We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellently located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Combermere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Combermere to your Saves list
Hotel Combermere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opposite Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellently located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is so well located and suited for visitors to Shimla because of it's lift from the taxi stand till the mall. The cafeteria serves really good multi cuisine food. However the breakfast is bad and so is the service in the restaurant.

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    134
    37
    7
    10
See reviews for
113
75
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The USP of this hotel is it's location. It is right on the mall with their own lift access. If you are traveling with small kids, might be a good idea staying here. We stayed here and did several number of to and fro to the mall without worrying about the time.

The rooms are small and congested so seem quite pricey.

Food at their restaurant is good but a little expensive considering that there are so many better options in the Mall itself. But yet again there is a convenience factor (esp if you are with small kids).

All rooms face the mall lift, so for privacy draw the curtains :)

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I didnt stay here but can comment on location etc. from what I saw. It is right next to the lift to the mall from cart road and its top floor opens up into the mall. Best location from that perspective. The rooms however seemed to have zero privacy if the curtains were open as people using the lift to the mall can see right inside.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The best part of this hotel is that you can be in the midst of the mall in exactly 5 minutes from you leave your room. Therefore you can spend late evenings in the mall without worrying much about commuting back to the hotel. It's next to the lift and has its own lifts to reach you to the mall. The lower levels of the hotel open out to the local taxi stand makes it very attractive for hiring cars and also reaching you luggage.

The hotel has one of the best continental cuisine restaurants (Cafe Sol) in Shimla. The in-house cooking is also good though the quantities are less as compared with the price. There are some cost cuttings with the quality of toilet consumables etc which was not required. With the prices it charges some more sophistication could be offered. The rooms are good and the hotel can offer a lot of privacy inspite the night clubs and restaurants it houses. The staff is courteous and efficient.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the upper floors to have a clean unobstructed view of Shimla. The nearby locations a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel rooms are very nice and will keep u warm even in the chilling cold of winter with it excellents central heating facility. The food was very nice and i specially liked its bakery located on the top floor. Moreover this hotel have its own lift for going up in the mall. Overall nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This the hotel you'll notice when you arrive in Shimla. The best property to stay in the city.
It has a direct lift to the mall. The property is very clean and tidy.
The rooms are well built and equipped. The hotel staff is well trained and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody who visit shimla.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We arrived in the evening via the train, and according the map, the hotel was very close to the railway station (1.5 km). There are no directions on how to get to the hotel. After nearly an hour of searching, we did finally find the hotel. To get to reception, however, you needed to take an elevator down from floor 8 to 0. The elevator was broken and only went down to floor 4, but there was no sign to indicate this. We had to wander around on the 4th floor until we finally found a staff member who helped guide us through the confusing property to reception. We checked in were lead back up to our rooms. The room was big, clean and comfortable with a nice view, but as it was right about the main street, it was very noisy and you can hear honking and barking cars all night. The next day we were called and asked if we wanted housekeeping (quite early in the morning), and we told them no, we didn't want our room cleaned. After a full day out, we came back to find many of our things had been moved (but the room had not been cleaned). This was the only hotel where you couldn't lock the room with your own padlock, and it seems someone let themselves into our room and had a look around. Later that night we ordered room service. The food was nice, but it was very strange as we had to call them when we were finished to come back, clean up, and pay. Every other hotel has just put it on the tab we pay at the end. If this is a modern hotel, why can't they do that as well? We were then harassed by the men in the room next door - knocking on our door and calling us telling us they wanted to talk to Americans. I had to call reception to get them to stop. Although it is convenient to be so close to the mall, the very high price is not even close to worth what you get in this hotel. Find somewhere smaller and cheaper where the staff know something about customer service!

Room Tip: If your room is lower and overlooks the road, it will be very load! Ask for a room toward the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Combermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Combermere

Address: Opposite Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Combermere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Combermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combermere Hotel Shimla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Combermere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.