We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took me back into time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Hotel

Green Hotel
Chittaranjan Palace, 2270 Vinoba Road, Jayalakshmipuram, Mysore, Karnataka 570012, India, Mysore, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 274 Restaurants in Mysore
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Took me back into time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A slight drizzle was not going to put me off from an evening on the lawns of the Green Hotel in Mysore. While most guests decided to stay huddled together under the canopies, we requested that we be seated on the lawns.

Although reluctant at first, much pleading and an end to the drizzle we were seated at the tables on lawns of the hotel.

The old world charm of the place, the carefully manicured garden and the beauty of the hotel from a time gone by was magical.

Although the hotel has an extensive menu, we decided that we'd down a few Kingfisher beers and snack on some pakodas. The kids loved the nibbles and the service was quite friendly.

Altogether, I would rate the experience for the settings and the ambiance over the food.

This is however a place I'd want to have on my list for a quiet evening in Mysore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historical but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Apparently the place used to belong maharajas sister however the food did not have that grace.. Beautiful lawns worth a visit for the ambiance

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Green Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great place to have food in mysore....The fried rice, and the toasted sandwiches were great and so were the desserts...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“RESTAURANT REVIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Restaurant and cafe are a great getaway from the busy, noisy Mysore. The service is a tad slow, but this is welcomed as a reason to sit in the beautiful setting as long as possible.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Malgudi Coffee Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

the very best Lemon Drizzle cake piping hot right from the oven with excellent coffee & accompaniments, royal ambiance, courteous staff prime location, what more can you ask for?

will visit again. definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.