We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parasol Camp - A heaven amidst high Himalayan wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parasol Camps and Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parasol Camps and Retreat
Save
You added Parasol Camps and Retreat to your Saves list
V.P.O Raakcham | U.P.O Raakcham, Shimla 172107, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Rishikesh, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Parasol Camp - A heaven amidst high Himalayan wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A camp amidst arguably the best location in the Greater Himalayas. Chandratal is a gem of a high altitude glacial lake located a 8 hour drive from the town of Manali or a 5 hour drive from the town of Kaza located int he Spiti valley. Though there are a couple of other camps pitched in the vicinity of the mind bogglingly beautiful emerald lake of Chandratal, the best located camp and easily the most hospitable one is the Parasol Camp, located 2.5 kms before the lake.

First of all - The location.
The lake itself is a no camping and a no vehicle zone (thankfully!). Though the road has managed to reach a km before the lake (which is truly a shame, it should have remained at its original end-point of 2.5 kms before the lake) Parasol epitomises the respect for mother nature and her raw and fragile beauty by staying away from the lake. To add, the location of the camp is easily the most beautiful and spectacular camping location in the vicinity of the lake. There is a beautiful trail the leads from the campsite to the lake, well removed from the regular route and one of the best walks in the area. Ask for direction and walk this trail, you will remember the vistas for a lifetime.

Second - The hospitality.
Keeping in mind that the camp is located at more than 4000 metres (13,800 feet) and situated in the midst of the awe-inspiring though harsh climes of the Greater Himalayas, the hospitality here is nothing less than superlative! We were one of the first guests in the camp this year, and it had barely half-opened. The road to the camp (last 9 kms from the main road head at Batal) was still closed and everything had to be carried to the camp on mule-back or more commonly on human-back! The owner of the camp, Mr. Bishan Thakur, personally escorted us all the way to the camp, including lugging a 30 kg back pack with provisions only for us the entire 9 kms to the camp, including a chair and table just so that we could dine in comfort! This gesture of his will remain with us for a long time. Apart from the personalised care he takes, he is the first chap to have ever camped at Chandratal 5 years back, and knows the place like the back of his hand. To boot, he is a fantastic chef and he continued to cook personally for us through our stay. My wife and I have worked for 5 star luxury hotels almost all out lives, and we have never tasted yummier food! Bishan's tales of the mountains and his adventures kept us enthralled in their cozy dining tent, along with the never ending cups of coffee, tea, soups and simple but nutritious and tasty food.

Some more pluses that were totally unexpected - Parasol is the only camp that offers a western flush toilet in their toilet tent. The other two camps provide a dry pit (I inspected them to find that out).

To summarise, if there is a heaven in the Greater Himalayas, it is Chandratal. If there is a home that you can temporarily call your own amidst the sheer magic and beauty of this location, it is the Parasol Camp.

Room Tip: They have two kinds of tents, larger ones with twin cots and smaller alpine tents with comfortable m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were total 8 students who went for this camps. Best place to relax and also for adventure. It has got really good site seeing points and hiking places. Within 2Km radius there are snow points. There is Baspa river flowing next to the camps. They have 24/7 electricity with bulbs in the tents and various plug points. They provide with very good food with a homely touch. Visit parasol camps and go home with best memories.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A hotel in Kaza with Cozy rooms and even better view of gigantic snow clad mountains from its balcony. The hotel provides the majestic panaromic view of the mountains. The entrepreneur of the Hotel, Mr Bhishan welcomed us enthusiastically with a delicious Veg and garlic soup to help cope with the extreme cold weather and altitude sickness. Since we were the first customers of the season, earlier than tourist start visiting, the hotel staff was still on their winter holidays despite which Bhishanji provided us service that was impeccable and beyond. He is also an excellent cook who single handedly prepared all the meals which were delicious.

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in this hotel, on occasion of which he prepared his signature Chocolate cake and we had a small gala of our own by cutting the cake, being presented with personalized gifts by them, singing and dancing in the lobby of the hotel till late night (unbelievable, isn’t it). If you visit Kaza, stay in this place is a must as the owner shows a genuine desire to please you and make your experience as pleasant as possible.

My heartiest thanks to Mr Bhishanji for such an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Request mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Me and my wife visited this place in Sep., 2012. It was on recommendation of my Sister and sure it was worth visiting. Campsite at village Raakcham is near adjacent to Baspa River. It is surrounded by beautiful meadows, shallow streams and high mountains.

The Camp itself is very wide and open. It has about 12-14 tents. Each tent has an attached washroom. We were served well by the attendant there who would prepare very homely meals for us. Overall it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is definitely a beautiful place to stay if you love hiking in the mountains. The staff is great, the food they prepare for you is delicious and when you get out of your tent in the morning when it's still fresh but the sun comes up behind the mountains it feels like you can handle the whole world. The road towards Parasol Camps is not very comfortable, especially during the night. I highly reccommand not to arrive there during night time....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parasol Camps and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Camps and Retreat

Address: V.P.O Raakcham | U.P.O Raakcham, Shimla 172107, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parasol Camps and Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.