We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Combine spirituality with comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iskcon, Hare Krishna Complex

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iskcon, Hare Krishna Complex
Save
You added Iskcon, Hare Krishna Complex to your Saves list
111, Hare Krishna Lane, Near Hare Krishna Mandir, Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Combine spirituality with comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

ISCKON Complex, Mumbai is perfectly located for a nice quiet stay, with a great combination of sumptuous vegetarian food, great location and proximity to the beach(just 5 minutes walk)...
The only drawback (if at all) is the lack of TV in the rooms, otherwhise the rooms are beautifully decorated with religous motifs and stylish furniture!

Moderately priced and in the best location of Mumbai, perfect for a few days of beach combing and South Indian food.The AC is excellent and really quiet...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
17
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I visited ISKCON Juhu during 2010-2011 during my official visits. Fortunately I had the opportunity to stay very near to the temple complex. This place is amongst one of the rarest place in the suburbs of Mumbai, which connects you to god. The whole temple atmosphere is so sublime and divine. Yes Govinda's cuisine is just perfect and I never had the chance to eat such delicious buffet before in my life. So a perfect place for a spiritual and divine connection with eternity.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My parents, my wife, my kid and I...we all stayed here from apr 8- apr 10, '12. I was told the place is heavily booked so I should make reservations a few months in advance. I am glad I did! It is unimaginable to find such a good place to live in Mumbai!!

Even if I discount the fact that my primary reason to stay here was low cost being an ISKCON life Member, I had to pay just Rs. 1300 per day for a room+ 2 extra beds], I would recommend this calm oasis in chaotic Mumbai to every traveler. The normal cost for a room is Rs. 3500.

The guest house is located within the ISKCON Complex in Juhu, one of the original posh area of the city. The traffic around the suburbs in frenzied and deafening but once you enter the temple complex, you will be reminded of the definition of an oasis that you read in your school days!

The facilities though are minimal and if you are in a mood to party, forget this place. But if you are on a visit with your family, make it a point to be here.

One major negative I found was absence of a TV. In a world being run on communication, a TV should be a necessity in any guest house rather than being a luxury. But then, I feel it is a conscious decision by the management to not let guests be disturbed by such things!

Room Tip: No idea about this...I got a room and it was good enough to even think about a replacement. This roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Its the best temple in the modern era with all the needs for a tourist are taken into consideration and fulfilled,its the best.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The ISKCON guest house is in the upmarket area of Juhu. It is not too far from the airport, but, of course the traffic makes it feel longer. The rooms are utilatarian and not too luxurious. It is a big room with 2 singe beds, side tables, a writing table and chair at one corner and another table with water etc in the other corner. There is no TV. You can have a good vegetarian breakfast at the Govindas downstairs or ask for room service. The people are nice and the rooms are fairly priced. You can visit the temple downstairs and also partake in the activities within. The Linking road shopping area is quite near and as well, the Juhu beach. Of course, being inside the temple, alcohol and smoking are prohibited, but, that is a small thing.

Room Tip: One has to put up with the noise till midnite if there is a wedding in the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I'll try to make this short and sweet, and I hope that you like this review....

I went to India and stayed at the Taj Mahal Palace and Iskcon in Mumbai - both have their merits, and if I were to go again, I'd probably stay here because of the value for money. If you must go to India, and you must go to Mumbai, both of which I would never, ever go back to, then try this place out.

Get up for the morning and evening services, they're the magical part of this place, and are very enjoyable and memorable. The food is good. Room service is fantastic - getting 3 sodas delivered to our room for about $1 including tip was very exciting. The bathroom was good, but not amazing... the drain was slow. The air conditioning worked perfectly. Their wireless was free and worked amazingly well. I couldn't complain about much really, except that we both got food poisoning, and that's just something to expect to have when you go from a place with strong food safety standards to a country where cleanliness means absolutely nothing.

So, the overall experience was amazing, and the price was unbelievable. We walked to Juhu beach, which was filthy, but than again so is everything in India, and nobody cares about anything, so they just let everything fester.

Suggestion for the owners: create the top floor as a "club" level, clean it up a bit more, have higher standards, and then charge 4 times the price. With a little bit more effort, this property could easily become a 5-star experience.

FYI, in case you're wondering, they had no issues with the fact that we were two men in a relationship.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor overlooking green lawn, and of course pay for an air conditioned room. Check y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

One does not need to be a devotee or even religious to appreciate unmatched cleanliness, spaciousness, and services for the prices they charge. The staff at ISKCON are reliable and trustworthy. This is the third time I have stayed at ISKCON near Juhu Beach and it's getting hard to think about staying anywhere else. The food is really nice too. For those not looking for 5 star hotels, this is all around a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iskcon, Hare Krishna Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iskcon, Hare Krishna Complex

Address: 111, Hare Krishna Lane, Near Hare Krishna Mandir, Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 317 Specialty Lodging in Mumbai (Bombay)
Also Known As:
Iskcon, Hare Krishna Complex Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iskcon, Hare Krishna Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.