We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed good bathroom bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parklane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Parklane Hotel to your Saves list
Parklane Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2720 ,Harsha Road, Mysore 570001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Mysore
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Bed good bathroom bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a unique kind of place. The rooms themselves are comfortable and clean, however the bathroom had a nasty smell which lingered in the bedroom if the door was left open.
This is one of those places that like signs, signs, signs everywhere. On mirrors, above the bed, above the sink - everywhere.
The food in the restaurant is a bigs disappointment, poor quality and expensive. The menu is extensive but the dishes we tried all tasted the same. The fruit salad was a slimy joke. However fun can be had reading the menus last page. " free vomit bags are provided" well the food wasn't that bad! The free music is varied in quality and is hardly a draw. Maybe stay but eat elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    158
    54
    12
    10
See reviews for
82
130
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed in your hotel 3-4 times but I wasn't happy the last time. Everything is perfect except the kitchen department. Previously, I was happy with the cleaniness of your hotel. You used to dip cutleries in hot water before serving etc.But this time, I was disappointed.

The cutlery provided were dirty with food stains. The coffee cups had dried up coffee from the previous time. It was not once but I faced this issue multiple times during my stay. The "Chicken Tandori" I had was delicious but it gave me an upset stomach. It was filled with chilli powder.

I would highly recommed that you change or kitchen staff and train them to be more clean.

Room Tip: take rooms on the top floor with a balcony. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Not a bad place to stay. Rooms are good and adequately spacious (clean sheets, clean room), bathrooms are decent and kept clean, and the staff is courteous and friendly. Maintenance appears to be an issue though, as the property is clearly getting long in the tooth. Not completely value for money if you're an Indian traveller (We've seen much, much better in this range) but a decent option at a good location (right across from the Mysore palace on a road where a clutch of similar hotels are located). The restaurant, however, is another matter altogether. It appears to be nothing more than a watering hole with very bad food options if your definition of food stretches beyond nibbles to a good meal (or a hearty breakfast). Europeans on a shoestring budget backpacking across India put up with a lot crap so don't get fooled by several lounging about the restaurant. Food's terrible (whether Continental or even Indian, shockingly) and service is even worse. For instance, despite this being Mysore their dosas and uttapams were awful and too oily, and made with sour dough. A banana pancake was served as a bad pancake with banana slices on top and a waiter refusing to serve any honey or syrup with it. Something they dared to call lasagna was served with almost liquid cheese and hard vegetables and tasted terrible. Spaghetti was bad and the juices and sodas were just about average, to be kind. So stay away from the restaurant but do consider the hotel as an option if they give you good rates.

Room Tip: Away from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went for a quick 24 hours trip to mysore and we wanted a change from the old and tested
Dasaprakash and thought Parklane, would fit the bill. We sent an email enquiry for the cheapest double (luxury) and got a response fairly quickly, stating they had reserved a room. It is such an antiquated way to confirm a reservation, but guess it seems to work ? At 2000+ per nite, it does seem a little much.

The hotel has a 12-12 checkin-checkout policy, which was ok for us and guess being featured in Lonely Planet and stuff, they seem to have a constant traffic of people, so they are busy !

The hotel is about 2 kms from the station and is actually walkable, if you have your bearings about town.

The hotel is quirky as hell and the signage is relentless from the second you step in. They seem to love their terracota and you get a first glimpse in the lobby, with a large display of zodiac signs. The reception area is very basic and we checked in pretty quickly. The manager was efficient, but not really personable and considering they get such a large tourist inflow, was surprised that some of my basic queries about distances or certain places etc was answered in a very offhand manner ? Anyway that was just my personal observation. We got two toiletry kits as well, which was rather packed with essentials !

We walked into our room and I was pretty surprised at the space. I have no idea, why there are so many reviews about the space being cramped ? The ceilings are a little low, yes, but you have this little seating area and the main room has a twin bed, a little cupboard with a safe, wall mounted tv and ofcourse a huge terracota mural. No view as such though.

And then there are the signs ! Literally every switch has something written on it ! ha ha
not to be outdone, the wall also feature an extra large digital clock in red, which feels like we are in a rocket launching site.

The bathrooms was decently sized and neat, the fittings were a little antiquated, e.g the shower head was clogged and finally it just made sense to take a bucket bath. The towels etc are in need of a change..they are on the verge of greying.

Else the a/c worked beautifully and cooled the room well.

The room service is expensive (almost 20% surcharge) and the restaurant, despite all the lights and ambience (green overload) is very average in quality. Only the basic rotis and dals were decent, paneer items and the meats were pretty tough. They have nice chilled beer and on a whim I had a mojito, which was pretty potent :-)

Most of the central landmarks at very close to the hotel, so its a good central place, if you are looking for one.

Overall I felt it is better than average, but not VERY GOOD as I have rated (Trip Advisor needs to insert that option) It would have been Very Good, if WiFi and breakfast was included at that price !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
black isle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The room was relatively clean but not so much so that you would want to step bare-foot on the hair-ball mats on the floor. We asked for a double and received a twin but didn't complain so it may have been a mistake. One of the best features were the gendered wash bags they provided, complete with toothbrush, vaseline (!) and even bindis for girls. The bathroom was alright but no hot water and shower just a dribble. The fan worked but the air con kept turning on and off throughout the night which was a nuisance.

Everything was meticulously labelled which was cute and comical. They tried to think of everything. I don't think it was bad, but I do plead you not to eat in their restaurant/beer garden. The food is enough to make you want to sick it up. In fact, they even warn you on the menus to ask for a vomit bag if you think you might!

Staff were reasonably helpful in the hotel, but just plain rude, obnoxious and overstaffed in the restaurant.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed at parklane for 6 days and on the 6th day i received a call from the hotel reception that i had to check out of the hotel because the room was already booked ... inspite of me already informing them that i would be staying the whole week the Manager asked me to check out immediately and will be given no further time to stay in that hotel...i later know that there were a group of foreigners who were waiting and was pretty shocked to know that i was being overthrown for them (this was also noticed in restaurant where they were given preference i got my order late)...
later when i took up the matter with manager he said that by the hotel norms they are likely to decide when to make the guest stay and when to chuck out of the hotel.. i had to pack my bags and keep it in the baggage counter and spend half day in the reception ...

pathetic and outrageous behavior of the hotel staff which is intolerable and unacceptable...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

it was a wate of money that i have spent here. i was on my way back from ooty to bangalore. had a worst day along with my parents. amenities were ok but the room was crampy. it is just like a local place but it was priced very high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parklane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklane Hotel

Address: 2720 ,Harsha Road, Mysore 570001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Mysore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parklane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mysore, easy access to bus and rail. Newly constructed 30 luxurious rooms, roof top swimming pool and open air restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Parklane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Mysore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parklane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.