We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore to your Saves list
The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maharanapratap Road, Mysore 570010, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Enjoy 15% discount at Spa
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Mysore
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were expecting great things here but it is a dissapointing hotel.
The food was OK, but the restaurant was awful with really bad tinny music, the pool is a bit odd really and not particularly clean and was unattended when we visited, the room was quite shabby (bathroom door did not fit !) but what really stood out at this hotel was the staff. We stayed at 10 hotels in India on this trip and this was the only one of them with uninterested unhelpful staff - suggest some retraining required here.
Also they are big on extra charges here for lots of things that were free everywhere else (e.g. milk for tea in the room)

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    233
    70
    24
    13
See reviews for
216
168
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

I stayed here with my wife for 3 nights in January 2009. The Windflower facility is beautiful, has an excellent spa, and spotless rooms. The Windflower was quiet and peaceful but only a ten minute rickshaw ride to the palace in Mysore. I trusted the safety of the food and was happy to eat there even though the prices were high (Rs 120/entry) and the service was slow.

The lobby staff was willing to help on any request and always smiled, but without any genuine warmth. The spa staff, on the other hand, were very warm and caring. My wife and I are both Ayurverdic novices, so cannot comment on the authenticity of our spa treatments. However, we found the treatments were fantastic and seemed to follow some formal system.

  • Liked — the spa was the best part
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff.UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Good Location,Large room and bathroom,Lovely open sided resteraunt and gardens.Very friendly and helpful staff.HOWEVER,the whole complex is in dire need of refurbishment (stains on upholstery,tired bathrooms and peeling paint).Unable to use the verandah due to masses of pidgeons nesting in the eaves and lots of subsequent droppings,also quite a few roof tiles have slipped off everywhere,so watch your head.

  • Liked — size and setting
  • Disliked — Tired and in need of maintenance
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckunghamshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Spent 2 nights here on our travels in Southern India in January - had booked a standard room for 1 night but arrived a day early due to change of plans - we were given a deluxe room as this was all that was available for the first night, but our second night was charged at the standard room rate so we were quite happy! Room was beautiful and bed exceptionally comfortable. Food in the restaurant was delicious although the service in the restaurant was not the best we had in India, also there was a distinct smell in the of fuel (?kerosene ) noticeable at lunchtime and dinner, not evident at breakfast, which was a bit offputting. Having said that, when the food arrived it was excellent.
What was a disappointment was the pool which looks so lovely on the website - water was murky and uninviting and there were far too many young male staff lurking about not doing anything - as a western female I wouldn`t have felt comfortable in a swimming costume so gave it a miss which was a shame as the weather was perfect!
Location is great, just outside the city of Mysore at the foot of Chaumandi Hill - would definitely recommend hotel for a comfortable stay - but it`s not quite as perfect as the website suggests!

  • Liked — huge comfortable room, en suite and open air shower
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

The room we stayed in was large and comfortable with a big comfortable bathroom, and the resort itself is a very pleasant place to stay. The water-way outside the rooms is very nice and the whole is as relaxing as you'd expect.

A few things prevented the stay from being really perfect though, and put this hotel below the 5* rating it should deserve: the ayurvedic treatments were ok but nothing exceptional (the back and neck massage was decidedly uncomfortable and the head massage mainly consisted of pulling out my hair); there was a lot of confusion and delay at the restaurant (it's always hard to find somebody lowly enough to go and get an orange juice); the credit card machine was broken at checkout and they had no change when I had to pay in cash.

Overall it's the best place to stay in Mysore, certainly a mile above the sandesh the prince, the other top end option, and these small inconveniences shouldn't stop you from enjoying a great stay at the windflower, and the company of Rosie, the local parrot.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

The Windflower was the last hotel on a 2 week trip with my Husband following my working in Inida for some months.

As the stay was to be the day before our return flight to the UK, I had questioned on a number of occasions whether internet access would be available to book our BA seats. On 3 occasions, I was assured it would be and again reassured upon check-in.

I had also asked in advance about accommodation for our driver. I was told that availability was limited but they envisaged no problems on the date of our visit. We checked in and left our baggage early morning and so I again asked about this. I was assured that there was accommodation for him and that someone would go and show him where he could stay.

We got up at 6am to go and book our seats 24hours in advance with BA and there was no internet access.........After many attempts and much frustration, we drove to another hotel and booked it all through their internet access. Needless to say I was not amused.......And even more so when I discovered from our driver that in fact there was no accommodation for him at all and he'd had to sleep in the vehicle!

The hotel had categorically lied about both facilities!

When I tackled the Maneger on check out about the smell of damp in our room, the lack of electricity in our room upon arrival and the flies combined with these other issues, he shrugged!

The room was comfortable and large - apart from the little things mentioned above.........but be warned - they don't tell you the truth!

  • Liked — The ambiance and position
  • Disliked — The complete lack of honesty in customer service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

My husband & I spent two nights in this hotel in February at the start of a 4 week trip to Southern India. Our travel agent had wanted to book us into the Lalit Palace, but having read reviews we decided against it. (Having visited it we were very glad!). Our UK agent informed us that this hotel was not available for the nights we requested, so we lifted the phone and rang the hotel direct and reserved a room for the required nights without any problem!
After we checked in, we were shown to our room and to our dismay there was the most dreadful smell of drains and also a hum of an engine. We were informed that it was the sewage pump and that it did not run all the time!! I immediately asked to be moved and this they did, to a room on the other side of the water feature and it was fine. Why on earth did they not put us there in the first place - as I do not think that the hotel was full. We had a downstairs room, and I agree with the previous reviewer about the silly design of having the bed up a step, however, we did like having a private seating area on the edge of the water. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was good. Perhaps the furnishings were a bit 'tired'.
We were disappointed in the restaurant - the food was acceptable but the service was very poor. At dinner the first night there were only about 6 guests in the dining room and we counted 16 waiters but we still waited ages for our meal!! They had a good selection of Indian wine, both Sula and Grover and at the lowest price we saw during a 4 week touring Southern India.
I think it is probably the best place to stay in Mysore - and we had not problems whatsoever with our driver waiting for us outside reception and we were there for 3 days!

  • Liked — The comfortable bedroom
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore

Address: Maharanapratap Road, Mysore 570010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mysore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mysore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mysore
#3 Spa Hotel in Mysore
#6 Family Hotel in Mysore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial rooms. Rain showers. Private sit-outs framed by swaying coconut trees and a glorious view of the Chamundi Hills. Heritage walks that make history come alive. A world-class spa that offers over 30 different ways to renew. A midnight swim in the rock pool at night. An incredible multi-cuisine open-air restaurant. Silence, space, serenity in the heart of the royal city. Windflower Mysore is waiting. Come, take advantage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windflower Hotel Mysore
Windflower Hotel Mysore
Windflower Resort Mysore
Resort Mysore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.