We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Combermere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Combermere to your Saves list
Hotel Combermere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opposite Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
montreal qc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hotel with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The location is perfect. It is at the end/beginning of the famous Shimla Mall. One access to the hotel is from a street level public Parking lot and the other entrance is from the famous Mall, about 8 storeys above the street level. There is a private elevator from the street level that takes you to the reception. We drove from Chandigarh so the parking facility at the foot of hotel near an elevator was very convenient.

The check-in was smooth and friendly and we had a large, nice, clean and comfortable room with views of the city and hills. We had our tea in the Mall-level cafeteria that bakes and serves excellent pastries. We also had our good pizza dinner there one night.Our wholesome "paratha with yogurt" breakfasts and dinners were served in the main dining room on 3rd floor terrace level.

It is pretty safe facility and also safe to walk the Mall in the evening with the usual Indian hustle bustle all around you.

We enjoyed our short stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    152
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
132
82
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in Pent House 0n 1st Sept.12,the location ,room ambiance,house keeping amenities are good, but in the tariff range of above Ten thousand we expect coffee-tea maker in the room but not available.The water in taps are very dirty for bathing,wait for 20 minutes to clear the mud coming from taps.
The location of hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The best confectionary in town, a delightful menu serving authentic delicious cuisine and service that's impeccable....Combemere is a treat to visit. The terrace restaurant has awesome ambience and a great way to spend the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Well, we went to shimla and had a small doggie with us who we were taking around in a Pram since she doesnt trouble/bark/bite anyone. Firstly, there is no place to sit anywhere in Shimla to even have a decent cup of tea! Nevertheless we went to Combermere and requested the manager there to allow us to eat something while we place the pram next to us with a small doggie in it... he said alright to it and asked us to take a seat in the corner of the restaurant so as not to disturb anyone. It was not even lunch time, it was 4pm.... we agreed to it since we were hungry and wished to eat and then drive back to kasauli where we were staying. Sadly after sitting down and going through the menu we called the server to take our order. Instead we had the manager who came and said sorry our management saw the dog in the pram through the CCTV. After this blatant lies where the manager mentions to us that "Oh i didnt know it was a dog in the pram", Why would someone ask him for permission if we had a baby in the pram instead?? Before this, we requested to use the loo (since this hotel is right next to the elevator), to which they retorted very arrogantly (not even being polite) "No, either dine here or do not use the loo" This really displayed how Unwelcoming the locals of Shimla are to visitors since no one seems to be helpful. And with regards to hospitality from this hotel... being a hotelier i would never recommend this to anyone.

When someone says No to something in hospitality, it should be substantiated with an alternate. Clearly this management does not really have the basics correct so i would'nt blame them for being No. 13 on TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Its the best hotel if you would like to visit Shimla and be off and on on Mall.It has a private lift to Mall Road.Rooms are good Service is good.This hotel should be given full marks for its location as one can just walk on the Mall at any given point of time.....Staff is helpful and all sevices are as per standard of a 4 star Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The stay in combermere is a treat for sure, but I can't say much about that as we have our home in Shimla and we stayed there.
We went here for dinner with our parents and were pleasantly surprised by the choice of food available.
The food was fresh, delicious and left us wanting for more. Their scrumptious pastries served as a grand finale. If you step out of the restaurant, towards their lift, the view is to die for... a beautiful place...must visit in Shimla.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is very close to Mall road and that is all about it !
but what are we up to... when we go to a hill station.... nature, tranquility...serene.. well ! this is not the hotel to stay in for that. The front desk is at the lower road and upper floors are near mall road... and they operate their own lift for that. the view from the hotel is pathetic as there is taxi parking arount this hotel... many a small buildings ... pipes... taxies is all one can view from hotel. front desk is not that warm and food is on costly side.. but surely gives wide variety.. one can expect lots of noice from the parking area...
their are better hotels in shimla...

Room Tip: Higher floors are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Combermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Combermere

Address: Opposite Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Combermere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Combermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combermere Hotel Shimla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Combermere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.