We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oakwood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oakwood Hamlet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oakwood Hamlet to your Saves list
Hotel Oakwood Hamlet
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Kaithlighat, Shimla 173219, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Shimla
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oakwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A very good place, 8 biga private property.. 18 KM before Shimla.. Nice and clean. Good staff and nice food.. Very econolical as well.. Off road around 3 KM makes it even more better. They even have a swimming pool.... Room service is good except staff do not wake up before 7 AM and they switch off intercomm till 8 AM :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was the first time we ignored the reviews at Trip Advisor and we regret it big time. Ours was a group trip planned with close friends where we had booked the entire resort. Assuming that with a packed house its not easy and keeping our expectations further low since at such places generally the staff isn't fully equipped, we were in for huge disappointment. In the name of resort it just have the cottages built in a serene environment, other then this everything was missing. There was no staff to run the place but few untrained villagers taking care of around 60 of us. The resort doesn't have a manager or even a receptionist. Worse was yet to come, the toilets didnt have enough toiletries, whatever available appeared to be used. The linen was dirty and food was only for the sake of it. There was no drinkable water available at resort and to our shock the one provided was charged at the time of check out. There were no facilities provided which were included in our package. The swimming pool was more like a mud pond and no one seem to care a bit about that. To say the least its a lost opportunity by the owner who has kept such a beautifully located property in shambles. His main interest was to just bill of for every little thing and not provide for even basics. If not for the company we had, we would have been splitting our hair. The lack of interest and facilities provided by the owners were only adding to our miseries.

Room Tip: Avoid this place, the owner Mr. Vineet is highly unorganized and unprofessional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Been to many places but this resort was wonderfully located in the serenity of environment and you will find peace and chirping of birds. The food was excellent though they can improve on the variety.
We were three familiy and out stay was excellent. this is must for people who wants to be away from the madenning crowd and away from hustling bustling of cities. early morning and late evening is beautifull especially the sunset.

Must for people who wants to avoid the crowd at shimla this is the place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nice place to spend sometime if you want to have a cut-off from the world. Cut-off from mobile networks as well (at many places inside the resort). Totally at Peace, the better word is 'Sukoon' (in hindi). Staff was very curteous. Anil Thakur (Server) was the one who took care of us right from the breakfast till late evening dinner. Office staff had two Bhupenders', yound boys & honest about making our stay a pleasant one. They had an experienced trekking & mountaineering guy called DigVijay who made us do basic activities like flying fox, burma bridge, basic hill trekking. Next time whenever we visit, it would be longer treks of upto 4-5 hours. We would definitely be going again, not only because of the location but because of the service given by these guys.

Met Vineet ( I hope I have spelled the owner's name right) the owner - he has big plans for the property; and we wish him the very best..

Couple of points for Vineet -
1. Open a basic Spa service.
2. Do not entertain any movie production guys when guests are staying..in our case - it was some advertising firm creating new Surf Excel advertisement and they were a big nuisance. First they wanted our neighbor's cottage and then they wanted the lawn in which our kids were playing and on top of it they spoiled the swimming pool too.

Vineet - Whom do you prefer for longer run - Repeat customers like us OR advertising company like them who would come for one day in the entire life.

Apart from this nuisance advertising company; everything was perfect and we would definitely visit them again soon.

Room Tip: Mud houses closer to swimming pool & lawn are good for families with kids. For couple who want c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

A great getaway...Small but very well kept resort. We were in the mud cottage which was spacious enough for our family of 3 and a dog :) . The room overlooked the hills and a small village. Fresh air, open spaces, good food and a nice view is all you need for a break away from the city life. Staff was extremely curtious and served well.
We went for treks and other activities which kept the kids and us busy.
Overall an amazing holiday...much recommended and even more if in a group.

Room Tip: The better ones are the cottages. Try to avoid the bamboo huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were there for 3 nigths the palce is very scenic but the resorts needs lot to be done. The staff is very courtious but not so professional . The worst experence was that the resort had a shooting of surf excel on which was a party stopper for everyone the vacation just went for a toss. The rooms certainly need a lot more to be done. Food is good .

The manager Bhupender is not very professional but does a good job. THE STAFF NEED TO CHANGE THEIR UNIFORMS EVERYDAY INCLUDING THE MANAGER ........ Towels very bad

Room Tip: Be prepared for bumpy ride for 4Kms kutacha road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

just returned from oakwood resort, beautiful location shocking service , flies everywhere no one takes responsibility they actually just ignore you.Tv and phone in bedroom didn't work .dirty plates cutlery and glasses unhygienic food,rooms never serviced. Pls don't even try to visit this pathetic place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oakwood Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oakwood Hamlet

Address: Kaithlighat, Shimla 173219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oakwood Hamlet 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Oakwood Hamlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oakwood Hamlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.