We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balwas International

Save Saved
You added Balwas International to your Saves list
Balwas International
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balwas International
265/E, Opposite Best Bus Depot, Bellasis Road | Mumbai Central, Mumbai (Bombay) 400008, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 364 hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
damoh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“stay away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Balwas international rather should be called as "BAKWAS INTERNATIONAL" .
no travel desk assitance
bad staff
mannerless staff.
better not to stay in balwas international.
poor reception handling
make sure about the time when they provide complimentry breakfast
they are terrible in that case.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
3
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is a terrible hotel. I'll kill the guy that wrote this is a good hotel! Rooms stinks. The minute you get in the room you just want to leave it again. Dining room - did they have a dining room? I would not have cared to go there! No internet at hotel. It is clean ok, but just wearn down and rooms just stinks. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a fair amount of times since I know the owners of the hotel personally. All I can say is they arent the BEST hotels in India, but they certianaly not the worst. The rooms provide a cozy enviroment (depending on what floats your boat), and the best are decent for the star class of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I think my heading says it all: basically having tried a few places in Mumbai this hotel trumps them all on quality of service.
you know it is a place where you get a really high standard of service - just like a Marriott or Hilton - but without the phoney atmosphere of those big hotels.
The location is just amazing. Really. So close to the centre. You can walk to Chowpatty. You can walk down to the famous electrical shop area called Grant Road. The central station for local trains is along the street. Also, i have to mention it, but about 50 metres from the door of this hotel is a shopping centre with some places to get western coffee - which I need!
The restaurant is open 24 hours a day, for guests only. Again, no complaints.
Save your time looking at other places, seriously. It cost about 4500 rupees a night, and if you book more than 4 nights ask for an upgrade. they will give you it if they can. That is the kind of hotel this is. But book ahead as i noticed they get busy.
Just call, tell them when you will arrive and they will sort the room (even if they sound like they didn't understand - they did!!!!) - Truely feel i found a hidden gem.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Good hotel, at a very convinent place, near to the station and all the facilities available near the hotel. Good cleanliness, pleasant stay, rooms with all the facility inside the room.

Resturant at the hotel has very good food

  • Liked — cleanliness, food and comforts provided in the room, near to railway station
  • Disliked — surrounding area not very good
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed here twice as it was so good.

Was surprised that this hotel cost less than £30 per night, for a double room, and is in such a good state.

Suppose it passed one mumbai stringent test: Safe AND Clean

Very good location for travel to central mumbai and also to the northern suburbs.

The hotel is on a shopping street, next to a McDonalds and a shopping centre. While this might not seem what you want (at first) it is actually quite useful.

The central station is a stones throw away. I used the local trains to get about as they were faster than taxis - and cost 50 rupees or less.

Basically, i looked at all the hotels like West End, Residency, New Bengal, Sahil and loads of others in Calaba area but plumped for this one because of the staff and and now sold on the experience having been there. Yes, there were things (like i didn't like that the electrician wanted a tip, yet he never helped me with anything)..but these were minimal.

They will do your laundry, they have security on the gated development, they have a garden and room service, 100+ channel satelitte TVs and a 24hr restaurant.

It's really decent.

Will answer any questions any one might have. Good luck. I paid 2500 rupees per night for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balwas International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balwas International

Address: 265/E, Opposite Best Bus Depot, Bellasis Road | Mumbai Central, Mumbai (Bombay) 400008, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 364 hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Balwas International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balwas International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.