We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konkan Cafe

Konkan Cafe
90 Lobby Level | Vivanta By Taj President Hotel, Cuffe Parade, Mumbai (Bombay) 400005, India
+91 22 25665 0808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6,768 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“delicious food excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Authentic konkani coastal food. Extremely obliging staff and lovely atmosphere and decor. The fish thali is excellent and the appams and stew [chicken and veg] are delicious; a great place to take your 'foreign' visitors for a taste of the Konkan belt.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    35
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

What we enjoyed most about our dinner at Konkan Café was the fact that the food had not been watered down and adapted to Western palates. Even though the waiters could see that we were European, they asked us what spice level we would like to have. They kept their promise and served us a seafood thali and a lamb dish that they said was even a bit spicier than Mumbaikars normally went for. We truly appreciated that and will return to Konkan Café, not just for the delicious food, but also for the lively atmosphere and the friendly and efficient service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katunayake, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“BanGaDa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lovely food, kollivads are just to die for, Bangada( Mackerel my fav) fry , masala fry, naked fry,curry list goes on, homely food, but noisy atmosphere, authentic konkan taste......... will vist again for sure

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“First time konkan food-Simply awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

we had diner here .The food was awesome and tasty,the staff were curtious and polite and the food came pretty fast.The ambience was traditional ambience.We enjoyed the seafood thali meals.The price was very very reasonable for mumbai standards.
Will go back here for a meal sometime.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Great food, enjoyed the evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I'm from Mumbai and don't i already know the dining places here! However out of curiosity checked out the top places on TA. Surprisingly found that Konkan Cafe (at Taj President) is in the top 5. Hmm... so what have I been missing !?!

We went there for a Kerala style meal and came back entirely satisfied with the quality of food on offer which to my mind was very good. We had a good meal and i have been recommending the restaurant to others saying that - get a meal there - it'll be a good change from the usual north Indian everyone is accustomed to.

I dont know about value but we were 5 of us and 2 bottles of wine under and a 3 course meal each we were at Rs 2500k per person average inclusive of all taxes which is as fair as it can get. Of course this is after a 20% discount that i have on the Epicure plan.

My suggestion to tourists and locals - try this if you're looking for a good South Indian meal Kerala style which could be different from the usual North Indian fare.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konkan Cafe also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Konkan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konkan Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.