We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Viceroy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Viceroy to your Saves list
The Viceroy
Sri Harsha Road, Mysore 570001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 105 Mysore B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good location, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect, it's 3 minutes walk from the palace, with an excellent view at night when the palace is lit. The standard is just your average Indian city hotel. There are two good restaurants just down the street and close to ATMs and internet café's. It's walking distance from the colorful market which is definitely worth a visit, amazing for photos.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    35
    18
    32
See reviews for
31
35
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have made good choice to stay there.All service were good. neat clean room and clothes.It was fantastic.itsvery close tobus stand and palace also. I like to go again n stay and i like to suggest to all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and our room was very clean and well-kept. The breakfast was a little iffy (saw a few dirty dishes lounging about the dining area) but when I asked for a clean plate and mug it was brought to me immediately. It felt a little overpriced, but it was very central and the staff was helpful. I liked the rooftop restaurant - it was nice to look out at the city while dining. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is right in the centre of Mysore. Location wise is ideal. Bed is fine but when you go to the shower / toilet that’s when all you smell is the strong scent of mothballs that were placed in every water “exit”. The shower curtain is so dirty that you would be scared to touch it and it smelled damp and has got loads of mosquito lodgers. Don’t think that room has been aired at all for a long time.

We “rented” their hotel car for an afternoon at 500 rupees for two stopovers, only to be told that it should be 750 if airconditioning would be used. I personally found that an unbelievable behavior. If they can get away with things like this, they would just because us tourist don’t say anything. Needless to say, we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for a night with family. Had booked an AC room in advance. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The staff were friendly and advised on things to do etc.Also they were very obliging and allowed us to check out late as we got delayed with the sightseeing. They also stored the luggage safely afterwards till we could pick it up. Some friends did eat at the restaurant in the hotel and were happy with it. Very well located close to the palace. We did get disturbed for a short while by the prayer call from the building next by but was manageable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a side where you can avoid hearing the prayer calls, or at least less in intens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great Location as it s very close to Mysore palace. However it is not as advertised.
I was with a group of 15 people who all had issues with no airconditioning. We were the only ones who get our aircon to work.. I had to climb up to the unit and manually push the front panel to get ours to work.. ALL the displays for the panel had been removed so you couldnt even see the buttons to make it work. I found it crazy that out of 15 people everyone had trouble with aircon!!

The rooms were fairly clean but +++ moth balls in bathroom were overpowering and made me smell of moth balls for days after leaving this hotel.

I found the rooms pretty large and bright. Large windows.

There was great water pressure in our room.. But I found that the hot water was turned off several times through the day and night. I would actually turn on the hot water tap and nothing would come out at all!!! No water not even cold out of the hot tap.
Overall I have mixed feelings about this hotel.. I felt like the aircon had been rigged not to work in most rooms which left me feeling cheated. The smell of moth balls was unappealing. I had to wash all my clothes at the next hotel to get rid of the mothball smell.. The on/off hot water was annoying. I really like to shower after walking through the city all day and there just was NO hot water at night. Only freezng cold water to shower with. Brrrrrrr!!
I wouldnt reccommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We selected this hotel due to location , selected luxury suite which was not getting even hot water. Reception lady was arrogant & very much unprofessional, they don't deserve for front desk. No politeness,phone booking will be taken after 10am to 5pm. I wonder why reception lady(which is kep for serving people) don't know her duties. They will take money & will not provide services & if somebody asks about service lady will ask to check out then why are they running service industry , i think these things are out of brain of these front desk uneducated people. Something fishy why reception lady has kept on head? Owner should close hotel if he cant provide service properly. Dirty hotel, suffocated smell n charges are high compared to services. It is average quality lodge, on internet they have written three star hotel. I think for these frontdesk people it must be three star hotel. They never know what kind of facilities will be even in budjet hotel. there are good hotels in same hotel. we shiefted to SK eligance on the same haesha road & on same rate but it was nice . it is new hotel & also good.

Room Tip: If u r looking for location ,there r many other hotels on the same lane & on the same rate, go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Viceroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Viceroy

Address: Sri Harsha Road, Mysore 570001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Mysore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Viceroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Viceroy Hotel Mysore
Viceroy Hotel Mysore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Viceroy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.