We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a perfect place for a perfect holiday.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla to your Saves list
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chaura Maidan, Shimla 171004, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rs. 12,000 per night
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
rampur
1 review
“its a perfect place for a perfect holiday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

i really like the food,service,cleanliness&rooms of the hotel.
all the staff members were also very homely n friendly.
its a perfect place for peace of mind.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Thank you for taking time and providing review of our hotel. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable holiday in Shimla.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
srikant.peri@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    138
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
225
289
26
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel is a fabulous place to escape the bustle of Shimla. The rooms are luxurious and we particularly enjoyed the amazing indoor pool. Food and service in the restaurant are top rate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Thank you for taking time and providing review of our hotel. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable holiday in Shimla.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
srikant.peri@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

this is the best hotel in n around shimla i have seen
i been to shimla many time
but this time i gone there fr new year i have very gud time there
this is best place in shimla location is ausome n the atmosphere is gr8

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Thank you for taking time and providing us valuable feedback. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable holiday in Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This is the best hotel we've ever stayed in....it was just outstanding. The children had a fantastic time, as did we all. The staff were very helpful, very very polite and caring. Our youngest son had the spicy rogan josh for dinner and his mouth was suffering a bit (!), and the very caring waiter went immediately and got him some yogurt without us even requesting it - the food was delicious and outstanding, and the service was excellent.
We would recommend at stay here to everyone, and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Thank you for taking time and providing us valuable feedback. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable holiday in Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathankot
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

The Oberoi Cecil in Shimla is an Paradise in Himalayas..Perfectly all right..really no problem we face in reaching and living there..kids enjoyed a lot..Himachal Pradesh is a beauty on the earth and the gift it has given is known as Shimla..awesome journey and that too with difference...had a good service there..the hotel have proved to be a star in its class..the group is in itself a big brand in hospitality sector and it deserves a pat on the back as have maintained the status of a quality with trust..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Thank you for taking time and providing us valuable feedback. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable holiday in Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

breathtaking. I love this hotel, best for couple, very quiet and wonderful views. I went outdoor yoga with 1 on 1 instructor, very nice experince and then we went on a horse riding and went to spa together as well. the room we got was a suite with a fireplace in the room, our butler was so very attentive, he was there all the time. I took wonderful pictures but forgot to take pictures in the room, too bad.

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cecil, General Manager- The Oberoi Cecil at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Thank you for taking time and providing us valuable feedback. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable holiday in Shimla.

The response seems to be for the Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas (an Oberoi Resort). Your generous comments have been passed on to Mr. Robert Mason, the General Manager there (robert.mason@oberoihotels.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

This Oberoi Hotel is small but very elegant .The cool Simla climate and the
beautifull location of the hotel added to the romance.

The service was very good and the food excelent .The staff even gave us take away breakfast when we checked out .The tarriffs are quite reasonable

The rooms are sparcious and the decor very nice and cosy.The fireplace was the most happening spot .Since the hotel is in the centre of the town one could do lot of sight seeing and shopping easily.The view from the hotel was breathtaking.Every couple who go to Simla should stay in this hotel

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Thank you for taking time and providing us valuable feedback. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable holiday in Shimla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Address: Chaura Maidan, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.