We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time in Delhi Darbar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delhi Darbar

Delhi Darbar
10/14, Holland House, Colaba Causeway, SBS Road, Colaba, Near Regal Cinema | SBS Road, Near Regal Cinema, Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
(022) 2202 0235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 6,768 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Time in Delhi Darbar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a great time in Delhi Darbar. when we all staff of the company went to celebrates our boss bday. our boss took all the staff to delhi darbar for bday party. We really enjoyed the food specially Non-Veg Food was delicious & the chicken butter masala was fanstic. we all really enjoyed the day with good food. The resturant was need clean & hygenic. staff is very kind & helpful. according to price it was value for money. Resturant have two section one is in down & another is upside. better to seat upside if you have too many peoples so you can get privacy also to enjoy the food. I would say good food to have party with friends & famly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    104
    43
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Going Down Down Down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Living in Mumbai for nearly 8 Years now, I have seen this Restaurant going down in standards with time. I visited this Restaurant (may be for last time) yesterday. The service has turned very poor. No steward is around to take orders in time, not even napkins (cloth) are provided without asking again and again. The restaurant needs to have more staff to take care of the diners. waiters dont even ensure that they fill the water glasses in time.
Regarding the food, the Kebabs and Tandoori non veg dishes are good, But we did not like the Raitas and Rotis at all. The raitas at this hotel are just plain curd with Boondi/ Fruits mixed with them with no jeera or any spieces.
The ambience has turning unhygenic too. I would seriuosly suggest this Hotel staff to take care of these issues before this hotel turns as black spot in otherwise charming colaba.
I would suggest the Diners to try other restuarant nearby like Bade Miyaan (The dining restuarant near Croma circle) and Koyla (Roof-top above gulf hotel).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mughlai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

There are two Delhi Darbars these days but honestly we cannot make the difference in food quality between the two.
The most important thing is that if you tell your doctor that you are eating food at Delhi Darbar he would stop you from eating such food but behind your back he would eat the same food. Nearly every dish we eat is actually swimming in oil. This is what gives the food its unique taste , maybe be very unhealthy but we need to heed the advice my doctor once gave me, All food that tastes good is bad for health and all food that tastes bad is very good for health.
If you do not like oily food, then the Tandoori chicken is very good along with the other kababs. The breads including Naan are also very good. In all you cannot go wrong in eating both Veg and Non-Veg food here and the other DD's all over the city.
To sum up, the food is not refined and polished like 5 star food, but on any given day I would rather eat food at Delhi Darbar over the staid Western Food at a 5 star.
We normally order food on the phone and normally they deliver within 45 minutes on a non holiday.
Eat once at least and you will learn that lots of oil adds to the taste. My top choice for anyone who wants a wholesome Non-Veg meal at a very affordable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Mughlai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Delhi Darbar serves good mughlai food however what I really like about the restaurant is its 'Super Tandoori'. White Chicken and Chicken Biryani are also quite good. Another good things about the restaurant is that they serve wheat tandoori roti, which is quite rare these days, with all restaurants switching to maida. The tandoori roti is also quite good and adds value to the meal. Delhi Darbar serves limited desserts like gulab jamun, caramel custard and so on however, their shahi toast is to die for!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best moghlai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

it has the best moghlai food I ever had. True biryani king of Mumbai. nowadays even Chinese is served fantastic. I tried for the apple chicken

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delhi Darbar also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Delhi Darbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delhi Darbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.