We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were Maharadjas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lalitha Mahal Road, Mysore 570028, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 81 Hotels in Mysore
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“We were Maharadjas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Absolutely outstanding hotel building, neo-baroque palace with large verandas and phantastic sights. Restaurant located in huge baroque hall - incredible! Room -appartment in the main palace was very nice, victorian decoration. Even the bathroom is "victorian" with the old original shower and tube...authentic!!We were pleased by the good quality of food and by the helpfulness of waiters and staff, some waiters obviously got some western trainin which you rarely an say about Indian staff! To be recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    75
    46
    31
    24
See reviews for
74
80
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Read a lot of reviews on TA and other sights before booking, and decided to go with it for two reasons:

1) we were only staying for one night, so if it was as bad as some reviews make it out to be we would be out soon
2) when else will we be able to say that we stayed in a palace formerly used for the Maharaja's guests?

In the end, we were VERY happy with our decision. It was three of us-- wife, myself and our three year old. We were placed in one of the Heritage Classic Suites on the 2nd floor, front facing side (#23). The room was very large and more than met our needs. Much of the furniture were period pieces, which only served to enhance our stay. The bathroom was huge-- no seriously, I have stayed in many hotels (NYC, Paris, SF, etc) where the entire hotel room would have fit inside of this bathroom and still left plenty of extra space. The bed was comfortable, and the room had plenty of spce for a roll-away bed- however we chose not to use one for the little guy.

After checking in, we ordered room service for lunch. Service was prompt and the food was excellent. Not a huge menu, but certainly a variety of choices. After lunch, we decided to head out. As we opened the door, we were greeted by a monkey who "barked" at us as we walked out. He gave us our space and we did the same.

We ate dinner in the grand dining room. The space is simply amazing. Dinner was great and the wait staff very professional. After dinner, my wife spent some time browsing in one of the small shops on the main floor, while the three year old and I took a few trips up and down the vintage lift.

Breakfast was a little underwhelming with only three choices of fruit, two choices of cereal and three choices of pastries at the "buffet.". We were given eggs to order and toast to suppliment, but I was looking forward to a true buffet breakfast with Indian and continental options. Perhaps we were too early (9am), but we were never told a time that breakfast "started at" while checking in.

Only suggestions for improvement would be for the staff to provide a little bit of history of the Palace upon check in or while escorting guests to their rooms. We would have enjoyed to have learned more about this grand building. Additionally, a coat of paint or touch ups here and there might help (noticed a few places that looked a little "rough").

For families: the pool area does not have a "kiddie pool" and the main pool was certainly too deep for our 3 year old to attempt. Heritage suites have plenty of space for roll-away beds... ours also had a chaise lounge that a little one could comfortably sleep on.

All in all, a great experience!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here 20yrs ago & had very fond memories. Poor management and staff have let this place decline into just another Govt run heritage hotel. Real pity

Room Tip: Try to get the upstairs rooms with balconies in the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijayawada, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just stayed for a night this May 2012 on our way to Ooty. This must have been a gem of a house/palace when it was originally built. It has that grandness to it, even to this day, and it impresses one by its sheer size and grandeur. The staff is well qualified, but you feel the place misses a heart that takes pride in the place. We were in one those rooms overlooking the swimming pool, and the hills yonder, and I should say the views are excellent. There is care in tending to the garden, but except for the few grown trees, you have a feel that it is not well designed. A simple test, if you really built such a grand building with such care, how much care would you be giving it now for its upkeep?. There seems to be a confusion as to treat it as a lodge or a palace (royal residence). The room was spacious enough, and for the kid they bought in an extra bed without asking, but it is a camp bed, and doesn't match with the room. We didn't need it, and asked it to be removed, but the whole furnishing seems to be unprofessional/ not up to the mark, especially for such a grand place. There seems to be an absolute mismatch between the vision when it was built and the vision the tourism department now has of the place. This lack of vision/interest is painful as I feel I am losing a piece of my cultural heritage.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel, was once upon a time a glittering jewel in Mysore's Diadem, but alas- it fell into the quagmire of pathetic management, lack of care and an indifferent attitude towards its guests- domestic ones more so than the foreigners.
First of all, the long driveway which takes you till the palace gates is in need for some decorative measures like having trees flank either sides. The palace compound speaks for itself, ad the sight of the majestic white building looming in front of you is enough to take one's breath away, and tells volumes about the regal splendor of the erstwhile kings of Mysore.
The grounds are maintained well and the gardens are ok- nothing too lush or colorful. You might find the horse drawn carriage which can take you for a round of the premises, with an excuse for a horse pulling it, more often than not, one will wonder whether the horse would be able to tolerate the journey.
The welcoming party at the hotel are dressed up in white outfits and are mustachioed. I found only one of them to have anything resembling a genuine smile, while the others had the bored expressions we see on so many government employees.
The lobby is imposing and has a couple of nicely engraved wooden tigers, and a stuffed lion in one of the glass cases. The stairways are nice looking. The right passageway leads to the dining room, which is quite grand. The utensils are mostly of pure silver, and that's why the hotel charges a premium rate for even small things like tea - which sells for Rs.100 a person. There is a buffet breakfast which is only average.The hotel food is again - only average and the seasoned traveler might find his worth to travel to the city for meals rather than getting ripped off at the hotel.

The floors are carpeted and the chandeliers a bit dusty.
The rooms themselves are grand looking but only the big suites are maintained somewhat. The other rooms may have faulty faucets and tubs. I found the tapestry and curtains a bit too gloomy for my taste.

A word of caution to travelers, especially those travelling with kids- It would be prudent to avoid meals at the hotel- especially for kids- since there have been reports of the kitchen being in an extremely badly maintained state and having various fauna pottering about the cupboards. Food poisoning might foul up your entire trip. Indeed the health inspectors have found the palace kitchen to be pathetic many a time, and have had to shut it down.

Recently a funny trend was observed by me at the gates of this hotel where the security guard rudely asks you where you are going, and for what purpose. If it is for the purpose of seeing the palace and grounds only, they charge you Rs.50 from 9 am to 5 am. The guard even has the audacity to take your order for the restaurant at the gates itself, and promptly hands you a bill- something like a pre-pay for a restaurant- this came as a shock, and speaks volumes of how badly the management is treating the guests and visitors and to what a state of disarray the hotel has fallen.
There are many better hotels in mysore- however if you want to experience the stay in a palace once-then and only then do go there. Otherwise- best avoid!

Room Tip: If you are staying with kids- better avoid the food at the restaurant here- there is a good chance i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
The above comment is not of a genuine user of the hotel as the comment is posted on June 21st 2012, where as the tigers and lions mentioned as seen in the hotel were removed as per Govt. instructions more than a year back. Even the Carpets mentioned in the review have been removed long time back, excepting few of the V V I P suites which are maintained in pristine condition.

As Lalitha Mahal Palace is a historic landmark of Mysore, all tourists visiting, want to come inside causing crowd and inconvenience to our guests. Hence redeemable coupons are issued at the gate to ensure that only genuine users enter the hotel. For people who would like to enjoy the magnificent edifice from the outside, a Buggy Ride is arranged inside our grounds for a payment of Rs. 50/-.

This comment seems to have emanated from some person who was refused free entry and has vented his unrighteous hatred on the hotel.

The hotel's kitchen's were never closed down and proper care is always taken to ensure hygiene. The Municipal Authorities have also inspected our hotel recently and no non conformity to hygiene standards were found.

The recent comments on tripadvisor of various genuine users who have utilized the services of the hotel based on which TripAdvisor has given a certificate of achievement, which is proof enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I truly enjoyed my visit to the Lalitha Mahal Palace and I will always remember the nice and welcoming treatment I received from the management and staff. The palace decor is absolutely gorgeous and our accommodations were very comfortable. I also enjoyed the delicious dinner that we ate in the most grand dining room I dined in while in India. We felt like we had taken a visit back in time at the Lalitha Palace.
One thing I might mention is that the electricity goes out throughout the city of Mysore while the palace lights are lit and this includes the hotel, which is not powered by generator. I did not expect this and had only been in India for 2 days when we returned to the hotel after visiting the Mysore Palace on a Sunday evening for the light ceremony, which is beautiful! I complained about the A/C and the situation was explained to me.
Mr. Bharathan is a fantastic host, who kept in touch with me before, during and after our visit to Mysore. I will certainly visit again. We also looked at many of the different rooms and suites and all of them seemed appropriately priced and comfortable. I really thought the bar was beautiful too.

Room Tip: Write to management with specific room preferences and choose accordingly. The photos are accurate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

There's a lot of carping on TA about this hotel. Yes, it is run by the government. That immediately means that it's not up to Taj or Oberoi standing. But go for the historic rooms (on the Second floor front) that have recently been "renovated" and enjoy this real step back into time. And at those prices you can't afford not to love the experience. Lots of hotels promise a taste of the "past", well this one delivers on that promise. Do wish the food were better and that the hours of the bar weren't so quirky. But you probably won't be here for more than two nights anyway and its whole "guest house" for the majaraha atmosphere can't be beat. Do not stay in the modern wing.

Room Tip: Historic renovated rooms on the front of the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel

Address: Lalitha Mahal Road, Mysore 570028, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mysore
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mysore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Indian-style Hotel, formerly a Maharaja's Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalitha Mahal Palace Mysore
Mysore Lalitha Mahal Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.