We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest Hotel of Mysore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mysore Dasprakash

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mysore Dasprakash to your Saves list
Mysore Dasprakash
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gandhi Square, Mysore 570 001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Mysore
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Oldest Hotel of Mysore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dasprakash Hotel is the oldest hotel of Mysore. Run by Udupi Brahmins the hotel is famous for the lunch it offers. The hotel is located in the heart of the city and is a landmark as such. The quality of food is decent. The hotel serves south indian meals and other south indian snacks. Most of the old timers prefer this hotel for the food. Rasam and Sambar served in this hotel for lunch/dinner is very tasty.

The hotel is not yet modernised even after we stepping into 21st century. A newer generation of the management has to re-work on the interiors and the menu of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    29
    8
    17
See reviews for
55
19
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zhengzhou, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

The hotel has its own charm but rooms lack of maintenance. They smell like mould and the toilet is really bad. Value is ok but location and service are quite good. With a good maintenance this place can rock. Take it as it is i should say...

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Even though stayed in air conditioned room, the bath room was very poorly maintained. The hotel is in the centre of the town and convenient for all movements. The vegetarian restaurant is, of course, very good for authentic south indian food. Try the Mangalorean special halbai which is a sweet dish and melts in the mouth.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I am very sad about writing this review. My wife and I were really looking forward to staying at the Dasaprakash. It is a classic hotel, which has a great reputation. We made reservations a couple weeks in advance, and were told there were no A/C rooms available. We were offered non-AC for around 800 rupees. When we arrived, I made one mistake. When asked if I wanted to see the room in advance, I said no... since I trusted their reputation. We were shown to our room, which felt more like a prison cell. It had only one window up high in a far corner. There was a support beam in the middle of the room. We asked if there was another room available, and were given a room on the courtyard, great! My wife quickly discovered the giant cockroaches living in the bathroom and in the toilet. We soon noticed a constant high-pitched noise. It was the alarm on the elevator door, which was about 6 feet from our window. It went off every time the door was opened to remind people to close the door. Often it was left open, and we spent about 30 minutes listening to the noise, before I went and asked for another room change. They offered to 'upgrade' us to a room with a TV. Luckily, the last room was on the third floor and was cleaner.

I was also excited to go to the restaurant. This is a classic, South-Indian vegetarian restaurant. The food and coffee tasted excellent. Unfortunately, my wife got sick after eating the North-Indian Thali. We are sure it was this meal, since it was the only meal we didn't share in several days.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Stayed from 12th feb night to 16th morn. Rooms 12 and 11. Old type rooms but clean. Toilet seat broken not set right. Bed linens and towel not changed. Room not cleaned during the whole period of stay. But decent place to stay and good food. On the whole okay.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

The hotel is sparkling clean, basic with all you need except wifi. Really could not have asked for more - everyone was friendly, good price, super clean sheets and room service for coffee, tea or papers in the morning! Enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We were looking for a budget hotel where we can rest for the night and vacate early in the morning. Dasprakash was a perfect choice.

Pros:
1. Rooms and bathrooms are clean.
2. Very affordable.
3. You need not step out for food, as this complex hosts one among the best restaurants in Mysore.

Cons:
1. Property is very old and maintenance is not that great. You can feel that the property is very very old.
2. Rooms are small and compact. Not much room.
3. Bathrooms do not have proper windows, may get stinky at times.
4. Rooms are very close by. You can hear to all unwanted noise from adjacent rooms.

Do not go with the expectations of a modern hotel and you will not be disappointed. One of the better budget hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are less noisy but are little expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mysore Dasprakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mysore Dasprakash

Address: Gandhi Square, Mysore 570 001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Mysore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mysore Dasprakash 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mysore Dasprakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mysore Dasprakash Hotel Mysore
Dasprakash Hotel Mysore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mysore Dasprakash, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.