We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably good ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore to your Saves list
The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maharanapratap Road, Mysore 570010, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Mysore
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When I arrived here to spend a weekend with my spouse I was completely taken for a surprise. This place is located close to Golf club in Mysore and it can be easily reached from any part of Mysore. For those who still prefer an additional landmark, it’s very close to the newly constructed "Mysore Mall". This place is huge & surprisingly rooms nicely laid out on one side while all the other amenities (restaurant, pool, spa etc.) are located the other side. The room are huge ... we stayed in 1st floor and all rooms balconies are overlooking a well maintained water body. The food, room service, breakfast buffet, evening restaurant are all awesome.. Infact this place is so romantic & if you're looking for some place to spend your weekend with your spouse or love interest in around Mysore then I would certainly recommend this.. Without any second thoughts.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1st floor & it was awesome. Also heard that certain rooms in ground floor have priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    215
    63
    23
    12
See reviews for
200
153
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was a chance stop for lunch at this resort, though planned for by my colleague who was familiar with the hotel.

The ambience was cool though not extra ordinary. The thick tree cover for the place made it a place to chill for an hour, even as the city temperature was on the rise and weather a bit more humid.

Food was good, Staff courteous.

Appeared to be a preferred place for city folks too, due to its proximity to city centre.

I wish the place was 'housefly-free". Only discomforting sight was of flies popping around you and your food!

Wish I didn't have business on hand or mind and wish I could spend more time. Must plan it out soon.

Room Tip: Cant comment for now,as I didn't get to stay at this place on this trip. But look forward to..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Chose this for our first wedding anniversary after reading the reviews which rated the resort highly.

Pros:
- Courteous and helpful staff. Efficient check-in/check-out
- Large beautiful rooms
- Beautifully landscaped and peaceful property

Cons:
- I repeatedly kept making requests for a quiet candlelit dinner as a surprise. No one from the staff ever responded back till the day when I was there. End of surprise!
- The restaurant Olive Garden was terrible! Staff was courteous though the service was poor. Screwed up drinks and did not even bother to tell us that a key ingredient was missing. We did not venture back after our first experience!
- Flies everywhere! We do understand seasonality etc. but not in the restaurant area.
- The spa was average. The bathrooms were stinking.
- No luck with any games/outdoor activities. Went to the 'games room' to find that the foosball table was an antique decorative item. The cue ball for the pool table resembled a golf ball and one cue stick did not even have a tip! The gym was dusty and unusable. We asked for cycles which the resort promised but never delivered.
- Swimming pool does not allow food or drinks service! Not attended by anyone.

We left the resort a day earlier to celebrate in a better manner.

Bottom line: Do not go with high expectations!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and will work towards making all departments complaint free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I went for a day to mysore, decided to stay at windflower resorts & spa. My decision was spot on. We had our 11 month daughter with us. She had a great time in the resort. The staffs were very friendly, very helpfull. My check-in & check-out was a breeze. Food was good, though the breakfast buffet could have been better. Rooms were clean, house keeping was efficient. The problem i had there was lots of flies inside the room as well as in the restaurant. It was pretty irritating. The swimming pool was fairly clean given the trees around, but there were no staff to guide me with the hower or the towels. That was bad. Overall a very good experience. Will never hesitate to go again. Looking forward to explore their other resorts as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Super specious rooms I took 2 of them one was

1. Suite
2. Villa

Choose the rooms that are on the ground floor you get nice sit outs.. Suite also has a small out door near the bath room where you can take shower in open.. (It is completely private) but was too good and I liked it..

Villa was good and specious too.. had a small pool inside. while I did not use it, I thought it is worth to mention...

Food was nice.. I really liked the food attenders who were always on the look out for your empty plates and would be ready to serve the next item...

The food restaurant have unusual guests called "fly's" they keep you active on your dining table and do not allow you to be in peace.. :-)

Used the SPA had a good body massage "Abhyanga" loved it.. would suggest all of them who will be staying here to experience this Ayurvedic message.. very economical, neat, clean and I am sure you would love it..

The resort was quite peaceful yet in the center of the city...

Overall nice experience..

Room Tip: TV did not work well and had a tough time to set it up.. DVD player available but no movies availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the resort, the rooms were beautiful and so was the setting. I went to the spa and did yoga in the morning, 5 stars for both experiences. I was less impressed with the restaurant, food was average and the wine was horrible. I was asked to fill a feedback after dinner, and I told the waitress the wine was bad, but all she did was to say yes madam and take the feedback form. After filling another feedback at checkout, I then received an apology email from the manager. Would have been better if the restaurant stuff would just be more attentive at the time, and replace a glass of wine if it is bad. The room service on the other hand was very good, and so was the breakfast. There was mostly Indian selection, but there were fresh omelet or boiled eggs, toast and melted cheeses, butter and jam. Liked the pool as well, pretty big and very peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Set in a nice location we started in a suite, which is very large. It had an anteroom with a 5-6-person sofa and chairs, TV bar area. The bedroom has a very large 4 poster bed on a raised plinth, plus more seating , dressing table etc, safe and fridge (no ice making). The bathroom was also large with a very large walk in shower with plenty of hot water. The room was on the first floor with a small balcony overlooking a rectangular water feature.
The complex has a large pool, not certain if changing facilities were available, to us it did not seem that inviting compared to the rest of the hotel. There is a spa etc. The restaurant is very efficient serving European, Chinese and Indian a la carte food. Food was very good and vegetarians are well catered for.
The bar area, serving spirits, wine assorted beer look a little tired, but the service was excellent.
WIFI is available, initially getting a password was time consuming, but this did improve as the password only last for 24 hours and can only be used by 1 device. In our case we needed 3 at a time.
On our second day we were upgraded to a Pool villa, these are situated on the ground floor with the suites above. Layout is slightly different from the suite, but has basically the same fittings, but with the addition of a dining table (4 people) and a private splash pool.
Adjacent private club had functions on both nights of our stay, the music was loud to the point that some of the room fittings vibrated, but did eventually ease off about 10.30.
Mysore is the silk capital of the area and the Government shops offer a good selection but the prices are higher, a fitted shirt 40 pounds sterling a ladies top 80 pounds approx.
A main attraction is the Palace, no need for a ‘tout’ guide outside the entrance as a free (2000 rupees refundable deposit) headset tour is available inside the palace. Well worth using, allow about 3 hours for the first visit. Shoes are not allowed but socks are, entry fee was about 280 rupees with an additional 150 rupees to go into the museum. In the evening entry is free to the grounds and at 7 o’clock Saturday and Sunday the palace illuminations are turned on it is spectacular. During the day camera are not allowed inside and have to be deposited in free safety box area (small tip welcome ..20 rupees). Pictures in the grounds are allowed.

Room Tip: Not much to choose between the Pool villa and suite, mainly a private splash pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We are sorry about the noise from our neighbouring property and as you rightly pointed out, there is little we can do about it. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore

Address: Maharanapratap Road, Mysore 570010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mysore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mysore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mysore
#6 Spa Hotel in Mysore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial rooms. Rain showers. Private sit-outs framed by swaying coconut trees and a glorious view of the Chamundi Hills. Heritage walks that make history come alive. A world-class spa that offers over 30 different ways to renew. A midnight swim in the rock pool at night. An incredible multi-cuisine open-air restaurant. Silence, space, serenity in the heart of the royal city. Windflower Mysore is waiting. Come, take advantage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windflower Hotel Mysore
Windflower Hotel Mysore
Windflower Resort Mysore
Resort Mysore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windflower Resort and Spa, Mysore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.