We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Two night stay with family” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Woodrina

Woodrina
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodrina
Save
You added Woodrina to your Saves list
Shimla-Kufri Road, Dhalli | Dhalli, Shimla 171012, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Two night stay with family”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Hotel is at such a height that you cannot drive after 5pm until its morning. You can book the Hotel if you wanna enjoy just the Nature walk and view from hotel window. If you want to roam around shimla , mall road and etc go for some other hotel. you cannot go back to hotel if its dark. Rooms are too tight to Adjust its just 9x9 rooms. just 2 fee space after double-bed ends. Egg Curry with just 2 eggs 100rs lol . So thing and check before you book. For me its was horrible as I had to drive my own car at Such edges to reach hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are almost same here 9x9 not much choice left
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and in-laws on a family trip to Shimla. It cannot be categorized as a great hotel, but its a good place if you're looking for peace and quiet. The rooms were nice and the hotel has a rustic feel to it.

The downside was that the service was very slow. We reached Shimla early in the morning at about 7, like other tourists would, who come by the Volvo service from Delhi. There was not a soul in sight and it took us 2 - 3 hours in the morning before we got our rooms. That apart food was just average, but we did not mind it much because it added to the simplicity of the place.

One more thing about the place is that the short 100m drive up to the cottages on a hill above the road is very steep and has a sharp bend. The road was broken when we reached there and if your vehicle is bulky then it may have a hard time getting up the hill.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

we had stayed here for 2days hotel is good having all basic amenities rooms are good and maintained properly with good decoration seeing price its a good deal to stay here staff is friendly and very co operative ya the location wise its bit far but the seenary outside is very good with good maintained lawn of their own it is recommended to stay here for just who want to have relax in room all time being lazy :) away from sound pollution

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Woodrina is a budget hotel which makes one feel as if he's at home. Very simple, basic but excellent interiors, superb views, par excellence service and more importantly, care for the visitor from the hotel incharge makes one enjoy his holiday there.

There was a restaurant under renovation when we visited, but the room service more than compensated for that. The food was piping hot (thats exactly what one needs in the cold weather) and very tasty. Splurge on the soups and the parathas while at it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Clean rooms. Courteous service, Taxi drops right below the hotel so we dont need to walk a lot for the hotel. Food was also very good. Cons But it is definitely not totally EXCELLENT! thats how i will call it. it is an lovely property

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I was @ Woodrina from 26th till 28th of December 2009. Decent and hygenic rooms. very pleasant and humble service rendered. Major disadvantage of this place is you do not have a room heater and you will suffer a lot because of that. It's a good room for young folks and definitely not the right choice for senior or old people. Also you cannot reach city so easily as this place is 10kms away from city. you have only hotel restaurant and very few options, but what ever is prepared is of good taste.

  • Liked — Sevice Rendered
  • Disliked — No Room heater
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

An excellent vacation with the family and great time for the kids at Shimla and you have to choose Hotel Woodrina. The rooms were just right and the service very sweet and personal, the other services of the hotel were just good, Go for it.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodrina

Address: Shimla-Kufri Road, Dhalli | Dhalli, Shimla 171012, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodrina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.