We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens to your Saves list
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Krishnaraja Sagar | Mandaya, Mysore 571607, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Mysore
Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good hotel with value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is really good value for money. The location of the hotel is best you can get in mysore right inside brindavan garden. The only negative is that the room service is taking little long time. over all it was a good experience. They have pool and other facilities also even though we did not try. The building is very old since it is a palace taken over from govt but well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden!!!

Thank you for you sharing your experience while you stayed & enjoyed your stay with us.

We value your feedback, we were very glad we could satisfy your needs up to your expectations, Except few areas which you highlighted upon improving our service standards, we shall improve upon the shortfalls,

look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    135
    56
    25
    13
See reviews for
161
83
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A location to die for, great heritage structure, regal looking interiors, good rooms and fabulous restaurants, this is a wonderful destination to unwind. Had the fortune of going there when the gardens were closed to public due to cauvery unrest and saw the entire hotel and brindavan gardens totally empty...what a view!!!great service and courteous staff. only grouse-small pool.overall a super choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden!!!

Thank you for you sharing your experience while you stayed with us. we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

First things first, the cab drivers in Mysore will mint for a drop to Brindavan gardens. The place is good. Try to get a first floor room with garden's view, it is magical in early mornings. There are balconies as sitting area where I had morning tea having a view of the garden :-).
The breakfast is not as per standards when compared to other Royal Orchids. The Lounge is good. The swimming pool is a big tub of water. Overall not worth the price of the hotel - go there only for the view of the Brindavan Gardens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden!!!

We value your feedback, we were very glad you liked our hotel and its ambience, We have a lovely spread over a cold & hot buffet Breakfast which has a changes in the menu daily, may be we could not have met your expectations we shall improve upon our service standards.
We have a swimmingpool 40 x 20 ft in size it is a quite a big size for a 24 rooms inventory heritage hotel, it is a real retreat heritage hotel which creates a concept of "Home away Home"

look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a wonderful example of an old colonial type hotel. Large echoing bedrooms - and equally large bathrooms although plumbing a trifle eclectic!. Overlooks the Brindavan Gardens which become alive each evening with lights and fountains and lots of visitors. Walking through the gardens at twilight and watching the musical fountains was very pleasant. Food was acceptable and staff very helpful. Access is a little strange - especially by coach, but we thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden!!!

Thank you for you sharing your experience while you stayed & enjoyed your stay with us.

We value your feedback, we were very glad we could satisfy your needs up to your expectations, we still try to serve better and your future stays would be much delightful.

look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We usually stay in Mysore but decided to stay at Brindavan for a change.

There is a toll charge of 30Rs just to get to the hotel and this is non refundable - rather odd .

The check in was slow but the room was wonderful. Very large and comfortable with all amenities and good internet access. Excellent comfy 4 poster bed, very quiet a/c and quiet nights sleep. Fantastic views over the gardens from the sit out and even better from the first floor bar.
Food in the restaurant was good, especially the breakfast buffet.
The pool was rather small and not particularly clean but probably due to the number of trees surrounding it.
Room cleaning was done rather late in the day ( mid afternoon ) but the laundry was efficient.

Downside: Car parking is a long way off and the poor old drivers get a very raw deal. After a very long drive our driver was told he could wash in the river and it is the first time in 13 years he has complained about the food for drivers, very little and poor quality - it's simply not fair
to pamper the clients they bring and treat them so badly.
We had to ask for the corridor lights to be turned off during each night as they shine into the rooms and are very bright.
Small eats menu in the bar was not available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden!!!

We value your feedback, we were very glad we could satisfy your needs up to your expectations, We equally treat our drivers also very important we serve a very moderate meal which the staffs and excutives too consume the same meal which is Rice, sambar, papad, rotis with subji, which is quite economical and hygenic food. We cannot serve any better food than this.

look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel to ensure your future stay would be more delightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I had been here for a night with my family. The rooms r to small for the rate they and nothing is star rated except the bill.
1. The pool is just a pond with no other facility.
2. The restaurant does not serve allacarte you to opt for buffet.
3.no other recreation for kids.
Just be in this place if you like to have view of the splendid brindavan gardens morning and night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for you sharing your experience while you stayed with us. We value your feedback, we bring it to your notice we have two categories of rooms 1) King Size - 550 sq.ft 2) Queen Size - 350 sq.ft based on the guest preference, rooms could be chosen.
Pool 40ft x 20ft - this is a quite a big recreating pool, we have followed by A) Garden Chess B) Miniature Golf C) Children above 12 years - POOL TABLE D) X- box video games.
All these put to gether with the ambience of the huge spead of garden with a dedicated team which enriches the importance to be a 4 **** heritage Hotel.

We could not meet your expectations on our service standards, look forward to welcome you back at our hotel to ensure your future stay with us would be more delightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InIndia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend at the Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens. The property is a really old one and has British-India written all over it. I have a soft corner for this property. In my childhood while visiting the Brindavan Gardens at Mysore, I had tea and sandwiches along with my family in the hotel balcony on the ground floor. I was wowed by the location and the hotel at that time. As a child I thought it was fantastic that there could be a beautiful hotel right in front of the pretty Brindavan Gardens. Several years later, I got to visit the hotel as part of my stay at Mysore and it seemed like an old wish come true.

We got a corner room overlooking the gardens ( as requested ) and hence were mighty pleased about it. Of course I was a bit surprised by the size of the room and really expected it to be bigger. Amenities wise, everything seemed to be fine. Their restaurant services weren't really up to mark. At least the first lunch was unpleasant with less servers, slow service and lack of clean cutlery. After that, we just decided to be early for meal times.

The hotel staff were quite friendly of course and the serenity of the place during most part of the day really affected me positively. Evenings of course are livelier with people at the hotel bar and ground floor, crowds thronging the Brindavan Gardens ( which might become too much of pushing and jostling if you're not venturing at an earlier time), the lights and all.

I would have loved to visit the Krishna Raja Sagara (KRS) Dam which runs parallel to the gardens and can be seen from the hotel, However there were restrictions and one needed permission from the local police station and probably high enough to go there. Nevertheless that didn't stop some privileged cars to make a short rounds on the bridge. Visit to the Dam was unrestricted previously and I remember looking out to the huge stretch of water and enjoying it during my childhood visit. Not being able to do this was of course a small regret.

Since I've stayed in few other hotels which are higher on the pricing and rating scale, I did feel that this hotel was probably priced a bit too high. Of course it could be a simple demand and supply thing leading to the price. However, the experience of sitting in the ground floor balcony, feeling the light breeze and quietness around, while soft Carnatic music plays in the background and you look out to to the gardens ,makes up for all these shortcomings. A very strong reason why I would love to go back there again and just relax.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, do choose a higher room and of course ask for a garden-facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden!!!

Thank you for you for sharing your experience while you stayed & enjoyed your stay with us. we are glad that we could meet your expectations on our service standards, we shall definitely work upon to maintain better quality of service and other areas as specified.
we ensure your future stay with us would be more delightful.
look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens

Address: Krishnaraja Sagar | Mandaya, Mysore 571607, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mysore
#7 Spa Hotel in Mysore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set by the inspiring Cauvery river, and overlooking the breathtaking Brindavan Gardens, this hotel holds the promise of heaven on earth. This is where you can immerse yourself in moments that stand still and create memories that last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens Hotel Mysore
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens Mysore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.