We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel near Shimla” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Villa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunrise Villa
Save
You added Sunrise Villa to your Saves list
Anandpur Road | Near rail under bridge, Shoghi, Shimla 173219, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best hotel near Shimla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is not in Shimla... I stayed there for 2 nights... Choose this one if you would like to escape for the crowd in Shimla. I had to pay Rs.300 for one way from Mall Road to this hotel. But its worth paying it as you will save on the accommodation. The hotel management helps in arranging taxi ride to go around Shimla. This more like a home stay. The view of the hills was great. You won't get see crowded Buildings... The place is actually a kilometer away from the Shogi railway station. I took RailMotor from Kalka to Shogi. So we told the driver to stop at Shogi. The other toy trains take you directly to Shimla. I have attached some photos I took from the hotel room

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    62
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
79
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This place is the best option to stay if visiting Shimla.We stayed in their family suite,which is spacious and comfortable.The furnishings are kept to a bare minimum but no complaints!The rooms are clean and hot water is available 24 hours a day,service is up to the mark.The view from the rooms is beautiful.for those who seek calm surroundings and quiet atmosphere,Sunrise villa is the place.Evening walks to the near by Shoghi railway station are memorable.The food is home made and very tasty,thanks to Mrs.Shalini Aggarwal.The whole Aggarwal family is very welcoming and very accomodating.

Room Tip: Choose the family suite if travelling with family..Good view and good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

we just stayed here for a day... but we so wanted to extend our stay but our itinerary didnt allow us... the view from the room is picturesque, simply awesome... get up early, enjoy sunrise from the balcony, sipping piping hot tea, it was a pleasant experience. You can also go for walk, it's a good way to indulge in untouched nature of Shoghi.
the food was amazing, we couldn't stop eating - dinner and breakfast served to us was very homely and yummy...

the best place to stay if want to stay away from hustle n bustle of main Shimla!

Room Tip: valley facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I would like to thank Mr. Munish Aggarwal and his wife for the warm welcome and the service provided to us during the stay. I has stayed there for 2 nights from the 29 January 2012 to 31 January 2012. It was the perfect choice for me. The hotel has a good location and a nice well maintained garden. But there must be a renovation according to me for the rooms and for the bathroom as well. Mr. Munish Aggarwal i would suggest that you could try to renovate all the rooms and give every room a touch especially in the bathroom, i would advise you to put a shower tap to replace the bucket as more tourists prefer to have a shower tap. There was also a paper sticked on the wall stating that WI-FI connection is not available in the room but only downstairs in the office, what i believe is not professional at all. Because nowadays everybody has got a laptop and having internet in their own room is a must for them and many hotels provide it with free of charge. I believe when any guests come to your hotel in the future, they should know the rules & regulations and would advise you to input that also on your website so that the guests could know that before booking the hotel. Overall, i would think once again before booking at the hotel for the price also. because i believe i could have got more better hotel at the same rate.

Regards
Kavi

Room Tip: Rooms are not so spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Hi Guys,

Yesterday only i returned from Shimla (10/02/12). After reading the review in Trip adviser i choose Hotel Sunrise Villa for my honeymoon package.

I still amaze that how this hotel got 7th position in overall Shimla. On what basis this decided even i dont know, Last time when i visited Kerala i select the hotel based on Trip advisor rating only. But this time i think i made some mis-judgement.
First of all this is not a hotel, this a house changed to Hotel kind. We choose the Honeymoon site in the 3rd floor, as the name suggest, the hotel was located in the top of the hill (shoghi), u can see the sunrise. Room size was ample for a couple. But rest all is not that worth. There is no room heater facility, if you need the heater it ll cost you Rs.200/-.
Regarding the food, as it was included in our package, it was prepared by the owner's wife (with 1 additional guy), it was a home food. But if you thought of having variety of food with your own choice than this hotel was not the right one.
Next is your package travel to sight seeing, in hotel itself they provide the sight seeing package. For local ss & Kufri trip they are charge you around Rs.1800/- but this might be less in out side, Even they are not having the vehicles on their own, they are hiring the car from outsiders so they try to keep some margin.
In overall if you are not bother about your money, then pls dont choose this hotel as it is only for budget ppl.

Also in my return to Kalka, initially i planned in the Toy train as it took 6 hrs finally i decided to reach Kalka in Taxi. When i checked the Office Manager (Mr,Ankur) he charged me Rs.2000/- for a Indica but if check in outside they will charge you Rs.1800/- for Swift Dzire with some additional local SS. So pls check outside & choose the package.

My intention to write this comment is not to say fault about the hotel & facilities. But the feedback which is available in the net & the actual are completely different.

Pls think before you choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd or 4th floor rooms as it will have the overall mountain & sunrise view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your review about Sunrise Villa Shimla.

We wish to clarify the points raised by you for the benefit of guests coming to Shimla

Sunrise Villa is managed by our family and three helpers, the same is approved by Department of Tourism, Government of Himachal Pradesh. We reside in the same Villa on the ground floor. We also have travel management Company " Sunrise Travels" which has additional staff.

Our rates, travel packages are all published on our websites with all details and sightseeing places covered and the type of vehicle provided. Hiring of taxi from us and meals are optional. We do not insist for this. All vehicles we provide are well maintained with drivers having complete knowledge of the area and cover all the sightseeing points provided and also act as a travel guide at the same time. The vehicles are provide for the full day, there is no time limit and you can use them as per your convenience.

We do not have our own vehicle but we take full ownership of the services provided and no guest has complained about this. Our services are worth the amount we charge for and we keep on fine tuning our services as per the feedback received from guests.

Room heater charges are extra @ Rs 100 per heater per night. You took two rooms and two heaters so we charged @ Rs 200 for two heaters.

We provide neat and clean homely hygienic buffet vegetarian meals only with the best available ingredients ( you can have a look in our kitchen) in our dinning room.

Breakfast usually has any one of the following in addition to bread / butter/ jam/ tea. Alu / onion / gobhi paratha with curd / pickle/ butter, alu poori, Chana Bhatura. This costs Rs 75 per person.

Dinner usually has 2 vegetables, 1 dal, rice, chapati / poori and pickle.This costs Rs 100 per person

On the return you took Tata Indigo vehicle for Rs 2200 which included Shimla Local sight seeing places like, Indian Institute of advance studies / army museum / Mall Road / ridge and dropping at Kalka Railway station. Ankur has quoted the same package for Rs 2000 for tata Indica car.

We always try to provide the maximum possible information to guest about our services at the time of bookings to make their trip a memorable one. All information provided on our website is also updated regularly.

Regards,
Munish Aggarwal
info@sunrisevilla.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Amazing place for stay you can go to Rohatang from here they will help you and they arrange Guide for you and the prices like 1000 or 2000 per day every thing available there in night you can go outside to visit the Market for buy such woolen things

Room Tip: Very good place for stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohali, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The stay was amazing. We liked the views from the room on the top floor and the large terrace. Food was also good but was served in the dining room. enjoyed the views and took lot of photographs.
Shimla city is a little far away but the city is highly crowded. We liked this quite place instead of Shimla. We did trekking to nearby Tara Devi temple. It took two hours but it is worth doing so. Do not forget to carry water along with you The trek starts next to sunrise villa

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Villa

Address: Anandpur Road | Near rail under bridge, Shoghi, Shimla 173219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
#6 Family Hotel in Shimla
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a good hotel / resort stay in Shimla, visit Sunrise Villa, a mini resort for affordable, economical, homely yet luxurious stay in Shimla in the lap of nature away from the congested city. Facilities include: drive-in-parking, lush green lawns, fruit trees, flower beds, peaceful surroundings with neat and clean environment and rooms, home-made hygienically prepared buffet vegetarian meals served across the dining table in the dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunrise Villa Hotel Shimla
Sunrise Hotel Shimla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.