We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gulmarg Regency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gulmarg Regency to your Saves list
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near The Mall, Shimla 171003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was a good hotel. We got our room on the 2nd floor or so - if not the rooms might have been darker. The rooms have dull lighting - don't know why. Though the rooms were clean, it could have been much cleaner. Specifically the towels. Since we carried our own we didn't bother too much.

Room Tip: Carry your towels :) and rooms on the lower floors are darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    52
    48
    27
    34
See reviews for
90
63
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nahan, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in june 2012 with my family and guests. i booked through cleartip...two corner deluxe rooms. hotel is five story building.the reception is on fifth floor which is actually at ground level.all other floors are below ground level. our rooms were on first floor(four floor below ground level).rooms had no natural ventilation and no natural light.To overcome darkness,they have fitted lots of mirrors in the room for reflection..and many lights.there were no windows or view.this hotel has 130 rooms..for all kind of visitors.In the next room to us,there stayed a group of people who so loudly talked the whole night and disturbed our sleep.they probably used toxicants and loaded cigrettes because there was such a smell in the corridor which is very uncommon..thank god they stayed for one night only...hotel is basically not very conducive for families.. though there were few other families staying..the hotel also has travel desk .we booked a tour and they provided very old and clumsy vehicle for us in the morning,the driver was even worse..i had booked this hotel only because of its location which is not very far from the mall.just walking distance.actually your mood is naturally cheerful in the shimla..therefore we enjoyed in shimla instead of the quality of stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

this is the worst hotel i have ever visited, rooms are dark with no ventilation with dirty smell, there is no cleanness, only thing was food was ok.I will never recommend this hotel,
There was dirty smell, they dont clean the towells and blankets it has bad smell.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel, lot of bad smell, they dont change towells and blankets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Nice and Clean Hotel. Room was spacious. and We have taken Honeymoon Deluxe roomand the view was awesome. One of the best View i got from this room. Room service was good and timely. Hot water was available in bathroom geyser all the time. No hassles faced. 5 Mins walk to Mall road.. Highly secured area since army quatres is nearby.. Food was lil bit costly..Overall a gr8 experience in Gulmarg Shimla.

Room Tip: Deluxe Honeymoon room has good view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have visited shimla during 2nd week of June'12 and had booked an apartment suite at Gulmarg Regency. The only advantage of this hotel is that it is walking distance to mall road, otherwise the rooms are like prison cells, really small without any proper ventilation or valley view. The approach road is very narrow and congested and mosly cars are stuck on this road. The food is strictly average but room service is prompt. I would rate it as follows
Location: 4/5
Rooms:2/5
Service:4/5

Will recommend it only if you are on tight budget or need a room for wash and change purpose. Strictly not remommended for someone who wants to enjoy his stay or wants a hill view from room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had written one review about this hotel earlier. This was my third visit to hotel. First visit was awesome, second was good but this was it was very bad. When i reached shimla it was raining outside and these guys were taking full advantage of that. I was with my famiily and booked three rooms there. It was already dark when we checked in the rooms. Badsheets and pillows in the room were dirty and there was chaos situation in full hotel. It was looking like we are staying in the free government camp on border. Bathroom was smelly and you could not put your bare foot at the floor.Food was very bad. We spend horrible night in the hotel. Early morning we checked out from the hotel and shifted to Hotel BrightLand.

Room Tip: Try to stay in this hotel only in off season. Hotel has very poor vantilation so choose room which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Last week I had visited Shimla with my friends and stayed in this Hotel , we had booked this hotel as I myself Inbound Travel Executive , we had reached early morning and early check in is not possible , as we all are from travel backgrounds ,,, so we were knowing this but hotel had arranged Room for us for Wash and Change .The hotel is very helpful but this hotel is only for domestic budget clients and best Room in the hotel is Suite , Rooms are clean and food is very hygiene and Good .....

Room Tip: Prefer only Suite Rooms...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gulmarg Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulmarg Regency

Address: Near The Mall, Shimla 171003, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gulmarg Regency 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gulmarg Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gulmarg Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.