We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place with lots of tasty foods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whistling Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Whistling Pines Resort to your Saves list
Whistling Pines Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mashobra | Naldehra Golf Course Road, Shimla 171012, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good place with lots of tasty foods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I had stay here for 2 days, the room was average , if you going to satay there dont opt room no avaliable on 1st floor, because all 1st floor rooms was bad but if you opt 2,3,4th floor room it was perfect, About food- A super declious food with good variety iin veg and non veg... i enjoyed alot while eating,,,,,for food lover its worth place.do go there and enjoy food...The staffs are very good and very co=operative.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    7
    6
    23
See reviews for
53
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Its the most abominable resort I have ever stayed at. Nothing as shown in pictures. Badly maintained and a joke when it comes to luxury. A small cake of lux and satchets of sunsilk shampoo for toiletries. Bad spread for breakfast. And in the middle of nowhere. Interior or exterior.. This place sucks big time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishan_wpr, General Manager at Whistling Pines Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We request you to kindly upload pictures of the hotel of the areas where you believe we have posted fake photos on our website rather than just try to defame the property with baseless allegations and callings us frauds.

We understand that you may have had an unexpected issue but we do not post fake pictures of the hotel anywhere. Also I would like to mention that the location of the hotel is in Mashobra on the Golf Course road which is clearly mentioned on our website and everywhere where the hotel is advertised. We are sorry to hear that you found the most scenic and beautiful area of Shimla to be a Nowhere.

Thanks and regards
Team Whistling Pines Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A beautiful and wonderful stay last week in Shimla at Whistling Pines Resort. The hotel has very warm and welcoming staff and the room was good and spacious. Bathroom was clean and so were the linen.
The food is very very good and you must try the butter chicken and the Tandoori chicken here. For vegetarians Dal Makhani is the best ever.
The view from the rooms is superb. Very well maintained and good location property. Spent good 3 days stay here.

Room Tip: Our deluxe room was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were staying at this property last weekend and had one of the worst experience ever. The rooms were unclean, the quilts provided stinked, unclean bathrooms, no exhaust fan in the bathroom, rude staff (the receptionist), food was pathetic, room service was very slow, phones did not work, very limited breakfast buffet options.

These guys did everything to ruin our vacation.

We had made an online booking and paid roughly 5000 per room per night (trust me you can get much better hotels/ resorts in the same amount). We wanted to check out of the hotel after 1st day and asked for a refund to which the owner blatantly refused.

My advise for all the travelers - please avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishan_wpr, General Manager at Whistling Pines Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Mam

Thank you for writing the review.

Let me start by saying that your room was booked for Rs 3500/- a night and not Rs 5000/-. Your husband was caught trespassing into the restricted areas of the hotel and when interrogated regarding the reason he started blaming the hotel and finding faults.

Of all the 8 rooms in your floor, the complaint for the common duct exhaust not being working was from you only whereas your husband was taken to the utility area to show the working exhaust system.

We understand that you may not have had the expected stay with us, but we have received threats through SMS from your husband that if the money is not refunded, you will be posting such reviews. We are sorry to inform you that we do not give refunds when guests stay at the hotel and later blackmail with bad reviews in case discounts and refunds are not given.

Thanks and regards
Team Whistling Pines Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hi,

Friend here is my experience about this hotel.
Its little bit far from shimla mall road but it doesn't matter when the location is good.
Rooms in this hotels are very luxury and specious. Food quality is very good.
If you feel that its far from mall road them how you'll manage so hotel management have cab services on chargeable basis. If you want to spend a peaceful moment with your family so this is the perfect choice.

Room Tip: Suite Rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A little away from the hustle bustle of main shimla, the place is truly picturesque. As if just out of a movie, truly felt we were in the middle of a forest with endless sight of beautiful pine trees. The staff was ultra polite and friendly and definitely very prompt. We there for a week and found the rooms, bathrooms clean and well maintained. The buffet spread is good for the price & while breakfast / dinner the staff rarely gave us an opportunity to get up, they were on toes serving hot parathas etc and even tea / coffee till the very the end. The best part was one of the partners, Mr. Krishna was there from noon till midnight attending to every small details of the guests, going out of his way and also advising day to day itinerary (depending on adventure sports or local sightseeing). Though he was not present in the morning, he would still personally call up the cab drivers and talk to them about the interests of the guests, and how to go around. To sum it up all i can say one of our BEST STAYS EVER....Khushroo Engineer

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer excellent views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishan_wpr, General Manager at Whistling Pines Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Sir

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are extremely happy and feel honored to hear that you really liked your stay with us.

While it is our utmost effort to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay and a great experience at Whistling Pines Resort, we are always looking for an opportunity to share our knowledge and experience of the locales with our guests as an effort to make their holiday special and memorable.

Let us thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we truly look forward to you next holiday in Shimla and we hope that you will give us the privilege of welcoming you at Whistling Pines Resort.

Thank you once again.
Team Whistling Pines Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is poor and only offset by some very good service. Yes the location of the hotel is good with great views. However the downside is that you are some way from Shimla and there is only way in along one road. If there is an accident on the road you can be stuck (as we were) for some hours eventually missing our train to Kalka.

The overall cleanliness of the hotel is poor. Our room was not clean when we arrived. The floors were covered in dirt and the bathroom was not clean. Amenities in the bathroom are virtually non existent down to toilet paper that for some reason was seen as a special request.

The hotel makes up for some of the downside by excellent staff who do their very best for all visitors.

Overall not a hotel I could recommend and not up to the standards of other even three star hotels in other resorts and cities in India

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishan_wpr, General Manager at Whistling Pines Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir

We thank you for taking the time to write the review.

We are really disappointed to learn of your experience and we sincerely apologise for the same. We are already looking into the reasons behind your discomfort as pointed out.

We hope that if given an opportunity again, we will not disappoint you and we would like to have you stay with us soon.

Thanks and regards
Team Whistling Pines Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whistling Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Pines Resort

Address: Mashobra | Naldehra Golf Course Road, Shimla 171012, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistling Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistling Pines is a Boutique Resort nested atop the hillocks of Craignano situated 15 kms from the hustle bustle of Shimla Town. Offering the most fascinating and breathtaking views that will immediately transcend you to a different world of Imagination and Romance. The Resort also offers adrenaline boosts for its adventure loving guests by providing expert river rafting expeditions and Trek Tours of varied levels around Shimla. We have for you freshness and virginity of Pristine Nature, The first rays of the sun on your window sill to the subtle goodbye of the setting sun. Our wake up calls are given by many birds and sparrows and the sun greets the day. We look forward to having you with us to count the endless stars, to watch the moonrise above the apple orchards and to feel nature like you have never before. We are proud to welcome you to LUXURY IN THE SHADOW OF PINES! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Whistling Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistling Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.