We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel staff&good rooms&good internet facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oriental Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Oriental Residency to your Saves list
The Oriental Residency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.D. Hinduja Marg, Next to Khar RTO | Khar (West), Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel staff&good rooms&good internet facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

If you come to Mumbai for fair at Bandra Kurla Complex or if you want to be close to international airport,this is a perfect choice.The room is very clean.Service is good.Hotel Staff is very friendly and the most of it,wonderful internet connection facility for only 300 rps for 24 hours.I recommend Oriental Residency hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    95
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
21
30
35
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Agra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Wondering why this title? Well, thats my experience... contrasts like the salt and pepper hair....
The rooms, bathrooms and lift services were excellent....
Bookings were in a mess..... The airport pickup... well a Innova was there to take me to the hotel, but arriving at 11.30 PM on a delayed flight, I had to wait for almost 45 minutes for the car to arrive.... For the airport drop the car was on time....
Buffet breakfast was nothing exciting... same menu for three days..... The say wifi internet acces.... but the charge Rs 300 for it!
The location is, however, excellent... just 5 minutes walk from Linking Road and a 10 minutes walk to Khar station....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed in Oriental residency for 1 night in Dec - location of the hotel was okay, quite close to the airport, but far from city centre (about 50 minutes taxi drive to gate of india). The hotel looks really nice on the web, but the room is quite basic and small. Service was not too bad, but staff had significant issues in speaking and understanding english language. Restaurant is not cosy or relaxing at all, more canteen-style. Good thing is of course the complimentary airport pickup and drop-off. However i personally would not go there again, to me it was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Location was good, and the room was cozy and comfortable. A hairdryer was provided upon request. WI-Fi was fast and worked well but cost 20 Euro a day and you had to get a different access key every 24 hours. Staff was courteous and helpful until checkout. Every member of our group of 15 people had some type of unexpected charge on their bill at checkout, even those, like me, that had checked the bill a couple of days before checkout to eliminate surprises. There were two extra charges on my bill. One was for a half day for late checkout because the person at reception agreed to and noted my request for late checkout when I checked in, but neglected to tell me they would charge for it until checking out! The second was a service charge that was not mentioned in the email confirmation. I noticed it when i checked the bill earlier and since I had printed out my confirmation and showed the price was quoted as "NETT" the service charge was removed from my bill but not for the entire group. Would recommend with alarming warning that you may have to pay more than you budgeted for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhidham, Gujarat
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Hotel is very conveniently located as it is close to air port and Bandra Kurla Complex. Their pick up and drop facility is an added advantage. I stay in the hotel during most of my official visit to Mumbai as my Head office is in BKC. Walking distance from SV Road so shoping is no problems. Excellent food and cool ambiance to relax after work.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, got complimentary airport transfers both ways but the hotel messed up on the return transfer and we had to take the old style Mumbai taxi. The room was comfortable although a bit small, but this is Mumbai where space is limited.

The shower was good although the bathroom was small and I had trouble using the WC as I was touching a wall when seated-and I am an average built guy.

The hotel is quite central and 5 mins walk from Linking Road (opp the Khar telephone exchange). Breakfast was okay with fruit, fresh juice and eggs made to order. There was also a South Indian corner.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney/kolkata
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

I really enjoyed my night in this great new clean modern hotel. I moved to south mumbai the next night but wish I had of stayed in this hotel instead. The staff were so helpful and friendly right from the start - they picked me up from the airport, arranged my taxi's for my meetings and room service and food was great. The room was perfect, clean, fresh with fruit and and tea and biscuits. The breakfast which was provided was lovely as well with lots of fresh fruit and good coffee. They made eggs to order as well. I will most definitely stay here on my next trip to Mumbai and will avoid Colaba to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oriental Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental Residency

Address: P.D. Hinduja Marg, Next to Khar RTO | Khar (West), Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oriental Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residency is in Bandra, a hip neighborhood in Mumbai. A 5-minute drive from Khar Train Station, the hotel’s front desk and restaurant are conveniently open 24 hours a day.Offering city views of Mumbai, rooms at The Oriental Residency have a flat-screen TV and a safe. A minibar and tea/coffee making amenities are also provided. The private bathrooms have shower facilities.Soul Restaurant and Bar offers seafood, Indian and international dishes, with vegetarian options. Room service is also available 24 hours a day.Travel services include car rental and ticket or tour bookings. Express laundry and ironing services are also available. The hotel provides free airport pickup and free on-site parking.The Oriental Residency is a 15-minute drive from Mumbai’s Santa Cruz Domestic Airport and a 25-minute drive from Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport. The Bandra Kurla Complex is just one mile away.Hotel Rooms: 44 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your The Oriental Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Residency Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oriental Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.