We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aapo Aap Home Stay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aapo Aap Home Stay to your Saves list
Aapo Aap Home Stay
Aapo Aap Building, Near Sargheen Chowk | Lower Panthaghati, Shimla 171009, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 87 Shimla B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. The owners were kind and helpful, even coming to find us on the main road after we got lost on the way. The food was tasty and plentiful, but for us one of the best things about staying here was the incredible view. Our room looked out on to a huge terrace that commanded amazing views over the valley beyond.

I would say this is probably more of a guest house / hotel than a homestay, but we very much enjoyed it. Food was served communally in the dining room with other guests, which we really liked as it was nice to chat. The breakfast was great, and we recommend the Indian option!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
60
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was not to our liking and we didn't think the reviews reflected this home stay, this is our personal opinion of course. We chose to find alternative accommodation and we left Aapo quietly and politely.. Shivi was a very nice man and did not accept our offer to pay for dinner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivi S, Director at Aapo Aap Home Stay, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Wish you had spent atleast 1night/day here. Happy travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was there on 6th / 7th Oct -13. Something very positive about the place and people: 1) Shivi was very descent. 2) View was awesome. 3) Home cooked delicious veg food 4) Big spacious room 5) a big balcony to sit and relax. 6) Very good price point.. Some of the areas which were below my expectation ... 1) Far away from the town 2) Somehow I was not comfortable the way how we were treated when we entered the property... bit cold and exposure to some of Shiv's personal "worst" experience he had with his guests.. ( found too personal!!!) 3) Very lonely at night !!! doors are not properly secured... ( But later on I came to know Shimla is a very safe place) 4) No intercom .... 5) Three big pet dogs around. ( I am not too comfortable with pet dog...)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivi S, Director at Aapo Aap Home Stay, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for liking the price range, room with balcony and home-cooked food.

The distance of Aapoaap from the town centre, the surroundings and the fact that we are located in a peaceful locality on the outskirts of Shimla which is well connected by public transport, as well as our love for dogs is something that was communicated to you a good 3 months before your arrival and the same is written on our website.

I wish you could have shared your security concerns with me while you were staying - with lights all around the property and 24/7 generator power backup, doors securely locked, iron grills on doors and windows and the guards dogs (which you don’t like). Security of the property is in our self interest because our whole family resides on the same property and we can’t afford to compromise.

Your happy night partying on the terrace was, I felt, a compliment to the property.

Kind Regards,
Shivi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We felt that this Homestay lacked the 'home' part! We were ushered into our room at the basement of the house and told we were welcome to use the garden. In the house we were taken into the dining hall. Even the kitchen was off limits which made me sad as I would have loved to watch and gain tips from the food prep! We felt awkward being in the home and more comfortable in our room. That said, Shivi's parents are two of the nicest people we've met in India, lovely people.

The room was huge although it was a shared not ensuite bathroom which for the price was a disappointment.

The real positive was the food, inexpensive simple and delicious. The portion sizes were for generous, too.

The Homestay is out of town so you need to take a taki down mountain roads, close you're eyes if you're not an adrenaline junky as the roads are narrow and Shimla has many mountain roads. It is incredibly peaceful here, the sunrise was amazing and every morning monkeys wake you with their play. The scenery is stunning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivi_Singh, Director at Aapo Aap Home Stay, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you. I want to profusely thank you for taking time and reviewing your stay at Aapo Aap.

I wish, however, that you had shared your concern while you were here instead of showering praises at that time and fuming now. It would have been useful to both of us. Nevertheless, I will address your major concerns as under:

1. First about the misconception of your being in the basement! Aapoaap architecture is on the hill design model of Terrace Style of Construction wherein rooms are constructed in steps of terraces so as to leave open view and spaces in front of every room. Your room had a private balcony & sunrise valley view – that shows you were not in the basement. You had booked a twin room which is on the lower terrace. Had you booked the double bedroom or suite, you would have been on the upper terrace. Had you expressed a desire for change of room, I would have gladly done it as I had other rooms available at that point of time.

2. So too about your misconception of the bathroom being shared. You know from the description of room given on the internet that the bathroom with the room you booked is “Private Exterior”. And so it was – the washroom was exclusively private, outside the room albeit inside the main building. If you wanted bathroom “ensuite”, you should have booked the room accordingly or else you could have asked for up-gradation of your room on arrival.

3. We have put up a “No Entrance” sign on the main Kitchen door because of hygiene concern and disturbance to the cooking staff. We have arranged cooking class for guests on previous request and would have loved to do so for you also. All you needed to do was just to ask!

4. We are glad you liked the room offered per say & found it comfortable. We are happy to know that you liked the home-made food. We also have special diet prepared on request – Lactose and/or Gluten free, Jain specific preparation, Pure Veg. and traditional Himachali dishes.
On an end note, thank you for your sweet words about my parents. That only shows that you were at “Home” and not in “Hotel”.

Hospitably yours,
Shivi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was the first time that we opted for a homestay instead of a hotel, and we were very happy with our decision. When we arrived at Aapo Aap, we were impressed by the stunning views that the property had to offer - step out into the balcony and you are surounded by valleys on three sides ! Adding to it, the rooms are very big, neat and comfortable and the decor is very beatutifully done. Shivi and his family are excellent hosts and go to lengths to make sure that their guests feel comfortable in every aspect. We enjoyed spending time with him discussing many things over food in the dining room. The breakfast and dinner served is just awesome. And yes, the staff at the homestay are amazing too - very courteous and helpful. For a couple scared of dogs, we fell in love with Coco- Shivi's quiet and very sweet Irish fetter..

We were sure about not taking a place in the busy Mall Road area in Shimla and wanted a peaceful place instead, and although Aapo Aap is a good 10 km from the city, it perfectly fit our needs. It was my wife and I who visited this place this time around but we are sure to return to this wonderful place with our families early next year.

To people who want peace of mind and want to spend some quality time with their spouse/family, I would strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good and very well done ! So, dont worry much about the choices :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shivi S, Manager at Aapo Aap Home Stay, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience. Your views are valued & appreciated. Looking forward to have you with us again.

Warm Regards,

Shivi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

To start with, shimla is an extremely hectic place (dont let the serene photos fool you). Aapo homestay though is extremely calm, and extremely welcoming. The service staff, the driver guys and the owners are a fantastic bunch of people. The best part: the views from the guestrooms. totally out of this world. Food: many restaurants around the area, so we decided to eat outside (didnt try the food here)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Shivi is one of the most welcoming and professional hosts we've encountered during our trip to Himachal this summer.
He will not think twice before going the extra mile to assist a guest and make him feel comfortable and safe,
for example, lending a guest a cellphone so he could stay in touch while out in town, or paying a sick guest visits and bringing him food to the room.

All the rooms we've seen are very spacious and clean, and the view is beyond words.

Just bear in mind that you'll need a car while here, since it's a 25 min drive to town, a fact that we considered a blessing rather than a nuisance.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Shimla.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aapo Aap Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aapo Aap Home Stay

Address: Aapo Aap Building, Near Sargheen Chowk | Lower Panthaghati, Shimla 171009, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aapo Aap Home Stay - a family run homestay accommodation, is part of the initiative taken by the Himachal Pradesh Government to promote rural tourism & stands duly registered with the Himachal Pradesh Tourism Department. Guest rooms are clean, spacious & sunny with open-able windows and are equipped with satellite TV, broadband internet connectivity (on request), hair dryer, tea/coffee making facility & attached balcony/terrace. All have clean private bathroom with wall mounted/hand shower, hot water geyser, modern toilet with western seat & bidet. All rooms come with fresh bed linen, fresh bath towels, quilts/blankets, toilet paper roll, bathing bar, shampoo, liquid hand soap. Meals are available on advance notice of atleast 6 hours. Distance from our homestay: Mall Road - 10 Km, Shimla Railway station & bus stand- 12 Km. Taxi charges Rs.400-600 For one side trip. Bus charges Rs.10-15 Per person for one way transfer. Shared taxi costs Rs.20 For one side trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aapo Aap Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aapo Aap Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.