We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Travellers Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Travellers Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Travellers Inn
26, Ballard Estate,Adi Murzban Path, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location- walking distance to all the main attractions and especially close to the art galleries and Colaba causeway. The area is nice, and feels safe, as does the hotel. (we were 3 girls travelling). However we were majorly ripped off for our room, being charged more for an extra bed and having booked online. Ring up and book, don't use the online booking sites as that sets your price higher. Overall, small rooms but clean, friendly/ very helpful staff and perfect location for sites and 40 mins from airport without much traffic.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    187
    84
    21
    14
See reviews for
28
145
97
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A real budget stay - difficult to get anything cheap & reasonable in Mumbai, but this place measured up OK. The staff are very helpful. I saw them going above & beyond what you would normally expect of staff in a budget hotel like this on a couple of occasions where guests had some difficult problems to resolve. That definitely impressed me! The room was small & very basic but everything was pretty clean & was working OK. The beds are very basic. There is a great café/bar (Café Universal) just up the road about 20m or so, on the corner of the main road (Frere Rd). There is internet available near reception. Very central & close to everything. Walking distance to Churchgate & Marine Drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

On arrival after using the hostel airport pickup service we arrived at 6 am & wasn't able to check in until latest 12 midday. We had been travelling for 14 hours so was very tired... after waiting for four hours they allowed us to check in at 10 am providing we check out at this time on departure day. Room was nice and clean, we stayed in a triple room so was plenty big enough. Hotel receptionist very helpful, map provided and they will find Rick Shaw drivers and negotiate the correct rate. Our door however was buzzed at 3 am one morning while we were sleeping, we was advised it was a room check? We were three females travelling together so didn't feel comfortable opening our door in the middle of the night. We asked at reception the following day and they advised us that it was the police doing room checks to ensure the rooms wasn't being over occupied. Apart from this it was a pleasant stay. A good place to eat is cafe universal just down the road on the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place has the travellers option down to a t. The rooms are clean, comfortable, functional and secure (with a safe for valuables).
Rooms come with breakfast and wifi -both reliable services. And the staff here a great. Universal cafe next door is also a nice place for a kingfisher.
Unfortunately, as I was a single traveller, I had to pay for two people to book a room (booking on hostel world website) doubling the price of my stay. However this is still a good deal in an expensive city. Recommended.
Also-may be a difficult one to find initially-but it's a good location especially if entering or leaving Mumbai by train

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is very simple but I guess that is what you pay for. It is a fairly good budget hotel and resonably priced for Mumbai. However the beds are incredibly uncomfortable, I think the worst I slept on in India and the rooms are all tiny. Don't bother paying more for the rooms because they aren't different in any way. One thing can be said that it is in a good location, 15 minutes walk from Coloba and is clean. Cafe universal next door is a great place for a drink as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same so therefore just choose the cheapest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I'd admit that I very quickly scanned reviews on TripAdvisor and then booked from makemytrip.com, and later on the day of check-in, I called up the hotel, only to find about 25% cheaper prices. That, along with small (but clean, though not ventilated so well) rooms disappointed me. I'd also say that I did not like the hospitality of staff so much - they were not rude, but they were not as pleasing as you'd expect from a "well rated" hotel, whatever the price be.

All in all, decent for a couple of night stay, and yes, vicinity of walking distance to CST and Marine Drive was my favourite, apart from the budget pricing if one books directly by calling up the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Most of the time we roamed in Mumbai, and this is the best place to spend the night. Situated at a perfect location near CST station (just 5 min walk / Rs 23 taxi).
I was a little skeptical about this place. But the service you get from this neat budget hotel will make you feel at home.
Breakfast is free!!! WiFi is free !! A small TV with Hathaway connection.
Rooms are cosy and clean. I had some issue with the wash basin which I think could have been bigger.
The staff is very friendly and professional.
This hotel is a definite yes for all the budget travellers and you will get vgalue for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Travellers Inn

Address: 26, Ballard Estate,Adi Murzban Path, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located near major railway station (CST Mumbai), surrounded by all major tourism spot. We have affordable rates, quality service, with the best good will in the market, i.e trust. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Travellers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Travellers Mumbai (Bombay)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Travellers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.