We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Magnetic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterstones Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Waterstones Hotel to your Saves list
The Waterstones Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Off International Airport Approach Road | Andheri East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400059, India (Formerly The Gordon House Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bangalore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“It's Magnetic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

After a day's hard work, The Gordon House Suites is the kind of place you want to go back to. The themes and the decor never cease to fascinate. There's so much attention to detail in every room and it's all so tastefully done. None of the typical hotel-esque carpeting and panelling. Truly the room's all you need for company! The food is excellent as well. The only hassle is that it's tucked away in a little lane but then if you're not looking for anything more than a relaxing evening, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    133
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
46
57
28
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is trying to be designer boutique, if you have been to real boutique hotels in the world you will be able to spot the difference, done on the cheap and a bit rough around the edges. Great service although over attentive. Food is truly terrible, low quality ingredients, badly put together by inexperienced chefs and staff The spa is a true oasis from the noise of the city, very much the only reason to go this hotel. It is a shame as this could have been world class but it simply is acceptable if you are judging beyond Mumbai standards

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was hoping this hotel would meet the expectations that the photos on the website met, and I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is aiming for a vibe similar to the W Hotels and is very contemporary where the reception checks you in with Macbook Pro computers and everything is white laminate, but in a good way. The rooms looked like they could either be excellent or quirky and I was happy to find that they were even better than what the photos on the website portray. Lots of great little details, a great room service menu and amazing bed linens made for an awesome stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel by chance during my business visit, when my office booked me here during recent Mumbai trip. The hotel is very conveneitnly located, very close to International Airport and around 20 minutes drives from Domestic Airport. Great place to unwind after a hectic schedule or long flight. The rooms are uniquely designed, with each floor having a different theme. I stayed in boutique themed room. The rooms are very uniquely designed, spacious and good & tastefully done. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very courteous and always available for any service. The toileteries, tea/coffee facility in the room is the best as per your choice. The food in the room service was excellent - I tried Paneer Masala and it was one of the best I have tasted. The options for breakfast were varied. A sore point, the internet broadband facility is chargeable and rates are quite steep. Would like to stay in the hotel again when I visit this hotel, specially if I have an early morning flight to catch out of Mumbai. The tariff was quite reasonable (Rs7500/- plus taxes), which also included pick-up from the Airport !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is one of the best value for money hotels in Andheri, Mumbai near International Airport. The rooms are natural theme based & are very stylishly attractive. The food in Flower Pot is good & the hotel staff is very friendly, they are very efficient and urgent while dealing with problems of their customers. I needed some urgent printouts & my laptop internet connection was not working. Hotel reception executive got a hard Drive to take files from my folder & got the printouts from the business center without any charges. Meanwhile he called his IT staff who then spent almost 30 mins to fix my laptop. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. They also have a great video & audio library which is available at your room doorstep when called. All these amazing facilities come at a price of only 5000Rs/night (company negotiated price). The only issue with this is that they don't have their won swimming pool & gym. For that you have to go to Water Stones area which is again in the same compound. Overall its a nice place to stay in mumbai.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

I stayed on a business trip to Mumbai in Gordon House Suite by chance and now I tell my office travel desk to book me there everytime. EAch floor in the hotel has a different theme and each room on the floor lives up to that theme fantastically. I particularly like the aqua theme. The rooms are very differently designed as compared to the very standard design that one finds across the world. I just like it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I travel on business quite frequently and usually stay with the starwood chain of hotels. But this month, our office travel budgets were slashed and i decided to try out some good value for money options in Mumbai. Thats when i decided to book with Gordon house suites. The deal sealer for me was that it was located very close to the airport and was available for a sub 5000 rs price. I stayed there for 3 days and wasnt disappointed at all. Its a boutique hotel and is quite nicely done. The rooms are very modern, trendy and spacious. A lot of attention has been paid to the internal designs and it shows. I was pleasantly surprised to stay at such a pleasant place at very economical prices. The only negative thing i can possibly say is that the breakfast buffet (though varied) wasn't something to write home about. But overall, i would definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterstones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterstones Hotel

Address: Off International Airport Approach Road | Andheri East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400059, India (Formerly The Gordon House Suites)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#30 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterstones Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 5 minutes driving distance from the Mumbai International Airport, Waterstones Hotel epitomizes the authentic quintessence of Boutique Hospitality at its best-small, luxurious & very intimate. Distinctive architecture, atypical design elements, attention to luxurious comforts and other distinctive touches characterize the Waterstones Hotel; providing a richer and special guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Waterstones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterstones Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.