We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Combermere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Combermere to your Saves list
Hotel Combermere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opposite Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were there at New Year's time. The Hotel made good arrangements for New Year and it was totally family crowd. For 2 days we stayed in family suite and one day at penthouse. Both the rooms were nice and spacious but the food was average. Also, the heating in the hotel started from 7 pm in the evening to 7 am in morning so if at other time you were feeling cold, all you could do is just to live with it. Staff there was hospitable. The best thing about the hotel was that there was a elevator connecting the Mall Road so we could reach out and roam on the mall road easily. The hotel has got a beautiful terrace where one could get a beautiful view of Shimla. Also, Cafe Sol served nice bakery, continental food and other cuisines, drinks and thus a good place to hang out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    152
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
132
82
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

One of the best hotel in Shimla with some of best views from room's window. Hotel rooms are nice, big and comfortable. Hotel staff is very generous and helpful. Food is not best but not bad either.
Its very approachable and is one of hotel in shimla with a lift which can straight take you to Mall.
Overall I enjoyed allot my stay in Comberemere Hotel. Thanks

Room Tip: Rooms away from Lift are good choice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were small, found the hotel layout congested and confusing. The food is good. Staff is ok. No a.c. in rooms so avoid visiting the place during summer season. The advantage of this hotel is the elevator connecting The Mall road.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

In Shimla, combermere is one of the top properties available. I came here for a get together. The hotel provided me a pent house which was regular two bedroom affair with a common lounge. The rooms were pretty nice and even the food. The main attraction is that it has a direct lift to the mall road. Even it situated just at the right location in Shimla. So I would give it a must stay if you are here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Whenever I think about SHIMLA, only one name comes in mind for stay i.e. Hotel Combermere because its location is just perfect. I always prefers to book the family suite, which they have only 2 rooms in their hotel and you will find jacuzi inside the bathroom in your room. Food is really tasty. Value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here on my honeymoon trip for 4 nights, and was delighted by all the aspects - be it service, the location, the room offered, and overall responsiveness of the staff.

Special mention for the food - it was an absolute delight! No matter what you try, the quality and taste was simply top class!!

They decorated the room beautifully upon my request, and I would remember that experience forever...

Location of this hotel is a big plus - I would stay this is the best option available in Shimla because of the connectivity and the quality it offers.

Look forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: Go for higher floors with valley view
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Food is osam. Room service excellent. Location is a major plus .will definitely recommend.hotel lifts are little bit confusing .u have to change 3 lifts toget to mall road.staff is coperative .always take rooms on the higher floors .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Combermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Combermere

Address: Opposite Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Combermere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Combermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combermere Hotel Shimla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Combermere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.