We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Shimla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toshali Royal View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Toshali Royal View to your Saves list
Toshali Royal View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Munda Ghat, Via Kanda Ghat, Kufri Chail Road, Shimla 171012, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
delhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel in Shimla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

It was really a great time I spent during my vacations at Shimla. I stay there at Toshali Royal View Resort. The resort takes care of each and every need of its guests. The staff was pleasant and very caring. The location of the hotel is very lovely. I was totally satisfied with all the latest facilities provided by the resort. I loved to be there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    25
    15
    12
See reviews for
86
51
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visited this place with lot of expectations, after staying in Toshali,s Puri resort but were highly disappointed. The property is not maintained and there are no activities and all the major tourist spots of Shimla are very far away. Rooms are very ordinary and privacy is a concern coz most of the rooms are interconnected. Holiday can be very boring if going without any good company. The only saving grace is the food and the extremely friendly and always smiling staff. Each and every person there is always ready and willing to help you. Would not prefer to stay there again but will always miss the staff there.

Room Tip: If still u prefer to stay there, then all the rooms are valley facing and have good view. Be cautiou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Toshali over the weekend in a month of may and observe that property is mismanaged due to the interference of the owner in that property called Toshali Royal View......
no one in a position to take any kind of decision.
We also found that the room service Indian food was well below par for a top Indian resorts . (Naan bread was tiny, Biryani accompaniments were incorrect. ice creams Flavors were low/marginal.) food spread is normal,nothing great

We had a few mosquitoes in the room that caused some discomfort to two of us - however, housekeeping responded quickly to rectify the problem when summoned.

This Beautiful Resort can run with 5 star experienced Management with himachali background Who are able to understand the problems visitors are facing at far away from their home, in that case So the hotel should be easy to live in & to get better business - in future.

The hotel staff is very receptive. Service levels are very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited Toshali over the weekend and had booked 2 rooms. This property is around 26 km from Shimla, but we knew that all along. The hotel looks good from outside, but the rooms have poor furniture. The toilets are clean and thats about it. We had a minor issue in the rooms and had to struggle getting it corrected. In the end we were given studio rooms after talking to the manager, who was helpful. During the two days of our stay there was no cable connection (supposedly the cable wire was stolen). There is absolutely nothing else to do. The games room is very poorly equipped. The health club can barely be called a health club. The food at best is OK. The staff are friendly but very slow to respond. Spa on the day of our booking was supposedly booked, but when we went there it was locked and opened only on the next day.

Room Tip: if going there book the studio apartment and bargain for the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

First of all, Toshali is not nestled at just a "30 mins" distance from shimla. It is around 24kms away from the main city which means it takes not less than 1hour to get there. Secondly, the hotel and everything about it is over-rated here because neither the ambience nor the food or anything else about this place is extraordinary. If you look at the restaurant menu, paucity of items along with sky high prices will leave you dumbstruck. The dusty carpet in the room, lack of jet facility in the loo, pathetic room service and housekeeping are add ons to your grievances. To top it all, the Toshali "Royal View" can only be enjoyed from behind the window or in the night because during the daytime, host of monkeys will make it a completely disastrous experience!

Room Tip: "Rooms not accessible to monkeys are better"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

An absolutely enamoring experience at Toshali resort!! Highly courteous staff members, an amazingly delicious food spread, beautiful rooms and a must stay hotel!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Delightful ambience and a number of entertainment options to choose from.... Amazing for all ages, groups and events.
My best wishes to everybody associated with the hotel so that they can keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I am surprised every site and review has ignored the fact that this hotel is 1 hr+ away from Shimla! It should be mentioned as being in Kufri or Chail like others are!

Will recommend looking for better options closer to Simla, unless u dont care for the Mall at all.

The property in itself is pleasant enough, with large spacious rooms, each with a picture perfect view and basic amenities. The staff is as a rule q friendly and helpful, and we had no complaints on that regard.
The food was ok, but v limited in choice, and v expensive, (100rs for a paratha in b/f! meal for 2 costs 800 types)

Also, a lot of small things are missing like,

1. no jet/shower in the WC in bathroom, no table in the room - where to eat? no ashtray, no bar menu (or even the food menu in 1 of the rooms we had)
2.Hygiene was a big issue - we literally had to chase them for getting the kettle cleaned in the room.
3. Monkeys are a big menace- u hv a view, but u cant keep the balcony open bcs they'll just attack ur room. it hpnd with us 3 times.
4. They hv given connecting doors v thoughtfully from inside the rooms, which is q convenient for groups like ours was, but the doors do not close fully, so its a total loss of privacy as voice carries q clearly, and the slits allow easy spying upon one...

I can go on, but i ges u guys get the picture.

Despite all these shortcomings, i still rate it as average bcs the view in itself redeems a lot of discomfort, and unless u go for a v high end resort, indian tourist destinations always short change the travelers...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toshali Royal View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toshali Royal View

Address: PO Munda Ghat, Via Kanda Ghat, Kufri Chail Road, Shimla 171012, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toshali Royal View 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Toshali Royal View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toshali Royal View Hotel Shimla
Toshali Royal View Shimla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toshali Royal View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.