We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla to your Saves list
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chaura Maidan, Shimla 171004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Old world charm hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

Oberoi Cecil is a part of the old world, with the decor and atmosphere matching the colonial times. However, with all modern facilities like internet connectivity, gym, swimming pool (a great heated pool on the basement, which opens out into the valley), comfort is well taken care of. All in all, a good place for holiday or for business.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    155
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
253
347
35
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
traveling
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

From the view of a 13 year old.
I am 1 of 4 kids in a family of 6 and we stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Shimla. We used these 3 days to rest up for our next two weeks that would be very hectic and rushed. It was a great place to chill; the hotel offered a large heated indoor pool, a gymnasium and a kid’s room with toys, free video games, foosball and a baby’s area. The town Shimla was a great place to walk around with a variety of shops and great views! The restaurant at the Oberoi Cecil offered continental buffet breakfast and an a la carte menu for breakfast and for lunch and dinner they offered both an Indian and a western menu (both were delicious). They offered transfers to and from the airport in their Honda CRV’s. O ya and the airport was the scariest in the world to land in. It is on top of a flat hill and when we landed we smacked into the ground then bounced off the runway. The Oberoi Cecil was a great hotel.

Jet Privelage Number = [--]

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

If you are want a place to go for your honeymoon please select this hotel, the staff will make you comfortable and you can relax. Near to the mall and very old hotle yet very nice.

  • Liked — Old is gold
  • Disliked — Monkey please donot open the windows
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

As this good good reviews we decided to splash out on a heritage experience , but were disappointed. Firstly the hotel has been so modernised that from the inside it has lost all its character.. you wouldn't know it was an old hotel. Secondly the location is not good.. it is a long 1.5 km uphill walk to the mall proper, and as you can't take your own car & there are no taxis, we had to walk - at the price we paid we felt they really should offer a free drop off with their hotel cars. The dining experience was not great .. the dining room is like eating in a corridor, with musak, and the vegetables were undercooked. We wished we'd had a snack in the bar which looked a little more cosy. Where they really fleece you is on the other facilities eg internet Rs150 per 30 mins vs Rs10 in town (Tip :HPTDC office in the mall has good internet connection with a/c); pedicure in the spa Rs1700 vs Rs 200 at the Willowbanks Hotel on the mall.
The rooms are small but nice, and Valley View is lovely. We had a balcony but you can't use it because of the "monkey menace".
All in all, we wished we'd opted for the old Clarkes Hotel which is cheaper, more characterful and muc=h more centrally located on the mall.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

This hotel gave exactly what was needed, a relaxing holiday. this hotel is a great place to go if you are looking for to relax. the staff is extremely helpful, and the rooms are just great. the staff is helpful with everything, and the food is simply delicious. the pool, fitness centre and recreation centre are great places to chill, while the lounge near the lobby is the place to be is you want a quiet time.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Having booked this hotel in advance before travelling to Shimla it turned out to be a very disappointing experience. The standard of the hotel is rather Sheraton than Oberoi. Our first room was a premier valley view room which turned out to be extremely noisy as it was directly facing the next to the hotel highway. We then switched rooms to the other (entrance side of the hotel). The "premier rooms" are nice and spacious. However the bathrooms though clean should be renovated. The dissapointing thing about this hotel is the very average service and foods. For example: When my we went to sleep the first night we were surprised to notice that the bed linen was not clean. Something I would not have expected in an Oberoi. The next day however I was even more surprised that the linen was not changed by the housekeeping. Also in the pool area the pool boy did not help to place towels on the deck chairs or helped to rearrange them so two persons could relax next to each other. Instead the watched the scene and smiled and came later to ask for the room number. When we mentioned that we would leave the hotel at 6 a.m. and we asked whether it was possilbe to have breakfast, the answer was: No, the restaurant opens for breakfast at 7:00 a.m. Also the quality of the food leaves much way for improvement. Though not bad it is nothing special - and again not matching Oberoi standards. Also the choice of the breakfast buffet is very small. I could continue this list with shortcomings of the Oberoi Cecil... Expectations were only met by the receptions staff, which was helpfull, friendly and efficient. My recommendation: If you want to stay in a great place with a peaceful surrounding not minding a 10km ride to Shimla and spending some extra money chose Oberoi Wildflower Hall instead of Cecil. We just went there for tea, but the first impression of the hotel is much, much better. Cecil calls itself an Oberoi hotel, but offers just Sheraton standard.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Its a very very different property almost like a heritage property and well maintained. The view is awesome had a pool view which is also opening to the garden and partial view of mall and the busy road below and picturesque mountains.

Place is expensive but amongst those where you save money to go and stay at a place like this. they don't really have any great deals so you have to shell out the money but it is well spent!

Service is just right warm and non-intruding . its right on the mall so what can be better- the only 5 star on the mall, Radisson is far far away! Avoid july if you want to explore shimla more as rains are incessant and roads get slippery!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Address: Chaura Maidan, Shimla 171004, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.