We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired looking but pleasant enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Shimla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Shimla to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Shimla
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Goodwood Estate | Lower Bharari, Shimla 171001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A little tired looking but pleasant enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We didn't have great first impressions of this hotel when we arrived. It looked a bit tired and well used and not really up to the standards of other Radissons we have stayed in. You also needed to be quite fit as the hotel is built into the side of a hill and getting to the restaurant involved quite a long walk down (and back up) innumerable staircases only some of which could be by-passed with an elevator.

However, the hotel did grow on us during our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly and there were some very nice touches such as the laundry being returned beautifully packaged up. The evening buffet in the restaurant was also very nice and good value.

Overall, its not a special hotel but if you want somewhere reasonable in Shimla for a night or two it is fine.

One final point to beware. Shimla is very, very, hilly and to get to the town from this hotel (and probably from almost all the other hotels in the town) involved a stiff 15-20 minute uphill walk. We did enquire about using a taxi but were told that, because of the traffic restrictions in the town centre (one of the things, by the way, which I really liked about the place) this wouldn't really give us an advantage.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    267
    72
    19
    28
See reviews for
246
229
18
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had 2 night wonderful stay at Radisson Jas.

On arrival, the special Traditional Shimla Herbal Tea… wow great experience along with very happy and smiley faces at reception and very helpful staff.

Its I think a bit far from market place, but they had shuttle service, and a walk from Mall road after your full stomach dinner to hotel… great experience..

A very well arranged and planned hotel and has got all Radisson standards.

Breakfast..variety of food served by smiley faces.., excellent services.

I would say if we are again in Shimla… again in “Radisson Jas”

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms on the first floors to avoid many numbers of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel to celebrate my first anniversary last week. The hotel is located at just a 15 minute walk from the mall road. All the views from the hotel, including the view from our room, were amazing. It is well maintained the all the staff is very polite and courteous. We were treated very well and it seemed that everyone cared for us! The breakfast buffet was nice with something in there for every one. The dinner buffet was good too but I think it was a bit overpriced at Rs. 1,200/-. The rooms were plush and comfortable.

It was a memorable stay with everything just right. I would recommend everyone to stay here on their next visit to Shimla :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent service. High marks to the staff, especially those at the Cafe Valley Vue. The chef on duty (20 November 2012) introduced to me the Jalebi with Rabri which I politely declined. Later on without being asked, he cooked the Jalebi (unsweetened) and brought the dish to my table. This time I tired and turned out to be very delicious. Deeply impressed. This morning at breakfast, Naveen took time voluntarily introduced all the Indian food on the buffet table. I tried all of them and found some to my liking. Thanks again to these two gentlemen and all at Radisson Shimla for an eye opener and a happy stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel has fabulous views across the mountains. The rooms were very clean & comfortable, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The food was also very good. But the roads around Shimla are steep and the driving breathtaking - we had to catch taxis to the Mall as a couple of our group had altitude sickness; and finding a taxi to return to the hotel after an evening meal could be difficult.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a good view, and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel has to be one of the best in shimla. Service was excellent. Very helpful staff. Rooms were of the best quality. Only improvement could be their fitness centre which was very small. Also charging for drivers should be complimentary.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Radisson Shimla is an excellent Hotel with all the facilities available of highest standard. Apart from being a steep walk away from the Mall, the rest of the features were impeccable. The staff was very courteous and they provided me an early check-in with a complementary room upgrade.
Room was very spacious and well decorated. I found the mini-bar well-stocked and averagely priced. Guests can do well by avoiding car-rental service and activity planning by the Hotel as that is pretty expensive. Rather availing it from the tour operators in the city and bargaining for it will prove to be light on pocket.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Shimla

Address: Goodwood Estate | Lower Bharari, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#4 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#5 Business Hotel in Shimla
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#12 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Hotel Shimla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at an altitude of 2200meters above mean sea level, amidst Cedar forests the Radisson Jass hotel has 59 well-appointed suites and guest rooms overlooking magnificent mountains, beautiful valleys and dense pine forests. The finest resort in Shimla with a recreation area featuring among other leisure facilities, our resort has an all day dining restaurant with a selection of Continental, Oriental and Indian specialties opening into a garden that overlooks the magnificent mountain ranges and valleys, bar with an Open deck terrace offers gorgeous views as well as a choice selection of wines and spirits and Round the clock dining offering selection of Indian, Oriental and Continental cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shimla
Shimla Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Shimla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.