We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with average food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Landmark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Landmark to your Saves list
Hotel Landmark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Gorton Castle Square, AG Office, The Mall, Shimla 171001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A good hotel with average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went for family outing and stayed in family suite. Following aspects:

1. The staff is helpful and well mannered.
2. Their own packages for travelling are quite convenient.
3. They have their cab facility for pick n drop.
4. Room provided was good, well maintained and not cramped.
5. Near to mall road and railway station.
5. Food is not of good quality. We preferred eating out.

So, overall stay was comfortable.

Room Tip: Staywise good but eat food out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you along with your family enjoyed your stay at Hotel Landmark,Shimla.

Your appreciation of our services encourages us to continue with our efforts to pursue excellence.

Your feedback about food has been forwarded to the concerned department and action will be taken positively so as to come up to your entire satisfaction.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home in Shimla soon.

Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    90
    29
    15
    7
See reviews for
85
53
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stay was ok. Rooms were good. But certain factors are beyond consideration:
1. If u r looking for good food, this is d place not even to order a coffee. Foods r overrated n r not upto d mark at all. Cdnt complete a single bowl of creamy chicken soup. It made me vomit. Indian cuisine is also bad to say d least.
2. Rs.50 per half hour of wi-fi usage. I think dat was a plan my grandfather used. I dnt know if such primitive plans r prevelant in other hotels in shimla. If it is d case, den dats pretty bad.

Other than these rooms & service factors r ok. Though attending for room cleanliness was an issue as well. I mean though this part is not very proactive bt attends after informing.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for time given to review us on tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feed back and thanks for the appreciation of our rooms.

I am continuously working with my team to ensure flawless service and great memorable experience for all our guests.Your feedback about House Keeping and F & B has been forwarded to concerned authorities and action will be taken positively.

We do have other Wi-Fi Plans as well i was wandering why they were not used.


It will be great help if you could elaborate clearly the deficiencies found to landmark.sml@gmail.com

We will try our level best to improve and come up to your entire satisfaction next time you visit us.


Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location of Hotel is very Good. The Bathrooms had lot of bad smell. Later the hotel staff used perfume to remove it. Hotel staff was very co-operative. Morning breakfast was of average quality.
Room service was excellent. The quantity of food was very good.

Room Tip: For Couple Honeymoon room is best but not for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for time given to review us on tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feed back and thanks for the appreciation about our location , staff & Room Service.

Your feedback about Food and House Keeping has been forwarded to concerned authorities and action will be taken positively.


We will try our level best to improve and come up to your entire satisfaction next time you visit us.


Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Hotel Landmark is situated near to mall road with cover parking facility .Hotel is nearby railway station or bus stand , this makes landmark best place to stay.
I think location of this hotel probably best location in shimla , services in this hotel are best I ever enjoyed during my stay in May 2014.
Last but not least I would like to mention about Mr. Pawan thakur General Manager , he is a complete manager with integrity,reliability and flexibility with great interpersonal skills,his dealings with the guest is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that in your travel and stay, you have acknowledged The Hotel Landmark Shimla as The Best Hotel.

Your appreciation of our service and attention to detail, encourages us to continue with our efforts to pursue excellence.One can not get better appraisal than these inspirational words for his \ her work.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pros..
Centrally located on the mall road, a short distance from the railway station.
Overlooks the ananndale ground and offers a fabulous view of the hills from the upper level floors.
Value for money.
Centrally heated
In room wi-fi
Location of the hotel enables twin access both on ground floor as well as on 6th (top) floor (mall road access)

Cons..
Wi-fi was patchy on the upper floors but works well on the lower levels.
We found the toilet in one of our rooms blocked during a visit.. could be a one-off.
Noise may be an issue if you have a party/function going on in the premises.

Food and service varied from being great to being below average.. Need to pull up socks on this count.
All said, I have stayed here more than once and will recommend it as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors (facing the valley) offer fabulous views of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that in your travel and stays, you have acknowledged The Hotel Landmark Shimla as The Best Hotel.

Your observations of the views from room windows and terrace are really true , these views from our rooms are really exceptional.

Your appreciation of our service and attention to detail, encourages us to continue with our efforts to pursue excellence.

Your feed back about Wi-Fi, food and washroom has been forwarded to the concerned authorities and action will be taken positively.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I along with family stayed at Landmark, Shimla for 2 days. The hotel is located at a wonderful location with approach from down below as well as an additional approach from the top floor at the Mall level. It appears as an old property and probably was one of the best locations in Shimla once upon a time.
Our experience was not good. Room was not very clean. It was dusty and having a musty smell. This resulted in allergic sneeze for all of us. These were hot days of June 14. The AC was not working properly and controlling the room temperature became a problem. The bathroom also was not very clean.The window was opening towards a wall
We had a dinner and two days breakfast at the restaurent and the meals were satisfactory.
My overall experience was average

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for time given to review us on tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feed back and thanks for the appreciation about our location and food.

I am continuously working with my team to ensure flawless service and great memorable experience for all our guests.Your feedback about room temperature and room cleanliness has been forwarded to concerned authorities and action will be taken positively.

Usually when we book rooms without view we inform to guest the same, i am sorry if it was missed during your booking procedure.


It will be great help if you could elaborate clearly the deficiencies found to landmark.sml@gmail.com

We will try our level best to improve and come up to your entire satisfaction next time you visit us.


Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rishikesh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Booked the Hotel through Goibibo.com and stayed there with family for almost 5 days. Great location of the hotel. Probably the best in Shimla. At quite a peaceful location at Mall Road. Everything of the hotel is just perfect. Be it its location, food, staff, services ---everything. Hotel staff is courteous and always helpful. Especially Mr. Devender Singh at the restaurant. He is very courteous, always smiling and ready to serve u better and better. Room service, laundary service, housekeeping services are also very good. A must stay at the hotel whenever u visit shimla. When ever u visit shimla, shop at SHANU's GIFT EMPORIUM, Lakkar Bazar, Ridge Road. Gentelman there is very courteous and the rates are very reasonable. Good stuff to buy as a souvenir from Shimla.

Room Tip: Always go for a valley facing room on 5th floor. Easy access to Mall Road through the Hotel's Li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThakurPawan, General Manager at Hotel Landmark, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time for such a heartfelt review.

Your patronage is of immense importance to us.

Your kind words will be shared with the Mr. Devender & team and they will be more than happy to receive such appraisal .

Looking forward to welcome you again to your home in Shimla.

Thanks and Regards
Pawan Thakur
General Manager
Hotel Landmark,Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landmark

Address: Near Gorton Castle Square, AG Office, The Mall, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Landmark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Landmark is situated at the famous Mall Road.Hotel has some exceptional feauters i.e.! Connectivity from circular road to Mall Road! Exceptional valley view from rooms! Covered car parking! Two dedicated elevators inside Hotel! Toal 65 rooms categorized in Six categories to accomodate every segment of society as per their taste and requirement! 24 hour hot & cold water! Wooden flooring in all rooms! Centrally heated in winters! Assistance for secretarial services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Landmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.