We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shimla -AAPO AAP HOME STAY :COZY,COMFY,SAFE,FRIENDLY,PERFECT SIGHSEEING,SOOTHING SILENCE. IN THE LAP OF NATURE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aapo Aap Home Stay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aapo Aap Home Stay to your Saves list
Aapo Aap Home Stay
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Aapo Aap Building, Near Sargheen Chowk | Lower Panthaghati, Shimla 171009, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 94 Shimla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shimla -AAPO AAP HOME STAY :COZY,COMFY,SAFE,FRIENDLY,PERFECT SIGHSEEING,SOOTHING SILENCE. IN THE LAP OF NATURE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Property is excellent, with a picturesque sight in the background, mix of green forest n bald patch of hill mounds, sun soaked bedrooms n drawing room makes u feel at home n with nature. gr8 stay but at a fraction of the hotel stay.

Though far from Shimla city... n that's why its in the lap of natural beauty.

Room Tip: seeing is believing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
66
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very pleasant experience. Owner was very happy to accommodate our every request and even provided a mobile phone while in Shimla. nice clean and big rooms with views of the hills and valley. A little out of town however easily accessible by either public bus or taxi. as this is a homestay the place is rather quite however a refreshing change from the busy and noisy hostels. we virtually had a wing of the house to ourselves. would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have stayed with my family from 26th to 30th December 2013. The place is amazing with excellent views of valley. Our stay has been memorable. The place being away from Shimla by about 15 kms, offers serenity and just right for people who enjoy staying away from city's chaos. Shivi with his ever smiling and helping attitude is a big support for the guests. He even helped us with our itinery

Veg food is personalised and absolutely enjoyable (non-veg not available).

For techno crazies.... no wifi available; which I think is a positive - you n family are alone with yourself and nature and have all the time to catch-up the lost time in city's busy schedules

Overall, an excellent stay and kudos to Shivi for making our stay wonderful......Donot forget to try their home made mango pickle.... While stying there, suggest visiting the nearby monastery. Having own vehicle is a definite plus point

Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends...

BM Rao
Mumbai

Room Tip: All rooms are valley facing. Staying in higher floor helps to move luggage easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Was her just for a couple of nights and loved the experience. Very beautiful home with beautiful view of the hills. Simla is 7-8 kms from here and not a lot to do close-by except enjoying in the lap of beautiful mother nature which is the best part. Food is good, very friendly people around and friendly host.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for three nights with four people (two 30, two 60+) in November, after a recommendation from friends, and we were very happy and satisfied. Beautiful location, 20 minutes drive outside center of Shimla, nice big terraces, nice garden, nice view, royal and comfortable rooms, clean, quiet. It is a very big family house, with extra rooms for guests. The appartments were independent accessable and gave full privacy. We were received by the son of the family. He was very friendly, and very helpful, which gave the whole stay a very pleasant feeling. On request, we could have diner in the families house, cooks were available, the food was very nice. It is really a nice place to calm down from the hectic Indian life. Shimla center is easily reached by (very cheap) cab, all arranged by the son.
Definitely highly recommended!

(only one very little minus: the beds were a little bit hard. But the beds did have electric heating, which was very nice, since the winter nights can get a bit chilly)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. The owners were kind and helpful, even coming to find us on the main road after we got lost on the way. The food was tasty and plentiful, but for us one of the best things about staying here was the incredible view. Our room looked out on to a huge terrace that commanded amazing views over the valley beyond.

I would say this is probably more of a guest house / hotel than a homestay, but we very much enjoyed it. Food was served communally in the dining room with other guests, which we really liked as it was nice to chat. The breakfast was great, and we recommend the Indian option!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was not to our liking and we didn't think the reviews reflected this home stay, this is our personal opinion of course. We chose to find alternative accommodation and we left Aapo quietly and politely.. Shivi was a very nice man and did not accept our offer to pay for dinner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivi S, Director at Aapo Aap Home Stay, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Wish you had spent atleast 1night/day here. Happy travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aapo Aap Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aapo Aap Home Stay

Address: Aapo Aap Building, Near Sargheen Chowk | Lower Panthaghati, Shimla 171009, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aapo Aap Home Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aapo Aap Home Stay - a family run homestay accommodation, is part of the initiative taken by the Himachal Pradesh Government to promote rural tourism & stands duly registered with the Himachal Pradesh Tourism Department. Guest rooms are clean, spacious & sunny with open-able windows and are equipped with satellite TV, broadband internet connectivity (on request), hair dryer, tea/coffee making facility & attached balcony/terrace. All have clean private bathroom with wall mounted/hand shower, hot water geyser, modern toilet with western seat & bidet. All rooms come with fresh bed linen, fresh bath towels, quilts/blankets, toilet paper roll, bathing bar, shampoo, liquid hand soap. Meals are available on advance notice of atleast 6 hours. Distance from our homestay: Mall Road - 10 Km, Shimla Railway station & bus stand- 12 Km. Taxi charges Rs.400-600 For one side trip. Bus charges Rs.10-15 Per person for one way transfer. Shared taxi costs Rs.20 For one side trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Aapo Aap Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aapo Aap Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.