We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“D best garden I hav ever seen!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brindavan Garden

Brindavan Garden
Mysore 576103, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 68 things to do in Mysore
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“D best garden I hav ever seen!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Spread across a large area;dis garden is a real treat to the eyes..the greenery n the fountains r mesmerising. .a gud place for walking. .the view frm d top is worth watching...but u will hav to walk a long distance. .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    248
    209
    102
    64
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent - Light Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are very much enjoyed the light show in the night time. But in almost all the stalls food is not good. We havn't get higenic food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“brindavan garden , beautiful place to spend good time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

After visiting the palace, we checked with some locals about the best way to reach Brindavan Gardens from the palace. We were told to cross the road and go to a bus-stand from where we could either catch Route number 303 or private buses which ply from the city to the gardens. My advice is not to take the private bus as the bus leaves you about 2-3 kms from the Gardens and then you will have to take an auto or wait for bus number 303. Other option is to hire a cab and go or go via the various sight-seeing bus options.

Brindavan Gardens is about 24 kms from Mysore and during weekends, the place is very crowded and there are huge traffic jams as the roads are really narrow. So, be prepared for all that.

As we had gone in the evening on a a holiday, that too Id, the garden was crowded beyond imagination. You could see a sea of humanity everywhere. There was a long queue for tickets and then also for entry. We were made to realize that we are an over-populated country. But, as soon as we entered the Gardens, we forgot about India’s population and were lost in the beauty of the gardens and the fountains. Everywhere, the fountains were in full swing. And, when the lights were switched on at 7:00pm, it was an amazing sight. With the Id-ka-Chaand on the sky, the garden became heavenly. :-) The highest point of the garden is located in the south-most end and offers a that classic view of Brindavan Gardens. The north-most point is where the most sought after ‘Musical Fountain’ is located.

Brindavan Garden lies adjacent to Krishnaraja Sagar Dam which is built on the river Kaveri.

The Gardens was built in year 1932. It has a botanical park, fountains, running and cascading water channels, boating and laser shows during the evenings. It is the best illuminated terrace garden in India. And, it is world famous for it symmetrical design. It is actually modeled on the design of Shalimar Gardens of Srinagar in Kashmir. The slopes in the garden are planted with colourful Bougainvilleas and ornamental plants.

It is a great place to hang around with family and friends. We saw many college groups playing Antaksharis in the garden. Its an ideal place for such picnics. :-)

A piece of advice from me is, if you wish to visit the Gardens in the evening to see the lighting, please be prepared to fight through the crowd for your return journey by the bus. We had a terrible experience reaching back to Mysore city. The roads were very dark and the traffic jams did not allow the bus to come inside. We had to do a 1.5km trek almost to reach the T-point to get into the bus.

The garden is open throughout the day and the illumination is done during the evenings from 7pm till 8pm.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“A nice place which is not maintained always”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We went to this place & waited for the water show but nothing happened. Their was no announcement that the show was cancelled. The staff at the entrance were busy checking the cam,eras to charge a fee but they too were clueless about the new smartphone cameras. The garden was being redone & things were messy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'lore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“acres of garden, dam and a musical fountain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

to truly experience Brindavan it is recommended to spend either the entire day there or a better alternative is to go once in the morning for the lovely gardens and visit once in the evening to see the musicial fountain..

the garden is decently maintained, and makes for a nice background to click some pics..there are lots of benches to seat and enjoy the views. there might be some mobile vendors selling chips/water but on the whole, it is advised to bring your bottle of water.

the musical fountains happens only on Sunday and it gets crowded giving it a mela (fair) like atmosphere. Advised to go in the afternoon and wait it out in the nearby Royal Orchid coffee shop cafe.

take a short boat ride across the dam or alternatively you could walk across using the bridge at the side. when we went, it happened to be a full moon so the views of the gardens, lake and fountain was exceptionally beautiful.

the musical fountain by itself is Ok. It's about 15mins program and quite average..maybe because our experience was marred by the screaming, shouting and whistling teengers who had apparently came for a school outing and who happen to number nearly 30-40 odd and seated behind us..

all in all, this place is a must visit, the kids (and young at heart) will especially enjoy the musical fountains.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brindavan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brindavan Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.