being upgraded and were not available.
The room was reasonably clean but ledges were dusty and the window didn't open and there was no balcony. The terrace just outside our room was lovely as were the restaurant staff. The elevator played the Lambada every time the door opened which could be heard in our room and so really got on our nerves! Okay for a night or two but no longer and always go for a superior room.

Room Tip: Superior rooms over looking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

just about OK service , but a fabulous view from the rooftop restaurant. Don't miss the morning sunrise with a hot cup of tea. nice location for any job in south Bombay. loved the Indian navy band that marches down the street in the evening. value for money.slightly pricey for budget travelers, but as I said the view compensates for it.

Room Tip: before booking from travel sites, contact hotel directly : you may get a good deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza (Spain)
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Right in Colaba, but miles away from all the hustle and bustle of traffic and hawkers, the Harbour View Hotel rooftop bar, is (as the name suggests) a good place to drink a cold beer looking over the harbour and India Gate. Nothing fancy or so-so romantic. No. Just a good spot to relax for a while or sip a quiet sundowner (and that’s no nonsense in Bombay).

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I cannot begin to explain how unhappy we were that we chose this hotel and I am hoping that this review may help fellow travellers reconsider where they chose to stay. We booked a deluxe room with a sea view. While I can get over the old rooms, the paper thin walls, the shabby interior, I cannot accept the service. I truly have not experienced such bad service in all my travels. We were met by a man behind the reception who muttered 2 words 'passport? and key.' and pointed in the direction of our room. When we asked for a map, he said they don't have maps. The bed was a wooden box with thin foam mattress, bed sheet that looked 30 years old and you could hear everything in the hallways and surrounding rooms. The lift sang Jennifer Lopez every time someone got in or out which is very frustrating as it goes all hours of the day. This place was ridiculously overpriced and not worth one cent of what we paid. After one night we checked in to another hotel. When we did this, the same man behind the desk said 'well what do you want me to do?'. We knew then that we had made the right decision to leave. The location is not worth it, I would highly recommend staying elsewhere in Mumbai.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stay here and you will be right in the middle of things. The roof top restaurant overlooks the harbour and the Gateway to India, serving good food all day and also with well priced cold beer. The rooms are clean and spacious with AC and plenty of hot water. There are so many staff you wonder what they all do - they even put the key in the lock for you. Outside you are an entertaining stroll from markets, trains, the Taj Mahal Hotel and all the attractions of Colaba. Next time I find myself in Mumbai this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be well away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harbour View

Address: Kerawalla Chambers, 3rd Floor, 25 PJ Ramchandani Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Harbour View 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Harbour View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.