We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mysore Maharajah's Palace (Amba Vilas)

Mysore Maharajah's Palace (Amba Vilas)
Mysore, India
+91 821 2421 051
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mysore Maharajah's Palace (Amba Vilas) like an insider
Private Tour
$125*
and up
Private Tour: Mysore Palace and Srirangapatna Day...
Ranked #2 of 68 things to do in Mysore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 1912 structure is one of the largest palaces in the country and contains art from around the world.
Nandyal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Persons available there were very rude even on sunny days we cant use footware feets are burning when we walk bare foot in sunny days even they dont care when we ask them to do something very ridiculous

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    931
    623
    130
    29
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Joke of a Palace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Bad, worse & some more worse - this is how I can sum up my visit to this joke of a palace. The list of negatives is long for me & I would never ever recommend anyone to waste their time visitng this sham palace.
They do not allow you to footwear inside the palace!! As a result you are left to tender to your feet walking on the hot sunbathed uncovered floor outside the palace. They do not allow cameras inside which I understand as it is restricted in many places but not all. However the grouse is that this restriction is not notified anywhere prominently & we were stopped as we were about to enter the palace inside & were alreday barefoot. The place to submit your camera was around 120m from that area & in the searing heat, the sunbathed floor beckoned your feet for roasting!!
The guards were uncouth and only interested in hurrying up & scolding the visitors.
The inside of palace is nothing home to write about if you compare it with vast legacy of legendary forts & palaces in India.
Once we exited the main palace they forcibly took us towards the personal housing of royal family & their temple where there is separate fee to view it!! When we resisted & shouted to be shown the exit way, only then they reluctantly showed us the way to exit.
This place called palace is just fleecing money from tourists in form of parking fee, palace entry fee, personal royal house entrance fee, elephant ride fee etc. with no consideration for tourist comfort.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most glorious and lauded pieces of architecture in India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Mysore palace is one of the most glorious and lauded pieces of architecture in India. Mysore Palace is located in the heart of the city. Mysore Palace is one of the most visited monuments in India.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Maintainance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The way,officers maintaining Palace was really awesome.but wherever u want to visit,they will price u.Totally Rs.75 u have to pay in-order to visit the whole palace.if u r true lover of palace,don miss this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Never Judge a Book by its Cover”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Beautiful on the outside and disappointing on the inside. The Facade with its brick red bulbous domes is marvelous. the size and architecture is inspiring but as you enter the palace it is poorly kept and needs restoration and maintenance. The worst part - they have nailed acrylic sheets to protect some pieces of art and history like the inlay work and the silver moldings... there has to be a better way. Also, no cameras allowed inside except if you bribe someone or use your phone to click away??

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mysore Maharajah's Palace (Amba Vilas) also viewed

 

Been to Mysore Maharajah's Palace (Amba Vilas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mysore Maharajah's Palace (Amba Vilas), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.