We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Shimla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapslee

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chapslee
Save
You added Chapslee to your Saves list
Chapslee, Shimla 171 001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Shimla
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Place in Shimla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you are a history buff and value premium top class hospitality this is the place.

We stayed in Chapslee for 5 days and its been one of the best holiday stays. The house itself is steeped in old world charm, every single antique, photograph is well chosen and has a story.

The hospitality of everyone working there is something we did not expect, they really treat you like royalty. There is nothing they cannot get you and that too in complete style.

We were given a big room with a 4 poster bed and great mountain and sunset views. We cld have stayed another week just to enjoy the silver service of tea, the gins and tonic in the evning and the gorgeous food.

I think every one who is interested in the Raj history must stay in this place to get a real feel of what it was like then.

Shruti

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
56
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It was like living in a museum. But at the same time it was like staying in your friends' house - the owner is welcoming and atmosphere is very warm. We enjoyed a lot this experience including the kids. They loved the collection of weapons and coins as well as delicious food. The location is great with a lovely view over the mountains. The house has a very nice garden with a bunch of friendly dogs. We stayed in the Grand suite and it is very spacious.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolhapur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We absolutely fell in love with this quaint,charming summer house (palace) of the maharaja of kapurthala ... if you are a history buff this is the place for you... a relic of the raj , tastefully decorated with original antiques and tapestries .. everything about the chapslee is enveloped in old world charm , indulges you and makes you feel like royalty ..
The owners themselves play the perfect hosts and we felt more like house-guests , they shared insider tips about simla and around , that greatly helped us plan a perfect itinerary ..

As we bid adieu to the owners and family and other guests ( and the lovely friendly dogs that are absolutely adorable ), it felt more like parting from old friends ,,,
All in all a holiday straight from the history books,,, one we will never forget ,, chapslee memories will last a lifetime ...

Room Tip: The girls got the pink room ,, which they loved everything about , we got the yellow room , both we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days. Longer than we expected. The owner and his staff are very friendly and know what they are doing. There best interest is to give their guest a good service and nice Holliday. This shows in everything they do for you just to make you feel comfortable. Besides that the rooms are amazing.I make my trip advised from him travels Shimla.



con no-9816088388

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

After nearly six hours slow progress in a very overcrowded toy train, followed by a further hour of our taxi driver fighting through the dead slow and stop of the much misnamed Shimla 'rush' hour, the gates of Chapslee closed behind us. In a second we had moved into another world. A world a century apart from the rush and crowd outside. A world of welcoming charm, led by the resident band of Labradors, that immediately swept away the memories of what had been a long day.
Having been accepted by the dogs, we were more formally welcomed by 'Reggie', who offered refreshing tea (or something stronger) and a choice of rooms. After a difficult decision (spoilt for choice) we were immediately surrounded by the charm and friendliness of the house and its amazing staff. It is easy to say the Service, with a capital 'S', was outstanding from start to finish, but even such a statement falls short in describing a level of courteous attention that in so many places is now but a distant memory. Our room was large and wonderfully 'comfy', the meals, which we were invited to choose, were delicious and beautifully served with a mixture of flavours that lingered gently on afterwards. Although much of our too short a visit was spent exploring Shimla and its surroundings, we always knew the peaceful sanctuary of Chapslee was waiting to welcome us back.
We are not strangers to India, our stay was at the start of our sixth, extended, private visit to the sub-Continent, but Chapslee was undoubtedly one of the really great experiences from those visits. Thank you Reggie, and your staff, for such a truly memorable stay as 'guests' within your own home, Chapslee .
Robert and Morag Watson

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Where do we begin? Well when we walked in, being shown around by the charming Ms Alka, as we went from room to room all we could do was go 'Wow!' It is truly unique- I don't think there is anywhere like this left in the world. My husband and his cousin were re - tracing their grandparents steps- they lived in India- their grandmother's family had actually lived there for many generations. We knew that they moved in the same circles as the Maharaja and spent summers in Shimla- most likely visiting Chapslee. We found it just as they would have which was amazing and we were able to experience exactly how they would have lived which surely has to be totally unique. We were treated like royalty. The staff are there when you need them but discreet and quietly spoken. Nothing is too much trouble. The attention to detail is astonishing with this mix of old and new. For instance in the bathroom cabinet is everything you could need, all brand new. Toothbrushes. , toothpaste, body lotions, aftershave, etc not your average hotel shampoo and shower gel -no way !
The owner sent his apologies as he was called away on business but we had the run of the house as the only guests. We experienced afternoon tea served in a silver tea set with China cups, a roaring fire lit in the drawing room after dinner, fabulous food that just keeps coming and someone goes into your bedroom and switches on the electric blanket so it is warm for you ! The beds swallow you up- its impossible to get out of them- like sleeping in clouds ! Thank goodness for 'bed tea' put discreetly on a table in your room before breakfast to tempt you out of bed...Really although Shimla is fabulous to walk around with stunning views but you could be forgiven for never leaving the palace and just soaking up the atmosphere and decadent uniqueness.
When we left the staff lined up to say goodbye, but they felt more like friends than staff..."Nameste" Chapslee and Thankyou for the privilege of letting us stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were there in mid March 2014. The pomp and pagaentry of this house is so uniquely Chapslee. We were greeted warmly after a long drive from Delhi by Sharma. Special mention must be given to your staff for providing an efficient and memorable trip, particulary your service staff - Somnath, Subash and Deepak who have pampered us like we have never experienced before. Thank you so much for your kind hospitality Reggie. - Joyce n C.Y. Singapore

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.5 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#16 of 98 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krish Rauni Resort
Krish Rauni Resort
#4 of 98 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#12 of 98 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#10 of 98 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#18 of 98 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapslee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapslee

Address: Chapslee, Shimla 171 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#4 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chapslee Hotel Shimla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapslee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.