We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prashant Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prashant Hotel
Save
You added Prashant Hotel to your Saves list
The Mall, Shimla 171001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Advantage of hotel is the location....5 mins walk to the ridge and on mall road. Rooms in front have nice view of city. Clean rooms, small but nice balcony. Housekeeping is good. Service is moderate to slow. We had a child with us and it took them 2 hours to provide boiled drinking water for her. Food tastes okay, but overpriced and quantity is very less....but good eateries available nearby...try Jashn restaurant...its quite good....KFC, Pizza Hut is also very close....We got Dominos pizza delivered to our room!!! Management is courteous and accommodated a last minute partial cancellation from us...without charging cancellation charges....One has to climb stairs to reach rooms...may not be suitable for elderly. Room charges a tad too high for the amenities....but otherwise good.

Room Tip: Choose front facing rooms, on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Good hotel. Good rooms. Good location. Good food very helpful management. Only one problem if your parents are travelling along with you pls don't book as all rooms are on 3rd n 4th floor. Secondly its a budget hotel not any star class. Before booking pls keep this thing in mind that you are going to budget hotel. It was perfect for my stay as all hotels I was getting were out of my budget. I will recommend to my friends.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one day. We reached the hotel around 7 in the evening after a one hour wait to get into the lift. The location is the only saving grace for this hotel as it is located close to the mall road. We had booked a deluxe room and when we were showed the room it didn't even look like a standard one. We had paid 1700 (after a discount of 30% on goibibo) but the room was not worth the money. As it was a little late to go out and have dinner outside, we ordered dinner at the room which was not upto the mark. All in all not a great place to stay in a place like Shimla.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days and I must say that it is one of the very good budget hotel conveniently located on the Mall road.

Initially when we booked this hotel through MakeMyTrip, we had a horrible experience. Makymytrip called me 5 days after I did the booking to tell me that my booking was not confirmed by the hotel although I had paid the full amount at the time of booking. They were trying to offer me some cheap alternate hotels which I denied. After a struggle of 1 week with makemytrip and more than 20 phone calls, somehow they were able to confirm the booking in the same hotel. The worst thing is that they don't give the phone no of their management and every time you have to call the IVR.

Before travelling, I called up the hotel and they confirmed that my booking is confirmed and everything from there onward were very good. I reached Shimla in the evening and checkin on very smooth. We were given 2 rooms on the 2nd floor on the back side. There was no view of the city from the rooms and bathrooms were clean. Room was spacious and there was a sofa cum bed on one of the room to accommodate the kid. Linens were not very fresh but kind of okay. We took most of the breakfast and dinners at the hotel only and it was really tasty and fresh. Staff were very courteous and response was very good.

I could simply walk down to Mall Road and Ridge road almost daily in the evening because of the proximity from the hotel.

Particularly Mr. Hemant (probably hotel manager) was a very nice person and gentleman. He helped me to arrange taxi for local sightseeing and also for Chandigarh drop at a reasonable rate.

One small problem is that, they switch off intercom at 11:00PM you can't call anyone for any thing. Reception is also closed at 11:00 and the entire facility is locked.

I recommend this budget hotel for a family vacation. But make sure to set your expectations and don't expect treatment of a star hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get room on the front side. Back side rooms are big but doesn't offer any view of the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We reached Shimla at 6 in the morning from Delhi, after a sleepless overnight bus journey. Even though Prashant Hotel had the check in time as 12 noon, the manager gave us a room to freshen up and rest, since the room we had booked was not vacant till then. At exactly 12, we were moved to our allocated room. The room was a good sized one, with a balcony and view of the entire valley as well as Christ Church, on the Ridge. The location of the hotel is perfect - right on the Mall but still a small distance away from the main hustle of tourists.

Our room was clean and there was ample running hot water. The linen, quilt and towels were fresh. The service was friendly and the food was also good and reasonably priced.

The only problem was that the hotel has three floors but there is no lift service available. Elderly people may find that a problem.

We would stay there again when we visit Shimla.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the front of the hotel, facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near the mall road. Also not too far away from the municipal parking.

I had booked a super deluxe room. Although the property is quite old, the upkeep was good. The rooms were clean and the manager was soft spoken and helping.

We found it to be a very good budget hotel with a nice view of the city and the mall road.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

the location of the hotel was amazing as it was near to the mall road, felt great to stay at this hotel. the shimla town can be see from this hotel clearly. stayed there for two days, rooms are very neat and clean and the service was exellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.4 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#5 of 98 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rock Heaven Hotel
Rock Heaven Hotel
#60 of 98 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krish Rauni Resort
Krish Rauni Resort
#4 of 98 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel Hot Spring Therme & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#18 of 98 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Auckland
Hotel Auckland
#37 of 98 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prashant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prashant Hotel

Address: The Mall, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prashant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.