We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners' Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toshali Royal View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Toshali Royal View to your Saves list
Toshali Royal View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Munda Ghat, Via Kanda Ghat, Kufri Chail Road, Shimla 171012, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Honeymooners' Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have stayed here 3 times. Twice before my marriage and once during my honeymoon. This place is approx 20 Kms from proper Shimla, near Kufri. The hotel location is excellent, amidst heavenly scenic surroundings, and most importantly completely away from any market or hustling areas.

We normally stay at the Royal Duplex rooms. They have 2 washrooms, 1 kitchenette, 1 master bedroom, another living cum dining room with a compact sofa cum bed, 1 balcony. There are TV in both rooms.

The restaurant is rather small, hence I prefer In room dining. Food is good. They also have Jacuzzi/ SPA and indoor games parlor.

The local sightseeing taxi union office is just 10 seconds from this hotel. Most convenient to book a taxi as the rates are fixed and reasonable and hence no headache of bargaining etc.

The staffs are very professional and cordial.

The only negative point (although actually the reason why I book this property!!) is that it is far from Shimla market or mall. SO every time you need to visit these places you either need to hire cabs or take the buses used by locals for public transportation.

I would love to go back there over and again and would strongly recommend to every visitor.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms that are on higher floors and close to elevators for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    75
    33
    16
    12
See reviews for
101
63
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stay for 2 nights 5 to 7 Jan 2014 in this hotel and book for MAP plan though travelguru, i got beautiful room the service was unexpected, thy have arrange welcome drink, cake, and cookies in our room, the buffer Breakfast and Dinner was yummy :) as it was my anniversary, they really made it spl. just love the way they care for they customer. would diff plan my second holiday with family in the same resort.

Thanks
Deepa Bhandare

Room Tip: if want to travel in Jan, request for hot water bag, its very use full as the temp is dam low :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is surely a home away from home. The hotel is located in a very scenic location, on the tip of the valley is a huge value for money keeping the room size, amenities and super duper service by the entire staff from kitchen to reception to vehicle arrangements. The local sightseeing taxis union office is just 10 seconds from this hotel and they also charge reasonable value. Most convenient to book a taxi as it is so close. The rates are fixed and reasonable and hence no headache of bargaining etc. If you are lucky ( we were ) , you'll find snow in an around the entire hotel's parapet's. Truly wonderful delight to see the snow so close to you. Food is excellent and they have a fantastic room service staff. Very humble, polite and helpful. On the final day of our stay, the staff specifically made dry packed breakfast to carry off in the early morning as we had to leave very early in the morning to catch a bus for onward journey. I really liked this gesture. The room house keeping was prompt. Linen was clean. The room had 2 heaters. A good quality television for toddlers with good clear reception of signal. I have visited many hotels in other parts of the country e.g. goa, etc. but this hotel near kufri is easily the number 1 in my list as far as value for money and services go. You could actually think it of as a 4 star hotel instead of a 3 start, due to its dedicated and polite staff. Great hotel - a Home away from Home indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed there with my family for 4 days from 31/12/13 to 3/1/14. Good comfortable stay with nice clean rooms and a fantastic view of the forest and hills from the balcony. Food is delicisious and services prompt. Appreciate the warm smile and the 'Namaste' on the lips of the Resort staff whenever you come accross them. The only inconvenience we faced is approaching the resort as the road via Kufri from Shimla was closed due to snowfall and we had to take a detour thru Junga which is another 20km more. For taking couple of days rest in a quiet amience this resort is highly recommended by me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I would rate this hotel as one of the best for couples & for those who would like to spend time in nature. Located on Kufri chail location this resort have everything which will make you feel happy. Excellent food, awsome customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

A fantastic view from the room very neat and tidy . We went dec 25th 2013 and kids enjoyed the most . the only drawback is it is very far from shimla mall road but near to kufri .Food is good .and staff courteous .

Room Tip: The duplex rooms were good with good verandah view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I travelled to Shimla with my wife and kid, in Dec 2013 from Delhi. We had a booking with Toshali Royal View hotel through a travel package. Since the hotel is located outside Shimla town and closer to Kufri, we had to call and ask for directions repeatedly. There are no direction boards to the hotel. Adding direction boards will definitely help a new person driving through those unfamiliar areas.

We finally reached the hotel at night, around 8pm while the temperature was about 2 degrees Centigrade. The staff was accomodative in collecting our luggage from our vehicle. I would however recommend the hotel reception to ensure that the guests are first made comfortable before asking them to fill in details at the reception itself. After travelling through the freezing weather and for more than 8 hours, the least the hotel could do, is to usher the guests into a warm room and provide them with hot beverages first and then complete their formalities of filling in the guest details.

There were other guests too in the hotel who were celebrating b'day party and also having some dance fun. I would recommend the hotel to have a seperate entertainment room rather than having the dining area double up as an entertainment area too. There would be guests who may want some peace and quiet.
The food served during dinner was cold. However when I walked up to the in-charge of the dining area, he assured me that he would microwave my food and will be served hot next time. Now that is a basic check that a hotel could do before serving food to guests. The staff in the dining area were however helpful in providing food to our tables. They also enquired if we needed anything else.

The room was pretty ok. We had booked a studio room. So I would expect atleast some basic utensils, which was not there. The room was large and a single room heater was definitely not serving the purpose. I asked for an additional room heater, but was told that only 1 room heater is provided...irrespective of the room size ! Even if a single room heater is provided, I would recommend the room heater should have the capacity to warm up the room based on the room size.

Our stay was ok, but I would rather look for another hotel next time which pays importance to finer details of customer satisfaction. The proximity to Kufri was an advantage. It takes about 15-20 mins to Kufri to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toshali Royal View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toshali Royal View

Address: PO Munda Ghat, Via Kanda Ghat, Kufri Chail Road, Shimla 171012, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toshali Royal View 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Toshali Royal View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toshali Royal View Hotel Shimla
Toshali Royal View Shimla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toshali Royal View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.