We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable ambience & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla to your Saves list
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chaura Maidan, Shimla 171004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable ambience & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel is simply the best! The staff are so well trained, professional and friendly with the lobby and rooms being just wonderful to experience. Overall the hotel has a fantastic ambience and we were so glad to have revisited it after a period of 8 years. It certainly should be considered by everyone. The views from many of the rooms has to be seen to be believed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Your generous appreciation is motivating for my team and me.

I thank you for sparing time to post your review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    155
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
253
346
35
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We could find no fault with this hotel.All the staff seemed proud to work here and were friendly, efficient, and charming.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous appreciation and time take to post review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation is motivating for my team and me.

Regards.

Sraikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Oberoi Cecil is excellent in all respects. Staff are exceptionally well trained and give perfect, friendly service without overpowering guests. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are unfailingly helpful, warm and welcoming. They really make you feel that they care about you and are proud of their work and the hotel.

Food was top class (including perfect poached eggs!) and interesting inventive choices at all meals, served by knowledgeable and interested staff. We had to change rooms and this was done with the minimum of fuss by the housekeeping staff who were excellent throughout.

All in all, a great experience in probably the best hotel we have stayed in in 40 years of travel worldwide.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to post review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation is generous and is motivating for my team and me.

Our staff is our most valuable asset. I am pleased that they could make a difference and make your vacation memorable.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My my what a beautiful hotel this. So spotlessly clean,the service is second to none. By far the most obliging, helpful,courteous and polite staff I have ever come across, and all with the most wonderful smiles. Nothing was to much trouble, absolutely 1st class in all areas. All the staff made my stay wonderful. Thank you to everyone, I am looking forward to my next visit with you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Your appreciation of our hotel, its product, services and the staff is most generous and motivating.

My team and I are pleased to note that you intend returning back and look forward to welcoming you to your home in Shimla.

Please do let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning the trip.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Having stayed overnight in an absolutely dreadful hotel, it was a sheer delight to go to the Cecil. Staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough to make my stay a happy ad memorable one. My room was lovely, housekeeping services were good and also the food. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to post generous appreciation and recommendation of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you were pleased with the services and facilities on offer and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Superb hotel, fantastic location and superb customer service

Room Tip: Our room was on road isde but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Your brief appreciation of our product and services is very motivating.

I thank you for sparing time to post your review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
The Oberoi Cecil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I love staying at Oberoi hotels when I am in India. My favorite Oberoi was in Bangalore, I say was because The Oberoi Cecil in Shimla is now my favorite. I spent two nights here in early October 2011 while travelling through India for work. I had a free weekend, I was in Chandigarh, so I decided to make the trip up the Himalayas to Shimla.

The welcome I received was great! My guest checked in earlier with no problems and when I arrived, there was a nice cold glass of watermelon juice and pure comfort. We got a city facing room which was great.

While at the hotel, we took advantage of the spa, the restaurant, the pool, the movie rental capacity, the drivers, pretty much everything. There was not a point where I was not satisfied. The staff always went above and beyond! They were concerned about our stay!

Very rarely in North America or Europe can you get this type of service. In India at Oberoi's and Taj properties, I expect good service - but The Oberoi Cecil just stepped up my expectations! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Any room will get you a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to post generous appreciation of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you were pleased with the services and facilities on offer and look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Address: Chaura Maidan, Shimla 171004, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.