We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Crazy Bathrooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodville Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Woodville Palace to your Saves list
Woodville Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raj Bhawan Road, Shimla 173206, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
east coast
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Crazy Bathrooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

A nice old 1930s built house converted into a hotel some years ago. Convenient setting slightly above the town, with pleasant gardens and nice old trees. A large extension being built but as with so many Indian hotels, perhaps they should improve the existing accommodation before building more! Good sized bedroom with inadequate pillows, couldn't get the TV to work, bedside light not working. The bathroom was very odd in that they had built a low wall around the huge shower, but the curtains were 6" too short so water poured everywhere. The flooding was made worse by the fact that the shower drain was an open pipe and hole on the floor of the main bathroom, so the floor was permanently flooded, and very slippery. Going to the loo in the night was quite dicey because of this. The reception staff were a bit grumpy and the waiting staff useless, but trying. We went into the restaurant to have lunch and having been left with the extensive menu for some time, when we came to order we were told the ovens hadn't been turned on so everything was going to be at least 30 minutes - we had a very average cheese sandwich instead. I'd like to go back the Shimla one day, but would probably chose a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at Woodville Palace, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We were sad to hear of your experience. We are in the process of renovations in a phased manner and have 3 rooms which have been completed this month.

We do hope you try our new rooms in the future.

Kind regards,

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    71
    34
    18
    20
See reviews for
72
62
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I utilized the coupons to Visit Shimla at the Woodville Palace.
While the property has a lot of history, and glamour as the Erstwhile Royals are still in residence, the state of upkeep of the property leaves a lot to be desired.
The size of the rooms is understandably the typical Hill size. Some aspects of service leave a lot to be desired.
1. At check in the Desk Staff was disappointed that we came with Card Vouchers, as they would be paid much later. I explained to them it was not a "free Junket" as I have spent a lot of money to earn these rewards.
2. The Bedrooms had no Pillow Covers or Towels at Check in. The same had to be demanded.
3. The cleanliness of the Bathrooms left a lot to be desired. The Pots were Dirty as were the walls in the corners.
What was excellent was the food at the Restaurant as well as the Garden Restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at Woodville Palace, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our apologies for the short coming during your stay. We have taken measures to ensure your comments have been addressed.

We have passed on your positive feedback to the chefs.

We do hope you will give us an opportunity to extend our true hospitality in future.

Kind regards

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Pros - proximity to the mall road (15-20 mins walk), away from the crowd
Cons - bad service, staff always in a bad mood, bad breakfast, average room service food, rooms in a bad condition (guess they are renovating)
AVOIDABLE...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at Woodville Palace, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sad to hear your trip was not satisfactory. We do hope that you will give us another chance to extend our hospitality post our renovation.

Kind regards,

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Shimla was our first stop in our hill station tour and Woodville was recommended by a friend. Our first impression was that it looked wonderful. It was a palace and it had royalty written all over it. We stayed in the deluxe rooms for 3 days and found the service just all right. The place is quiet and the food is not the best. A good place if you want to stay for a few days. For the service, felt that the price was a little too high. Otherwise, good stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at Woodville Palace, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing a review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay. We will incorporate your comments on service into our next training session.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our stay at Woodville was pleasant. The property really looks like a palace and is majestic. The rooms were nice and spacious and the service was prompt. Being our first stop in our hill station tour in India, I guess probably expected more from a hotel of this category. There was nothing wrong in particular, but I guess we just didn't tell in love with the place.
However, for a weekend, it is a good place. Recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at Woodville Palace, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a 'Deluxe' room - After looking through dozens of Shimla hotels with hygiene issues as per the reviews, we finally settled on Woodville Palace as it looked like the best option within our budget, but boy, was I disappointed!

The good:
- Vintage factor, since this is a former palace. The royal family's stuff and photos are all over the place and you're free to look through if you like.
- Rooms were very spacious.
- Peaceful location and pleasant 15-minute walk to the main market area (the Mall).

The bad:
- Really old rooms, smell musty.
- Very poorly maintained bathrooms - the one in our allotted room had stains and cracks, so we asked to see a few other rooms - the situation was as bad in all four rooms we saw and the staff was indifferent! The photos speak for themselves.
- Service is slow and some of the staff still hasn't lost the air of 'royalty'.

I've personally stayed in better rooms / hotels in India / abroad for lower prices and this hotel just seems like a case of neglect / disinterest on the part of the owner. It could do so much better!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the car parking, esp. the ones on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at Woodville Palace, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated our heritage. We are in the process of renovating our rooms and facilities and hopefully will be in time for your next visit.

Kind regards

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Its a heritage property allright, but the maharaja's would have shot them for their shoody service! The morning tea take a good 90 mins to reach the room from the time a call is made to the kitchen, and calls reminding that an order was placed go ignored. Having said that, The property is by all means(all other means ) is an excellent one. The fortress of the maharaja of jubbal is located at probably the best place in shimla. Right on the road which has the governer house, as well as the chief minister's residence. The Mall road is walking distance(if you're one for slightly longer walks). When the food does arrive, boy is it delicious. Everything is fresh and piping hot. They have a limited menu, but they have perfected every dish down to the last grain, which is something I appreciate about this place. The hotel is probably one of the only few which can boast of having a lawn on its property, which is ideal for you to laze around with family. They hold a barbeque if they have enough occupancy, and it is worth every penny you pay for it! I wouldn't mind giving it a try again, but they definitely need to work on their service.

Room Tip: Try out their suite, its really big and well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divrajjubbal, Owner at Woodville Palace, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing comments on TripAdvisor.

We have forwarded your feedback to our chefs and service staff. We take pride in our hospitality and were delighted to read your comments. We will look at improving our service.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Divraj Singh Jubbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodville Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodville Palace

Address: Raj Bhawan Road, Shimla 173206, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodville Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodville Palace houses 31 rooms, inclusive of the royal cottage and royal suite, which have been tastefully decorated into theme rooms. In the tradition of most heritage hotels, no two rooms are alike in decor and yet they offer that same high quality service and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Woodville Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodville Palace Shimla
Woodville Palace Hotel Shimla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodville Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.