We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angry receptionist!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Tiffanys Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bombay Tiffanys Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bombay Tiffanys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   313, Sayyaji Rao Road Cross | Behind Chamundeshwari Talkies, Mysore 570001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 80 hotels in Mysore
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Angry receptionist!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

So here goes my experience. Me & my cousin with our families had spent a night in this hotel on 30-Mar. We had booked 2 rooms through makemytrip.com with additional 1 bed each. We checked in around 8.00 PM and said only one bed is needed in one of the rooms (though we had paid for 2). We freshened up, roamed around a bit and came back after dinner. But one of the kids in the group developed cough and we decided that we will avail the 2nd bed too and give the kid little more space to sleep properly.

I called up the reception and requested for the second bed too. This is where things started going wrong. the night shift guy in the reception got angry and said "why cant you make up your mind? when our boys came u said there is only one bed needed, now you say you need 2. Can you not decide beforehand what is needed and what is not?" and slammed the phone down!!! I went downstairs and gave him a piece of my mind. he tried justifying saying "we have only one room boy and he hasn't even had lunch" etc. If he had problems accommodating a request, he should have put it in a better way and tone.

Mind you, i am not one of those pain-in-the-@$$ kind of customer who is finicky about things and has a lot of demands. But this was just over the top. I am not going to a hotel to solve their staffing problems for them. i have stayed at 50Rs per night rooms in mysore in my bachelor days and their behaviour was much better than this. Whats the icing on the cake?? we were staying in their (so called) super deluxe luxury room!!. (which is strictly very very average).

Room Tip: Though there is a menu card in the room, there is no restaurant in the hotel. If you'd like to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
24
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Value for money and being close to the city and the main attractions are the key positives of this hotel. Good if the intention is just to catch an overnight sleep. Not high on comfort and have old blankets

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location is very close to attractions, but inside a lane that is a bit shady. No major issues, but the presence of a bar...Other than that, its real value for money. We stayed in AC rooms and The rooms are very clean, staff friendly.
Don't choose the lowest price rooms - they are on ground floor and Indian Type toilet. The upper floor rooms are quite good, though.
Unless you are a single lady traveler who needs to cross the lane on FOOT at the dead of night to reach the hotel, go for it, as long as you have a car or always come to hotel before say 10 pm.

Room Tip: Don't choose ground floor rooms- they are the cheapest, but they all have issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location could be better. Very good room service. Running hot water. Clean bathroom and bed sheets. Very safe for girls travelling alone. Good value for money hotel. I could go back to it for any stay in Mysore.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candolim, India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Noicy, rooms are small and not very clean.. Service is not impressing. Towels and toiletries should be asked for. Hardly any window so don't expect for fresh air. Many mosquitoes. Wouldn't come again as it doesn't cost the money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Worst ever hotel of India As per their service and their way of talking and handling guest.I went up their with 4 of my frnds.They treat us very badly,as we have reached before 12,so they refuse to give us any accomodations,Afterwards we asked them so many times then they finally agree with one condition that we have to vaccat the room next morning on the same time else witha delay of one minute thet will charge us.They gave us wrong infomation about their traveller package and after wards they uses abusive language.Worst Ever Hotel,Dont ever move into it,If you dont want to spoil ur trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Don't expect the Hilton at Bombay Tiffanys, but the place is affordable and close to the Maharaja Palace, shopping, and lots of food options. The hotel is down a dark and dingy alleyway, but don't let that deter you from going. The staff are friendly and welcoming. They provided me perfect directions to see the sites.The rooms were clean and the room service excellent. I would consider staying here again if I returned to Mysore.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bombay Tiffanys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bombay Tiffanys Hotel

Address: 313, Sayyaji Rao Road Cross | Behind Chamundeshwari Talkies, Mysore 570001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 80 hotels in Mysore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bombay Tiffanys Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Bombay Tiffanys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Tiffanys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.