We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel but compensates with good view...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Harbour View

Save Saved
You added Hotel Harbour View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Harbour View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerawalla Chambers, 3rd Floor, 25 PJ Ramchandani Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 365 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Pune, India
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“average hotel but compensates with good view...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

just about OK service , but a fabulous view from the rooftop restaurant. Don't miss the morning sunrise with a hot cup of tea. nice location for any job in south Bombay. loved the Indian navy band that marches down the street in the evening. value for money.slightly pricey for budget travelers, but as I said the view compensates for it.

Room Tip: before booking from travel sites, contact hotel directly : you may get a good deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zaragoza (Spain)
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Right in Colaba, but miles away from all the hustle and bustle of traffic and hawkers, the Harbour View Hotel rooftop bar, is (as the name suggests) a good place to drink a cold beer looking over the harbour and India Gate. Nothing fancy or so-so romantic. No. Just a good spot to relax for a while or sip a quiet sundowner (and that’s no nonsense in Bombay).

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I cannot begin to explain how unhappy we were that we chose this hotel and I am hoping that this review may help fellow travellers reconsider where they chose to stay. We booked a deluxe room with a sea view. While I can get over the old rooms, the paper thin walls, the shabby interior, I cannot accept the service. I truly have not experienced such bad service in all my travels. We were met by a man behind the reception who muttered 2 words 'passport? and key.' and pointed in the direction of our room. When we asked for a map, he said they don't have maps. The bed was a wooden box with thin foam mattress, bed sheet that looked 30 years old and you could hear everything in the hallways and surrounding rooms. The lift sang Jennifer Lopez every time someone got in or out which is very frustrating as it goes all hours of the day. This place was ridiculously overpriced and not worth one cent of what we paid. After one night we checked in to another hotel. When we did this, the same man behind the desk said 'well what do you want me to do?'. We knew then that we had made the right decision to leave. The location is not worth it, I would highly recommend staying elsewhere in Mumbai.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stay here and you will be right in the middle of things. The roof top restaurant overlooks the harbour and the Gateway to India, serving good food all day and also with well priced cold beer. The rooms are clean and spacious with AC and plenty of hot water. There are so many staff you wonder what they all do - they even put the key in the lock for you. Outside you are an entertaining stroll from markets, trains, the Taj Mahal Hotel and all the attractions of Colaba. Next time I find myself in Mumbai this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be well away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We arrived late at night at this hotel & had difficulty finding it in the dark. Also the fact that it is the top floor of the building via a tiny clanking lift did not present a good 1st impression. Why they have not given it a paint touch up with all those staff sitting around all day with nothing to do exept be over responsive to you even when just unlocking your door [in the hope of a tip] beats me.
However the rooftop restaurant was a good location & good food & we noticed many locals actually turned up at night to eat there. During the day they need more shade as the 2 umbrellas did not suffice for keeping all the clientele from being sun-burned. Also the service from the staff seemed very disorganised & inefficient. Overall the location & rooftop restaurant made up for an otherwise rather shabby hotel.

Room Tip: Sea frontage the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights and loved the location. Our room faced the harbour and the hotel is across from a pier with evening entertainment. In the late afternoon and evening, there was street actvity below, boats cruising the harbour and outdoor entertainment at the pier. However by 10 pm everything was quiet for a good night sleep.

The smallish room had a couple of twin beds, 1 chair and a desk, TV (with good channel selection) and a small refrigerator. It was clean but kind of run down and the paint was peeling. The bathroom worked fine but hot water was only available in morning and evening. The bathroom fan was really noisy. The overhead fan and AC worked quite well.

The reception staff was very helpful and always available. The room was cleaned daily.

Breakfast was included but it was a bit small. We had the Indian breakfast which was Aloo paratha, a lassi and tea. They had another selection of toast and juice with tea/coffee. But if you wanted a couple of eggs, it was Rs 80 extra. We also tried the rooftop restaurant for dinner. It was lively and crowded with locals. The view of the harbour is excellent and bats were flying high above us at dusk. The food was okay, but expensive because of the prime location. There are several less expensive restaurants around the corner and a block away from the harbour.

Compared to other hotels we stayed at in India, it was expensive. However all the hotels in Mumbai seemed expensive and the location was worth it. It was a ten minute walk to the Taj Mahal Hotel and Gateway to India. If your taxi driver doesn't know where the Harbour View Hotel is located, have him drive to the Taj Mahal Hotel then go south along the waterfront until just before the road turns to the right. Look for the Strand Hotel. The Harbour View is on the top two floors above the Strand Hotel. You enter at the Strand Hotel door.

Room Tip: The harbour view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

I really struggled to find a hotel at a reasonable price in Mumbai that was not a total hell hole so when I saw the website for this one so close to the gateway of India etc I thought sod it! Let's push the boat out and spend fifty quid after our long flight from London which arrived in in the early hrs of the morning. I even paid for this myself as a Christmas present for my bf.... Well! First of all it has not got its own signage, so be aware of that,I can't remember the name of the hotel which is written on the front but it is on another review so be aware of that. It is quite common for hotels to share premises in Mumbai but this can be confusing. The crestfallen expression on my bfs face when we arrived was hilarious! Firstly u enter into a weird cage like lift which drones a tune which abruptly stops when you reach your destination (this is quite common in India actually but a shock when u r not used to this) the staff were all asleep apart from one intently picking his nose and seemed put out that that we had woken them!! Our room was a 70s throwback and backing onto reception so u feel thy can hear everything you do and there were some cockroaches and a pretty grotty toilet and a bin which was filthy. We kept hearing a scampering above the toilet which was very unnerving as we thought it was rats (very prevalent in Mumbai) but I actually think this was crows. Unsettling nonetheless! Breakfast is served on a pleasant rooftop with a great view overthe harbour,hence the name! And this is ok, not mind blowing but not bad and plentiful. I kept some of my puri naan for lunch! The receptionist guy is smiley and helpful so that is good And we kept our bags there with no issues. Location is perfect, just a few minutes from all the sights and quite quiet at night. It is so difficult in Mumbai as the prices are so crazy it seems you have to make a compromise on either location, cleanliness or both. I wouldn't go again though far far too overpriced!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harbour View

Address: Kerawalla Chambers, 3rd Floor, 25 PJ Ramchandani Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 365 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Harbour View 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Harbour View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.