We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally at Peace!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shimla British Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Shimla British Resort to your Saves list
Shimla British Resort
Near Vidihan Sabha | Annadale Road, Shimla 171004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Finally at Peace!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It's not only a beautiful heritage property, but the scenic beauty of the surroundings add to the charm. If you are working in a chaotic world like Delhi's, landing up in a resort like this would definitely give you the much required relaxation possible. Another add on is that it's like 10 minutes walk away from the Mall,,,(while most resorts around Shimla are more than 7-10 kms away).

I really liked the fantastic exclusive library in their Scottish resort cottage. Also, the pull-down stairs to the wooden attic might be a real fascination for the kids. A real peaceful and pleasant stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from " Shimla British Resort!!!!"

Thank you for your heartfelt review. I am deeply humbled by your gracious comments. Team British Resort is very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we could add warmth to your beautiful memories.

Team British Resort is delighted with your praise and recognition of the location and the British Architecture and thanking you for your gracious comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Once again thank you for being such a wonderful guest and it was a delight to be your hosts.

Stay Blessed and Warm regards,
Shimla British Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We didn't get past the booking stage....
Guess what, the management asked me to have a look at their website for details last night. I did and sent them a reservation request. They did not respond, when I telephoned them today they said that their internet was "slow" and they had not been able to look at my reservation request. I sent them a long SMS with all the details based on packages published on their site, they called me back saying that the website tariffs are not updated and asked me to pay 50% more by way of tariff revision! I obviously declined.
Watchout these folks are low on transparency, and economical with the truth!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from "Shimla British Resort!!!!"

Thank you for the time removed from your busy schedule and posting up a review for us. We appreciate it.

I am really disappointed to read that your query regarding the bookings was not looked after carefully. We are really sorry on our part for the inconvenience caused to because of our technical issues.

However, after reading your review,I did make the effort to rectify the package details and make it more transparent and updated on our website.Nevertheless, we will surely look into the pointed out areas and work towards it.

Since we didn't get a chance to serve you even for a day, we would appreciate if next time we get an opportunity to serve you and give you a taste of true British era.

Thanks and regards,
Shimla British Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel is very well situated surrounded by nature at the same time not very far from the Mall road (1.5 km) - the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are clean, spacious & tastefully decorated. The staff is very courteous - Perfect retreat for the nature lovers

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from "Shimla British Resort"!!!

Thank you very much for taking out time to post a review. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would like to share their experience with others.

I am glad that you appreciated the services and amenities extended to you during your stay with us.Thank you for recommending Shimla British Resort to the fellow travelers.

We hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Shimla British Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed in the hotel with my family loved the British style architecture ;experience good food and really courteous staff.

British Resort is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest!!!

Greetings from "Shimla British Resort"!!!

We are overwhelmed and delighted with your praise and recognition of Shimla British Resort.Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It encourages us and means a lot . Thank You. I am glad that you appreciated the services and amenities extended to you during your stay with us.Thank you for recommending Shimla British Resort to the fellow travelers.


We look forward to welcoming your friends too at Shimla British Resort in the near future.

Warm regards,
Shimla British Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for three days but when we reached there the ovrall view was so dangerous.the slope towards the entry was so narrow that two cars can't pass by.Rooms were horrible and looked haunted.
There was no hotel policy for booking and giving advance but still we have given the advance which was not reverted.
The hotel staff and management was so poor..
I strongly say not to visit this pathetic resort as this is horrifying and worthless.
Don't visit this as wat they say they will not fulfill it.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adityagoel162, General Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Respected guest,
We are slightly surprised by your response. You did cancel your bookings exactly at the last minute, but the very next day you called back for more bookings at our resort.
Shimla being a hill station has its own share of slopes. Our property is heritage with colonial interiors but we are sorry could not meet your taste. As for the refund Mam, we suffered a loss of more than Rs.50000 and your advance of Rs.4000 has been kept in lieu of the cancellation policy of the hotel. Since we didn't get a chance to serve you for one day, we would appreciate if next time we get an opportunity to serve you and give you a taste of true British era.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Went to the hotel with my friends loved the british style architecture
a very different experience good food and really courteous staff .
The manager Vinod was very helpful
I would definitely love to go again.

Room Tip: The British Cottage and Danish Imperial rooms are the best we were 9 friends Really Enoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from "Shimla British Resort"!!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would like to share their experience with others.

We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and we pay great attention to our guest’s special requests and strive to accommodate them wherever possible.

We hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Shimla British Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

i am visiting shimla for last 11 years. I have stay in all the beat hotels in shimla. Shimla British Resort is the beast optiol n with ur family to stay in shimla. Hotei environment is homely,food is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adityagoel162, Manager at Shimla British Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from "Shimla British Resort!!!!"

Thank you for taking the time to review Shimla British Resort, following your stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the food here.

We look forward to welcoming your friends too at Shimla British Resort in the near future.Thank you once again for being such a wonderful guest and it was indeed a pleasure to be your hosts.


Kind Regards,
Shimla British Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shimla British Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shimla British Resort

Address: Near Vidihan Sabha | Annadale Road, Shimla 171004, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the residence of a British Architect, is situated at an impressive 7250 feet above sea-level. The resort is surrounded by 2000 acres of magnificent cedar and pine forests and enjoys breathtaking views of the Greater Himalayas. All guest rooms and public areas overlook dense cedar forests. Shimla British Resort provides an opportunity to get close to nature and experience the mystery, romance and adventure of the Himalayas while enjoying the comfort and luxury in a setting which dates back to 1893. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shimla British Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shimla British Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.