We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel (VERY GOOD) , LOCATION( VERY BAD)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shimla Havens Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shimla Havens Resort to your Saves list
Shimla Havens Resort
Gahan, Summerhill, Shimla 171005, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hotel (VERY GOOD) , LOCATION( VERY BAD)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

To start with , The Shimla Haven's resort is far away from the city centre , And the drive to the hotel from the city centre is dangerous especially if you usually drive in the plains ,
But again having your own car is an advantage if you want to see the places around ,
Now the Good points ,
1. View (Breath taking )
2 . Rooms (Amazing )
3. Staff ( Very well trained and courteous )
4 . Food ( Good )
5 Value for money (A bit expensive as compared to the standards)
6 . Location ( Dicey on what to say , It is surely a beautiful location , So location is the best and the worst part )
7 . Buffet breakfast ( Very good )

Surely visitng again when next in Shimla .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Shimla. It is wonderful to read that the hotel's location, our services and facilities were to your liking. Your positive feedback means a lot to the entire team.

Regarding your concern about the downhill drive to resort is concerned it is adventurous not dangerous for a person who does not have much exposure of driving in Hills, but be assured that apart from having the downhill drive there is nothing dangerous but yes of course it is driving test for a person driving first time downhill. There are two options for our guest either to try this drive or ask the assistance of resort for check Inn by sending the vehicle to the main road and trained driver who can assist the guest to drive the car to and fro from the resort. But take my words 90% of the people go with the first option.


Thanks for recommending Shimla Havens to the future travelers and glad to know that on your next visit you are again giving us chance to serve you. Looking forward to welcome you again at Shimla Havens.


With Warm Regards,

Jyoti Guleria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
69
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

stayed at Shimla Havens for two night in Jun end , as part of a package. we liked the location, which was quite a distance from Mall area, surrounded by greenery. having our own car was a definite advantage, although the drive to the hotel was tricky.
room was clean and spacious (in spite of an extra bed), service was prompt and courteous. complimentary breakfast had reasonable variety for vegetarians...not much non- veg options except toast and eggs to order. dinner was basic, though the non veg preparation was good.
best thing about the hotel was the glorious view from our room including the sunset!

Room Tip: we liked our room on the first floor...great view, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Vasundhara,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Shimla. It is wonderful to read that the hotel's location, our services and facilities were to your liking. Your positive feedback means a lot to the entire team.

I have made a note of your point about missing the non veg items in breakfast, shall convey the same to our F& B team and I hope you would find the additions on your next trip with u
With Warm Regards,

Jyoti Guleria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

stayed at Shimla havens for three nights with family.overall had a nice and comfortable stay.
resort staff is very courteous and hospitality is good. yes its too far from the ridge. daily taxi will cost 700 for pick and drop.the taxi service needs to be complimantry atleast. food is good in quality and taste.overall had a great time . thanks.

things to improve for hotel
1. complimentary shuttle service to the ridge
2. wifi connectivity
3. need to add swimming pool as this place is secluded so once you are back from ridge you cant go anywhere near .
4. room cleaning was not upto mark.same bedroom sheets were used .
5.the driver on our way back dropped us on midway and not onto the main road. and we lost our way after that.we wasted 30 mins after that to reach main road.
6.the gardens attached to room should be private. its a combined garden and every traveler is trespassing your garden to travel to the back of other room.

Room Tip: rooms with small private garden are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for Taking time to share your experience on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Shimla Havens Resort. I am pleased to hear that you found the services at The resort professional and the quality of the food was up to the level of your satisfaction and our team was able to deliver the services up to the level of your satisfaction. I am obliged that you have written the words of appreciation for my team.

You have correctly said that we are far from ridge, This was the basic idea to develop a boutique resort away from the main city centre yet close to city so whenever the guest intend he can visit the city in no time. You will agree with me that charging INR 700 for pick up and drop is very genuine price we offer from the resort, since guest spend around two to three our on The Mall road and almost for half day the services of the car are blocked for the guest. Let me ask you .. can you get you a car for 700 Rs. For half day…. I am sure you will appreciate our gesture that the motive in these transfers is not to earn the profits but to deliver the services considering that we are a countryside resort.


Regarding you suggestions to improve on the services , all your suggestions have been forwarded to the respective departments for immediate follow up, apart from providing the facility of swimming pool you will see that all the other suggestions will be considered on priority for the follow up , so the future travelers can enjoy all these services. Please keep on guiding us so we may improve on the areas where all our guest thinks that we have to, to deliver more to the guest while they stay with us at Shimla Havens.

With Warm Regards,

Jyoti Guleria- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Shimla Havens is beautifully located property at Summer Hill area way too far from the Mall Road. it also lies on the wrong end of the Mall Road and this is almost a 40-45 mins drive to the lift considering the traffic. the property is located in a very isolated place and thus a private car is a must as taxis charge atleast Rs. 450/- one way to the Mall.

the rooms are nice with great height and are also Air Conditioned. Food is very Expensive as ofcourse they would exploit the locational advantage and is average. Service is slow as they were really short staffed. Once you're in the hotel, there's practically nothing really to do except watching tv.

Book this hotel only if you just want to be with yourself as there is nothing around!!

Room Tip: Room 301 offers the Best View!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for Taking time to share your experience on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Shimla Havens Resort. I am pleased to hear that you found the rooms interiors and the view from the resort upto the level of your satisfaction.

I have noticed that you have mentioned that you faced some service issue regarding the room service and you were apprehensive that it was because of the service staff. Let me assure you that no such limitation is there at our premises as we are serving our guests with around 40 person for just 21 rooms. It could have been because of the full occupancy at the resort and you might have decided not to avail the buffet meals and might have ordered for Ala- Carte meals. It might have been taken longer to serve your order in time. I sincerely apologies for the same, shall ensure that services has to be delivered in the promised time to our valued guest.


As far as the activities at the resort are concerned, please feel at home once you are at Shimla Havens, do interact with the people at resort, ask them about the activities to do. Tell them that you are not there to watch TV. Most of the time all these things are briefed at the time of check Inn as well by our Front Office and reception staff as well but quite possible this time they missed it in your case. There are around 15 to 20 soft adventure activities at resort with the services of trained mountaineering Instructor, of course these activities are nominally chargable. Apart from soft adventure there is table tennis, badminton,Carom Board, half Basket ball D, nature walk as well.


If you do not want to do either of them just take small walk around resort only which is surrounded by Thick Deodar forest, explore the village nearby by yourself or ask the reception or activity instructor to escort you. Next time when you visit Shimla Havens do not watch TV get yourself involved in something which you do not do when you are back to your place.

With Warm Regards,

Jyoti Guleria- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Shimla Havens is secluded and that is what is best about this property.

The check-in was smooth, staff very courteous. Food is limited but excellent and any request you make will be tried to be accomodated by the restaurant staff. The overall hospitality at Shimla Havens was excellent and we wish we had stayed there a day longer.

The only drawback about this property is that they had very little for children to do and we would have loved to have some more things for children to do as the property is not easily accessible.

Room Tip: Most rooms are excellent. Just check for an AC beforehand, if you are in need for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Maneesh,,


Thanks for Taking time to share your experience on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Shimla Havens Resort. I am pleased to hear that you found the services at The resort professional and the quality of the food was up to the level of your satisfaction and our team was able to deliver the services up to the level of your satisfaction. I am obliged that you have written the words of appreciation for my team who were serving you at restaurant, I shall convey the same to all of them, since such types of appreciation are the true rewards we get from our beloved guests, when they go back with a smile and remember us.


Your comments mentioned the limited activities for the children, I would like to update you that we have small play area on the ground floor, which you might have seen and apart from this we have half basket ball D, Badminton, and soft adventure activities and table tennis and carom board. If the age group of the children is between 10 to 15 they can go for nature walk, and Zipline and Burma Bridge crossing as well. I am not sure whether you were able to interact with our Adventure Instructor on the same or not. If not I shall ensure that these all activities are briefed well to all our guest at Shimla Havens. Although every room has a folder of activities available at the resort but I am not sure if you were able to check the same or not.


At the end I would like to thanks you for the valuable inputs shared for the refinement of the services at our resort , we shall look into the same and try to improve on the same in future.

With warm Regards,

Jyoti Guleria- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have booked this hotel after seeing the reviews on trip advisor, we have contacted the owner of this hotel & booked through him. We were told that this property is spread in 6 acres & it is a resort. When we reached the hotel we are shocked to see the size of the hotel. We were told that they have big lawns where you can play cricket, football etc. But the fact is it is a small hotel having 21 rooms & two small lawns, Pictures attached.

The hotel is 6 kms away from the mall road, the approaching road to this hotel is very narrow you have to be very careful while driving to the hotel.

They claimed that this property is two years old but it is not maintained specially the bathrooms. We have taken Deluxe Suite Rooms (Top catageory of this hotel).

The hotel is located at a very peaceful area surrounded by beautiful hills, here you can relax & enjoy the beautiful sceneries.

The food quality & staff was good they are very flexible regarding food & if you ordered of your choice they never say no. Hospitality of this hotel is very good, Mr. Dev Raj is taking care of restaurant & Mr. Jyoti is a General Manager they both are very nice & taking care of everything.

Overall our stay was good we enjoyed a lot.

My advise to this hotel are as follows:

(1) Stop promoting your property as RESORT.
(2) Add few activities like billiards, spa / swimming pool ect.
(3) Improve the quality of rooms & bathroom

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite Room (View from this room is very nice).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for Taking time to share your experience on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Shimla Havens Resort. I am pleased to hear that you found the services at The resort professional and the quality of the food was up to the level of your satisfaction and our team was able to deliver the services up to the level of your satisfaction. I am obliged that you have written the words of appreciation for me and my team. Such types of appreciation are the true rewards we get from our beloved guests, when they go back with a smile and remember us.


On the other hand I have noticed that you have mentioned few concerns regarding the resort and its area. Let me clarify that no doubt presently we have only 21 rooms operational in first phase but 31 more rooms are to be added very soon to the resort inventory very soon. You might have noticed the space around our premises is entirely the resort property and the planning is to be develop the same is the phases so that the guest does not gets annoyed by the ongoing works at our premises. As far as lawn space is concerned let assure you that we are the property with the maximum open area in Shimla having not only Two lawns but three big lawns which has the capacity of accommodating minimum 100 people per lawn in the open area and 7 small lawns which are personal lawns of garden rooms at the ground Floors. You can see the photographs the fellow travelers have shared on the same platform. Apart from these developed lawns we have around 10000 sq ft of area which we have kept as such since soft adventure activities are done at this area and is walking distance from parking. Be assured that we are one of those resort in Shimla which boasts of having the maximum open space around the premises.


As far as maintenance of the rooms are concerned, we try our level best to provide the highest standards of the health and hygienic accommodation with the best quality Lenin and best quality toiletries at our resort keeping in view the guest preferences are requirements. Being the high peaks season there are possibilities there might be some maintenance issue into the Suite which you were occupying, had you informed our housekeeping department we would have definitely looked into the matter, but I have personally checked with the housekeeping superiors about the same but did not found any such concern shared with the department. However we are sorry for the inconvenience caused because of the same but be assured the same has been looked very thoroughly and no such maintenance issue is there.
At the end I would like to thanks you for the valuable inputs shared for the refinement of the services at our resort , we shall look into the same and try to improve on the same in future.

With warm Regards,

Jyoti Guleria- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I visited the hotel with my family. It adressed my first concern i.e. parking.
Secondly the property is newly build and very well mantained - impresive. The property is surrounded by pine trees, you feel real shimla (hill station feeling).

Food quality is good with no oil and high masalas.

Overall impressive stay and value for money.
Regards,
Sanjay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShimlaHavensresort, General Manager at Shimla Havens Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for Taking time to share your experience on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Shimla Havens Resort. I am pleased to hear that you found the services at The resort professional and the quality of the food was up to the level of your satisfaction and our team was able to deliver the services up to the level of your satisfaction. I am obliged that you have written the words of appreciation for me and my team. Such types of appreciation are the true rewards we get from our guests.

Please do visit us again, we shall be happy to serve you again at Shimla Havens Resort.


With warm Regards,

Jyoti Guleria- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shimla Havens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shimla Havens Resort

Address: Gahan, Summerhill, Shimla 171005, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort has 21 rooms, out of which 4 are garden rooms with personal garden, 8 deluxe rooms with big bay window and valley view, 6 deluxe suites with traditional wooden interiors and 3 presidential suites offering one living room and one master bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Shimla Havens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shimla Havens Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.