We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went back for the memories” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apoorva Bar and Restaurant

Apoorva Bar and Restaurant
Noble Chambers, S. A. Brelvi Road, Near Horniman Circle, Fort, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India (Gateway of India)
2870335,2881457
Improve this listing
Ranked #399 of 6,776 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Gateway of India
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Went back for the memories”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Apoorva was my introduction to seafood cuisine when I had started visiting Mumbai in the early nineties. Now I live in Mumbai but staying in the suburbs has made my visits here infrequent.
Was very happy and nostalgic that I could introduce a friend and his wife (who have recently moved into Mumbai) to the famed Mumbai seafood here in Apoorva.
Started with the juicy prawn koliwada (after the sol kadhi of course!). Followed with butter garlic crab - which was average - Trishna beats all others in this department for sure. More fried fish and neer dosa + prawn gassi for main course.
Final take - value for money but average in quality.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The price range reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The service was good and the staff was very attentive. We had the garlic squid for starter and it tasted excellent! The price range reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reasonable seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Good seafood place although when I was there they didn't have crabs nor lobster... We ordered then fish curry which was really tasty. The up floor room has a low ceiling which makes the places a little dark.
We were the only foreigners which is a great deal in Mumbai!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Apoorva Restaurant @ fort, Mumbai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Economically prized menu. So foodies can march straight to hog on for a nice non-veg treat. Choose the ground sitting area towards entrance for a aroma free dine in. All veg as well non veg options are delicious. Sea food is a great and really very economic. Neer dosa which is made of rice batter is a good option to try with curries instead of roti or naan. Post a good lunch or dinner ensure to have solkadi.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Memorable for all the wrong reasons”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Average service, food and surroundings. The thing I most remember is the very very strong urine odour as we entered the air conditioned top floor. This will always remain with me. It didn't seem to bother the three other tables of diners, who all appeared to be middle class Indian people. We were the only Westerners there that evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apoorva Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Apoorva Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apoorva Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.