We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay, cool & Quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U-tan Sea Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
U-tan Sea Resort
Save
You added U-tan Sea Resort to your Saves list
Chowk Dongri Via Uttan | Bhayander (west), Mumbai (Bombay) 401106, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Stay, cool & Quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

U-Tan is nice little hotel on a small hill in Uttan, Mumbai. We had gone there for short trip to relax & thats what it offered. very Quiet on small hill. There was mild smell of fish around the Hotel, however inside it was ok.
rooms are small but quiet compact. Food is good, but service is little slow but its ok.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
22
16
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

The Place and surrounding is really Nice , Rooms are good and Swimming Pool is also Nice.
No Entertainment for the Kids except the Pool.
Food Quality is OK.
Service takes a Lot of Time and That is really Painful.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We stayed at U-Tan over the weekend i.e checked in on a saturday and checked out on sunday. Right from the booking to the check-out, the staff were very courteous and helpful. We even got our rooms changed to one that gave us better sea views. And believe me, the view is amazing....you can lounge forever at the balcony and gaze at the sea, the waves crashing on the rocks and the fishing boats passing by....zzzzz!!

The rooms were decent. We had booked 'Studio' rooms....try to get the ones on the upper floors for a better view. However, if you have 4 ppl in a room, get the ones on the lower level....they have 2 beds. Room service and housekeeping were friendly and quick.

The restaurant experience was good too....despite the negative comments we found in other reviews. Just ensure you take the chefs opinion on what would be good :) The restaurant has an excellent sea view. We had a late tea session, which extended right upto the sunset and beyond. We mostly stuck to the regular stuff for breakfast and also tried their sausage n mushroom platter (again recommended by the server!!). Only thing I missed out on was desserts and juice. But, I am sure we never had so much food in 24 hrs before this!!

One thing to note is that the resort is located bang in the middle of a fishing village (although it's on a hilltop). The whole place smells of fish, esp dried fish. It can be a bit nauseating, if you are not a fish-lover.

Overall, a very nice experience if you would like to take a break from hectic city life and just relax and laze around. A perfect getaway for a bum like me :)

  • Liked — Excellent Sea views, quality of food and service
  • Disliked — Stench of dried fish around the place
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This resort, at a very accessible distance from Mumbai, is a great getaway any time of the year. The U-Tan sea resort is a Country Club resort and the property is very well planned with independent styled villas & duplex bungalows with compact & classic rooms (double occupancy) and the studio and 1BHK rooms with occupancy for 3 & 4 or more people.

The property is spread over 2 acres and had a decent sized swimming pool, a TT table, carrom & badminton. The lawns are nice and green with plants and the restaurant has plenty of seating. There is also seating around the pool area where you can order from. They also have a spa center that is operational only on the weekends though. The property has it's own pottery making at the extreme back end of the resort where they make their own pots and bake them too (This is something worth seeing). There is plenty of parking for cars and buses too (in case you come in a small family picnic). The resort also has a conference hall, so corporate events are also possible.

Gorai and Essel World and Manori are all very close by and you can even visit them on your stay here.

If you want to eat fish/seafood, it's best to talk to the kitchen staff one day in advance so they get what you want. They do not stock extra seafood and only get fresh fish. The food here is good, but the prices could be reduced considering they don't make you anything you don't get elsewhere.

On the other hand, U-tan can do with some more activity added to the resort, like a garden area for kids to keep busy, perhaps a jucuzzi that works and anything more like WiFi facilities or indoor games. Some of the lighting in the room didn't work and the AC remote too was really difficult to work. Apart fromt this the experience was really nice!

  • Liked — The resort design
  • Disliked — Minor things like quality of lock & key, lights not working, water dipping in bathroom
  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

We wanted to go somewhere close for the weekend around Mumbai. I started browsing the internet to look for options and found U-tan sea resort which looked pretty good on the web-site, called them and made a booking for my family.
I booked a studio (4 adults in 1 room) for and a compact room (2 adults) for 2 nights. They have no food packages unlike the other resorts and taxes are charged seperately. They are litte on the expensive side in terms of the tariff (no discounts offered whatsoever) and quite strict about their check-out timings.

The rooms are neat and clean, the bedsheets and the washrooms are also clean, towels were ok. The resort overlooks the sea and there nice greenary in the resort.
The compact room are really very small but it has a nice small terrace with a sea view. The Studio room was good & spacious for 4 adults with a balcony facing the pool.

The food was good but as it was on a-la-carte basis there was a wait for about 45mins to 1 hour. Would strongly recommed to order food in advance before going to the restaurant. Also the waiters are not present at the restuarant , you have to wait for them to come if you want to order something in between your meals.

Overall a good place to relax and enjoy your weekend.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Service at the restuarant
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to U-tan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U-tan Sea Resort

Address: Chowk Dongri Via Uttan | Bhayander (west), Mumbai (Bombay) 401106, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#13 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
u-Tan Sea Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U-tan Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.