We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an attitude!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Restaurant

Castle Restaurant
3 Nazarbad Road | Sandesh The Prince Hotel, Nethra Nivas, Mysore 570010, India
8212436777
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 265 Restaurants in Mysore
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What an attitude!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Our driver recommended this restaurant and so we ended up there. Whilst we were there people from different tour companies from far east Asia arrived. The buffet it seemed was catered more for clients from Far East, so we settled for a la carte. After ordering, the waiter brought three wrong orders to our table. They seemed more interested in waiting on the big group. What ever extra we ordered never came e.g. hot water & lemon. This was rather annoying and we decided to tip the waiter with only 10% of our bill. The waiter of wasn't happy and actually made a rude face and did not thank us but just ignored us and walked away. OMG what an attitude!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel looks like a 4 star rated one but the restaurant is not so expensive. Travelling with family i was not willing to take a risk on the food quality and hence opted for dinner. The soup (hot and sour chicken) was not that great. But all the other dishes i ordered basically north indian was nice. Good spacious restaurant and staff understands English well. Recommended for travellers with family.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“decent place for "safe" food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Probably really 3.5 stars. I enjoyed it but we're not talking Michelin stars here.

My guide took me here for lunch on a day trip visit to Mysore from Bangalore. Since it was my 2nd day in India, I was still trying to be pretty careful with what I eat and this place was good because it caters to travellers and westerners - pepsi was served in a bottle, no ice in the glass. Ordered a lamb dish and it was fairly tasty. The wait staff was very nice and I had no trouble understanding them. Not pushy at all. Prices are western prices but the restaurant is spacious and very nice.

Lunch was a la carte dining, not a buffet. Choices of some western, India (both vegetarian and meat) as well as Chinese (go figure). My guide had recommended the Indian vegetarian served in a bannana leaf, but I happen to like lamb and they had a nice selection.

Would definitely recommend for anyone that prefers to be conservative with their dining.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Sufficient and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had our breakfast and dinner buffet here during out stay. Really enjoyed the variety. Probably one of the better options in Mysore.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The waiting staff spoke english well, and were willing to adjust some meals on the menu to avoid foods which my husband is allergic to. The food was delicious and well presented. A little pricey compared to other local places to eat. A very clean, neat and comfortable restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Restaurant also viewed

 
Mysore, Karnataka
Mysore, Karnataka
 

Been to Castle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.