We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy authenticity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre to your Saves list
Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lalithadripura Rd | Ittigegud, Mysore 570 028, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Mysore
Le Lavandou, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Healthy authenticity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Authentic ayurvefic treatments are given there. The medications are made on location and you can visit the large organic garden. Food is simple and vegg. The basic rooms in the main building are very very basic and simple . The center located at the step of mysore sacred chamoundi hill is ex centred and surrounded by fields opposite to the antic lalita place hotel . Very peaceful, serene and quiet place to recover, relax and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to know that you experienced our Authentic Ayurveda treatments and enjoyed the food and stay at IVAC. We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    4
    8
    10
See reviews for
18
29
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Food was awesome - really healthy and delicious. We enjoyed the full body massages. The staff was really nice. The rooms were small, but it is so affordable that it didn't matter. I felt I was getting sick, but the massage and steam treatment made me feel all better by the morning. The atmosphere is relaxing and the grounds are beautiful. Not the most convenient to get downtown, but rickshaws do go up the road every once in a while.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay was worth and massages helped you to enjoy your holidays. We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I recently spent an amazingly relaxing week at IVAC enjoying the Ayurvedic treatments. Between the wonderful massages and detox regimens, we were able to enjoy high quality yoga and pranayama classes, reading books from the great IVAC library in the serenity of our cottage patio surrounded by banana trees, swimming in the gorgeous pool, eating delicious and healthy meals, walking around the beautiful grounds enjoying the many flowering trees and plants, meeting with a Vedic astrologer, and more.

As other guests have indicated, IVAC is not run like a hotel, so you should not expect prompt responses from housekeeping staff or efficient concierge-like services from the front desk when planning outings, etc. Since our primary aims were the Ayurvedic treatments and the serenity, however, we were more than satisfied. Can't wait to plan our next trip back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.We appreciate your review about IVAC, which almost covers all our services and happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We will definitely upgrade our services in House-keeping and front desk. We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

As the name suggests the hotel theme was ayurvedic. Based remotely, the hotel ambiance was good. Nice gardening, tress everywhere, outdoor (tennis clay court-OK)and indoor games facilities(carrom, etc). I had opted for a standard room. The room and bathroom both were clean; but both were just too small, but never mind we were just 2 of us. I was surprised there was no TV and although they had put a note that they would provide one on request, they couldn't do so since there was some connection problem.
Its a pure veg hotel and alcoholic drinks are not allowed. The food was hygienic but I think the buffet dinner was just too expensive. I had to pay Rs 400+14% tax for the dinner which I felt was not worth.
Overall I suggest you book a deluxe room and enjoy your meals outside. The massages were paid and a bit expensive, but there is no harm in trying out one.

Room Tip: Overall I suggest you book a deluxe room and enjoy your meals outside. The massages were paid and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to serve you again. We provide partially organic food, getting organic ingredients is a challenge. As it is a special diet planned by our Ayurvedic Consultants, the varieties are minimal, especially it is recommended to have a light diet during dinner. Benefit of enjoying your holidays at IVAC is; we even take care of your health. In one destination you can have your health and holidays together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a back up plan, I booked this hotel at the last minute and stayed a night here with my family. To my surprise, I found this hotel far better than my usual stay (Aishwarya Residency) for the service offered for he same price. Let me say this first, I prefer a silent and peaceful stay rather a hectic and busy.
Check in and check out was very fast. Standard rooms are ok and the bathrooms might look very small for Indians (though it is very well usage of each inch space). However, as for as my knowledge after experiencing many European hotels, this is acceptable and very descent.
Hotel has a very large area for spending nice evening or early morning including swimming pool. Be careful with the honey bees and the wasps, my 3 year old son while playing "checkers" got a wasp bite.
I like the small library, which has some spiritual and religious collections including few books in French, Danish and other languages too.
Overall its a nice place to stay and I advise to spend at least couple of days to have a peaceful time.
Last tip: Hotel is far from the city under the foothill of goddess Chamundi, so you need to have a own vehicle or rent a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay was good. We look forward to serve and treat you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

IVAC offered us a very peaceful stay away from the mad rush of city life. It was an excellent, detoxifying, nourishing stay. The food was vegetarian - homegrown and healthy. We stayed for 2 days and really felt refreshed even though the regular aspects --- TV, loud music and non veg food was not available. The ayurvedic treatments were fantastic. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Its a great place to stay if your idea is that of relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay and treatments were good. We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I am travelling to India since 30yrs, I keep coming back to Ayur Vedic Treatments. In Indus Valley I found most traditional Ayurveda. Treatments are excellent. They don`t miss any effort to treat you exclusively. Food is very good, vegetarian an d niceley cooked. I was there for 3 weeks and did not miss anything. I am living in a cottage originally built and I enjoyed it ery much, very comfortable, especially they are all standing with Vastu.
I can highly recommend this place to undertake Ayurveda Treatments.

Room Tip: The Cottagees are all individuelly, and very nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talavane, Owner at Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay and treatments were good. We look forward to serve you again. Please be in touch with our doctors for a follow-up and feedback on your health.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre

Address: Lalithadripura Rd | Ittigegud, Mysore 570 028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Mysore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Chamundi hill, an ancient place of healing and pilgrimage is an award-winning eco-conscious Ayurvedic retreat deeply rooted in the most ancient traditions of India. A peaceful sanctuary dedicated to physical purification and health. Our name takes inspiration from the Indus Valley Civilization which existed thousands of years before on the banks of the Indus river. Legends tell us of a society dedicated to deepening it's understanding of human awakening and developing deep springs of knowledge which have been handed down today as our rich traditions. Ayurveda the most ancient healing art and science is one of these such traditions. Our aim is to help restore harmony within body and mind so that each person can live a life of the fullness of health and vitality and realize their greatest human potential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.