We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whistling Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Whistling Pines Resort to your Saves list
Whistling Pines Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mashobra | Naldehra Golf Course Road, Shimla 171012, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
Vadodara, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Dear All Tourists

My title deliberately mentioned with "PUN" as you will find this place much far from Lift Shimala Mall road not only that if you have escaped from your home discipline you will find the one waiting for you like boarding school or a Gurukul,
every thing is available at a specified time and you have to plan your sight seeing etc accordingly or if your schedule is time bound than skip hot water bath as you can get that around 7,30 am
skip complimentary break fast which really good to very good but available after 8.30 am or may be 9 am, if you have stayed back forget about good lunch on time

location is very peaceful but one has to maintain lot of rules and regulation your car drivers are treated like a third class citizens food for them is in major case is left over from guests buffet left overs, my driver was educated and from a well to do family of Delhi he protested and was kept hungry for days together.

so go with self driving and if you want to enjoy discipline as stated above.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    9
    7
    24
See reviews for
56
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Staff is not co operative...they are not loyal to job.
When we spoke on phone with owner - replied loudly and shows no respect to the customer.
The rooms looked nothing like the pictures they present. The place was so bad that the Indian park benches would have been a better option.

Room Tip: I would not like to refer anybody to choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is faraway from the Simla town but none the less an ideal holidaying retreat.It provides romantic scenic beauty for the dwellers. The rooms are simple spacious clean & tidy. It provides the basic amenities to the travelers. The front desk reception is warm & cordial ,the house keeping services are fair enough. Mr Krishnakant is a warm & a jovial person & takes keen interest in the client satisfaction. Overall a peaceful & hospitable resort.

Room Tip: "All rooms are good choose any of them & you will feel like staying there for a longer:
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was here with my family for a holiday and we were really happy to be at the resort. the rooms are simple but nice spacious and clean. The view from the room window was mesmerizing.
the food is really good veg as well as non veg. the best we had was the dal and the aalo gobhi this is amazing and thanks to the chef foe making this so special.
the staff is nice and courteous. the best ppart was that my kids enjoyed the place and the stay.
thanks to Mr. Surya and the entire team for making this a memorable trip.
our best wishes to the entire team.
best rgds
gaurav

Room Tip: if you are planning a quiet stay and need some quality time to spend with family this is the place t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I had stay here for 2 days, the room was average , if you going to satay there dont opt room no avaliable on 1st floor, because all 1st floor rooms was bad but if you opt 2,3,4th floor room it was perfect, About food- A super declious food with good variety iin veg and non veg... i enjoyed alot while eating,,,,,for food lover its worth place.do go there and enjoy food...The staffs are very good and very co=operative.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Its the most abominable resort I have ever stayed at. Nothing as shown in pictures. Badly maintained and a joke when it comes to luxury. A small cake of lux and satchets of sunsilk shampoo for toiletries. Bad spread for breakfast. And in the middle of nowhere. Interior or exterior.. This place sucks big time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishan_wpr, General Manager at Whistling Pines Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We request you to kindly upload pictures of the hotel of the areas where you believe we have posted fake photos on our website rather than just try to defame the property with baseless allegations and callings us frauds.

We understand that you may have had an unexpected issue but we do not post fake pictures of the hotel anywhere. Also I would like to mention that the location of the hotel is in Mashobra on the Golf Course road which is clearly mentioned on our website and everywhere where the hotel is advertised. We are sorry to hear that you found the most scenic and beautiful area of Shimla to be a Nowhere.

Thanks and regards
Team Whistling Pines Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A beautiful and wonderful stay last week in Shimla at Whistling Pines Resort. The hotel has very warm and welcoming staff and the room was good and spacious. Bathroom was clean and so were the linen.
The food is very very good and you must try the butter chicken and the Tandoori chicken here. For vegetarians Dal Makhani is the best ever.
The view from the rooms is superb. Very well maintained and good location property. Spent good 3 days stay here.

Room Tip: Our deluxe room was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whistling Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Pines Resort

Address: Mashobra | Naldehra Golf Course Road, Shimla 171012, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistling Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistling Pines is a Boutique Resort nested atop the hillocks of Craignano situated 15 kms from the hustle bustle of Shimla Town. Offering the most fascinating and breathtaking views that will immediately transcend you to a different world of Imagination and Romance. The Resort also offers adrenaline boosts for its adventure loving guests by providing expert river rafting expeditions and Trek Tours of varied levels around Shimla. We have for you freshness and virginity of Pristine Nature, The first rays of the sun on your window sill to the subtle goodbye of the setting sun. Our wake up calls are given by many birds and sparrows and the sun greets the day. We look forward to having you with us to count the endless stars, to watch the moonrise above the apple orchards and to feel nature like you have never before. We are proud to welcome you to LUXURY IN THE SHADOW OF PINES! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Whistling Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistling Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.